Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Very good.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Hotel is great, in a fantastic spot, we were half board and it was brilliant, the food is great, plenty of it and a good Menu, if you want cheap food go over the road but if you want great well served food in a nice restaurant stay in, bar good, and all the staff are great, well worth the money, see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Ideal hotel for walking in Ullswater

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Proximity to walks and Glenridding for Steamer boats across lake.
Cons: Communal lounge areas are bland and would benefit from an open fire.
Ideal location at the start of many walks round Ullswater. Breakfast buffet is hearty, dinners are reasonable (choice out of 3 starters, mains and desserts), staff are very helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good base for Lakeland walking

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Location,staff,service,food
Great location and views being at the beginning of Ullswater. Service, food, facilities all v.g providing excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Great views & staff.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Fantastic views from our room at the front of the hotel, was well worth paying more for. Food was good.
Location: Location of the hotel was excellent for walking and exploring this area of the Lake District. With it's overflow car park, it has plenty of parking. T
The genuine smiles of the friendly, professional staff made our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Friendly staff,good location for northern lakes

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff ,great service and reasonable price in a scenic location
Cons: Beds,small TV in bedroom
Location: Scenic location great walking from the hotel door and within walking distance of Glenridding,great access to Ullswater lake and the steamer service.
Great location in Patterdale easy walk to Glenridding and boat service around the lake to access other walks without having to use a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place in the Lakes

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Location. Relaxed atmosphere. Nice staff.
Location: Right at the end of Ullswater. Lots of things to do - kayaking, walking, boat trips, picnicking etc.
Lovely location. Efficient and friendly staff. Good real ales in bar. Comfortable room. Amazingly good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

firm favourite

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The whole place has a warm feel about it, and they really do try hard to look after their guests.
Location: Location is rather remote midst beautiful mountain scenery, but the bar area in the hotel is very good and evening entertainment is provided.
Lovely hotel, nice staff there is always a warm welcome at the Patterdale hotel, the food is excellent and the rooms are warm and comfortable. I have been many times and hope to return again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Overnight stay clean and pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pleasant nights stay lovely breakfast and clean rooms with all facilities well maintained. Lovely hot shower and a view of the hills I would recomend this hotel and I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE

Great Location

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: We like the BB and evening meal concept.
Cons: Conscious that people using the garden could see into the front bedrooms. Lounge/reception areas could be updated
Location: Prominent location with many good walks on the doorstep
Many great walks from the doorstep. Room very clean and comfortable. Staff very accommodating and professional. Great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from york

Excellent position for walkers close to ullswater.

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: The food the staff the location the cleanliness
Cons: The price of drinks
Location: Right in the heart of the lake district ullswater on the doorstep you can catch the steamer and get off at various points or walk all round the lake.
We stayed two nights in April at this hotel and were delighted with the welcome we received on arrival the bedroom and bathroom was comfortable and had everything we needed the breakfasts where really tasty just right to set you up for a good walk the evening meals are large and tasty.with a good choice of courses.the staff where all excellent always smiling and nothing was to much trouble.this was was our first visit here it will not be our last.