Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JT

Next stay with Pine Lake is all booked

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Our view from our aparthotel is superb. Very comfortable stay. We love all amenities. And we're going back there next month !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle

Lovely night away

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Nice room, very clean, nice surroundings, didn't get chance to try facilities but would recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind comments from your recent stay. We hope that you consider visiting us again and hopefully make use of our onsite facilities. Ian Harrington Resort Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Was expecting a 4 star resort

Posted Jan 8, 2017
We had a 2 bed apartment on the lake side. However the apartment was very dated and smelled awfull particularly the bathroom. The reception staff were lovely and moved us to another apartment which was much nicer but was extremely cold. We sat in the room with a duvet on top of fleece and socks. Reception staff promptly arrived with heaters which didnt really help and only stayed one night instead of the two orignally booked. Very dissappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay. We are sorry to learn you were left disappointed with the accommodation - we can assure you that all accommodation is due to undergo refurbishment which we hope you can appreciate takes time to complete. Despite this, all accommodation whether recently refurbished or not should still be serviced to good standard. We are sorry if this experience would deter you from staying with us again.We wish you all the best on your future travels. Ian Harrington Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic place.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Clean, spacious, well maintained and on the lake. Close to Cumbrian lakes
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Had no hot water after driving for hours only stopped off for a bath/shower and some sleep before having to rush off again in the morning for work and wasn't able to even shower had to drive 20 Miles to a services. Rang and complained on the night and there was nothing they could do then when spoke to somebody the next day they couldn't help as the manager was busy. After work that day I contacted the customer services and was accused of lying
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments - we do hope that a resolution was met however if not, we advise to contact our customer service team again on 0345 359 0010. Ian Harrington Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lake Side hotel - large and comfortable

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Cabin type experience. You can park your car right up to the cabin door. Large space for the kids to run around. cabin is large and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Beautiful Lake Front hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2016
This hotel is absolutely amazing. We had a great stay. The staff are wonderful and the rooms are amazing. My only issue is the extra charge for wifi and use of the pool. Transport there is also awful unless you have a car. The taxis are never available so always plan your journey aroubd the bus times there which is once every hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Lovely

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Booked last minute break with my husband and 21 month old. Amazed by the gorgeous views from our cabin right next to the lake. We had a great time and would love to go back. Toddler had the time of his life feeding the ducks and wildlife and had a great soft play area. Lovely for a family break
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Diamond , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you were left impressed with the accommodation and views. We hope you get chance to visit us again soon, we would love to welcome you back as guests. Ian Harrington Resort Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland Australia

Never Stay here

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: It is advertised as being in the Lakes district, and it is a 45 minute drive away. Not close to any other restaurant or shops.
Bed sheets stained with black marks, washing machine did not work. Staff very short in supply and not helpful. We have been traveling for 3 weeks and this was the worst accommodation in the whole trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Diamond , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were left disappointed and we do appreciate your feedback. We do display our address and location on the website when booking so we are sorry that you were under the impression we were closer to the lake district, it does depend where in the Lake District you are visiting as some areas are closer than 45 minutes. We also have an on-site restaurant and shop however we do have other local restaurants within a short drive. We wish you all the best on your future travels. Ian Harrington Resort Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Found various easy to see problems with the room

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Location is great and the things to do good.It has loads of potential but the room and staff can make or break a good business.
The room needs attention in living room area and the kitchen and the bathroom needs attention too.And some staff are pleasant and some where showing signs of i dont want to be at work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased you found we offered a good location and enjoyed some aspects of your stay. We are concerned to learn that you found the accommodation was in need of renovation, our accommodation whether recently refurbished or not still should be serviced to a good standard so we apologise for the oversight on this occasion. We will ensure this feedback is passed over to the Maintenance team and the issues mentioned will be addressed in due course. We do hope that you would consider staying with us again as we would love to welcome you back to our resort again soon. Ian Harrington Resort Manager