Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Posted Dec 11, 2016
the hotel was situated in a central location .the reception was excellent and very helpful and provided all the information required. The room was very good with good view onto the river. Had a meal in the hotel again was very good could not fault anything. Enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Close to Kendal town centre, view of the river

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Short walk into Kendal town centre to explore the shops and walk by the river. Nice buffet style breakfast. Nice bar area with comfy chairs to relax. Enjoyed using the spa area. Would recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Clean hotel with good gym and pool

Posted Oct 31, 2016
My family enjoyed a long weekend here. It was close to the shops in Kendal which was handy for snacks and meals out. The hotel overlooked the river and was close to some lovely walks. Breakfasts were enjoyable with enough to choose from. The bar provided some good food at good prices. We would visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kilmarnock

Excellent location

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Stayed here a couple of nights while touring lake district. Good welcome at front desk but not as great at day 1 breakfast. Big rooms and excellent amenities but couple of cobwebs and decor needed refreshing. Have to say I've had better breakfasts but on the whole I would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Food ,the room ,tea making facilities
Cons: Perhaps the window double glazing needs looking at
Location: well all the lakes were near bye and within easy driving distance
We had a very pleasant stay at the Riverside hotel , the choice of food at breakfasts were plentiful and varied to suit any taste,the room was super overlooking the river,good car parking under cover,everything OK, Thank you very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kamloops. BC. Canada

Great location.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The location in Kendal
Cons: Bedroom too warm
Location: This is the English Lake District!
Excellent breakfast, good service. Great fitness facility, including saunas and pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor wifi

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Everything was fine except poor wifi and no sky channels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice refurbished hotel, very convenient for Kendal

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Bar lounge needs improvement
Location: See above
Good place to stay,easy parking, and very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good stop off

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Great price for a nice one night stay in Kendal. Friendly staff, helpful. Rooms were nice. Hotel is situated on the River, very nice setting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not suitable for Blue Badge holders!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Foods and drinks are excellent and breakfast too.
Cons: - Provides car spaces for disabled person etc, it would be very helpful.
Location: Excellent steam trains/boat rides from Haverthwaite to Lakeside (by train) then lake cruises to Ambleside. Very enjoyable day out.
- Riverside Hotel don't have any marked disabled space in their car park and asked/made me to park the car street parking which is not safe!. - Room safe box wasn't working for few days where I need it. Reported to staff and took 2 days to fix the problems. - Dangerous chemicals were found in bar gents toilets where its should locked away! - Sauna (in the health spa) wasn't working after suffered a flooded in December 2015, nothing on their website to warn us.