Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location great to both Ambleside and lake

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: location and breakfast
Cons: room cleanliness and house keeping.
Location: shopping at ambleside and lake and ferry is only 10 mins walk away. cycling in this area is wonderful, the hard knott pass is only a few miles away.
location was great to both Ambleside and lake Windermere hotel main building is clean impressive and has lots of character, our only issue was the room (Loughrigg) it wasnt cleaned prior to us staying, the bed linen was left from the previous stay. Very disappointing but once hotel were told about this they did remedy it quickly. Breakfast was of the highest class highly recommended. we would go and stay here again as the location is great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Relaxing and welcoming

Posted May 22, 2016
Very comfortable hotel with lovely toiletries and linens. ... And dinner was wonderful ( great chef!).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2016
Very enjoyable experience immaculate room high standard of cleanliness through entire hotel. Staff gave high attention to detail. Unexpected but greatly appreciated.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Salford

Relaxing

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
Would recommend to anyone
5 out of 5
by Wui Chiang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Total comfort in a large, warm, room

Posted Nov 8, 2015
I had just driven for 3 hrs with my Dad, and needed a break - the staff were so welcoming and accommodating, asking if there was anything else I would like. The room was huge, nice view, and felt like a place I could cuddle up in and unwind - loads of cushions and big pillows on the bed, two armchairs; tea coffee, hot chocolate, a bottle of water and good biscuits all ready to enjoy - and at the end of my short corridor was a small lounge with all the latest magazines to borrow. So, rested and hungry after an autumnal short walk into Ambleside, it was time to eat! You'll not be disappointed ! The meal was well presented well cooked, interesting and delicious -lived up to the Rothay Manors enviable reputation. Gorgeous! I was quite happy to leave my 92yr old Dad there, on a painting holiday, knowing he would be well looked after - and he was!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Tucked away in attractive garden surroundings close to the center of Ambleside, Rothay Manor offers very comfortable and well equipped rooms with fine restaurant and good food. Excellent for quiet pampered stay in the Lake District.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient for walking into Ambleside

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Nice shower
Cons: bed
Location: close to all shops and restaurants in ambleside
Not quite as nice as I had hoped for the price, most of the staff where very nice and helpful. bed was soft with a hollow so couldn't get comfortable and couldn't sleep due to back ache
4 out of 5
by lisa from newcastle

Excellent family stay

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent, lovely central hotel. Very quiet and the 3 course meal was outstanding. breakfast also met with approval.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

It's dated and old fashioned....

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Staff are fantastic, very friendly welcome and free car parking. Set in really attractive grounds and just a short walk to town centre. Breakfast was generous and service excellent. The room felt damp and was dated. But it was clean and a good size. Beds comfortable, good TV channels and excellent wifi. Cost, we stayed bank holiday week and with limited availability we had very little options - if you attribute the nightly cost to the experience then it's way way over priced. Out of season it's probably good value. Overall - for a last minute getaway we overpaid, but it's adequate for a night or 2.