Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel will be going again

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
our two night stay with our dog was perfect. warm comfy rooms lovely food friendly helpful staff . annex for dog owners the same excellent standard as main hotel and dogs allowed in set rooms in hotel all clean and of the same standard. The staff will bring you food from the main resturant so you keep your pet with you at all times.people who complain must not check on line information correctly as hotel gives every thing advertised.It is surrounded by woodlands is peaceful and quiet so if this is not what you are looking for then don,t book it and complain later.Will
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor

Perfect quiet break

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The hotel was lovely and all the staff were so helpful throughout. Off the beaten track, we had a couple of lovely peaceful nights here, but with great access to the Lakes also pleasant days out. Breakfast was very nice and we had a couple of bar meals which were pretty good value.
Cons: Can't really think of negatives. May be slightly more remote than we expected, but not really a problem.
Location: We went to Penrith and spent the day walking round Ullswater. We even managed to get a morning in Windermere so hotel perfect location for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was clean and comfortable but is remote

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed one night for business. Hotel is remote, only accessible by car. Clean and tidy, breakfast was good. Reasonable value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dogs accepted but not dog friendly

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
I was disappointed in the condition of our room, which didn't appear to have been cleaned. There were clean towels, but the bedding showed signs of previous occupancy, dog hairs and spots of blood on the sheets. I didn't show my wife this as she would have immediately asked to leave and go elsewhere, an option that wasn't practical at 10pm on a Saturday. On a positive note, we had a lovely breakfast before we left. A good range of cereals, including porridge and a hot breakfast buffet. There are also lovely walks in the grounds and just outside the hotel, ideal for exercising our dog who accompanied us. I felt the cost of the night's stay was about £20 too much. We've stayed in other hotels which are cleaner, have cost less and more dog friendly (treats supplied). These are usually smaller family-run establishments. Would we stay again? Not sure. The hotel is a convenient half way overnight stop for our Scotland to London trip, located just off the M6. We would probably look for something more dog friendly next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel full of character in a lovely location

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed with our dog and this was one of the few hotels where we were able to take him into the lounge where we could order food. The hotel was set within lovel countryside and was a lovely building where the staff were welcoming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit in the middle of nowhere!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We booked this hotel as we were at a wedding 7 miles away. We were quite surprised that the room was not as bad as we had anticipated and had all the facilities needed for a 1 night stay. Glad we drove to the hotel in the daylight as we would never have believed we were going the correct way in the dark. Hotel is at the bottom of a very thin track littered with sheep that would not move out of the way (something which you would expect being In the countryside). More signposting/lighting on the track maybe needed in order to reassure you that you are going the correct way.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a room with a bef

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
I thought the room was in the small side and I couldn't get the free wi-fi in mr room also I didn't think the service at breakfast was very good nobody can and asked about tea... We got up to get iur breakfast and when we came back someone else was in our seat !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel poorly managed

Posted Aug 27, 2016
The restaurant was poorly managed there was a coach party in and the waiters 2 and 1 girl were running about like headless chickens .This could have been avoided if they had been allocated a section each.. Also we were not informed that you would not be in the main hotel if you had your dog with you and it was pouring with rain. A good hotel wasted.