Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place, lovely

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Had a really excellent time, staff friendly and attentive. Loved the whole experience as it was my husband's 65th birthday. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Heaven is a place on Earth

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The place, the team, the food, the atmosphere and the views - all amazing!
Cons: Nothing. The whole experience was exceptional. From the way we were greeted to checking out the whole experience was personal and warm whilst professional.
Location: Ullswater is breathtaking and the views from the hotel are brilliant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views, food, accommodation and staff.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
All staff, from grounds, cleanliness of room, reception and dining staff and chefs were incredible. Absolutely perfect, views range from the fells and mountains to farm animals. Highly recommend a stay. Everything is thought of. All staff were very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Views amazing ,staff excellent, food beautiful
Location: Location perfect ,small village nearby with all amenities , people really friendly and helpful .must do boat trip on lake Ullswater
Beautiful hotel ,hotel staff were excellent the best we have encountered on our trip ,only gripe we have stayed there before because we loved it so much and was disappointed with our room I guess we were very spoit first time !! The room was nice but was a bit noisy outside with Kitchen extractor fan on .It Was also very hot inside with bathroom radiator on all the time which we were unable to turn off But having said this would still stay there again no problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from merseyside

Nice hotel close to Ullswater lake

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Warm and friendly staff food was amazing a nice peacefully stay
Cons: No would not change a thing lots to do walks on your doorstep an N
Location: A peaceful location walks on your doorstep and boat trips round lake
Exerlant hotel could not falt enyting about it Coffey beds beautifully rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Super Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Recommendation
Cons: Nothing superb
Location: Walking and sight seeing around the northern lakes
A super hotel providing the right atmosphere for relaxing and unwinding, and in an enviable location with stunning views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Beutiful views

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Quiet, lovely gardens attentive staff
Cons: Too many flies in the dining room while eating, could do with some fly killing equipment of some sort
Location: Good for walking, well away from any other hotel
Beautiful views, excellent accommodation, very clean and comfortable , 1st class breakfast, very expensive drinks and evening meal over priced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with great attention to detail.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Simply incredible food and service. A hotel aptly suited for more mature clientele, certainly. A pricier than expected one night stay but we enjoyed it all the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic views

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Lovely views and very comfortable.
Cons: House keeping not good. Bathroom products not renewed and turn down service not always done. Also seemed put out that we brought a dog.
Location: Fantastic walking
Lovely hotel but not dog friendly as claimed. Gave us a room away from hotel and imposed a hefty charge because we brought our very small dog.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A truly beautiful location; a charming hotel.

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: The calmness and wonderful views; the excellent and attentive staff.
Cons: There should be a sign for the hotel at the Penrith turn-off - we went 13 miles around the lake in the wrong direction. Wi-fi in all the rooms!
Location: The lake is key to the location.
From the moment we arrived we were made hugely welcome. The rooms are aptly named - we had Grace and Serenity with wonderful views of the lake and a sunny terrace to enjoy a glass of wine before dinner. The restaurant continues to live up to its well deserved reputation. It could, perhaps, benefit from refurbishment to some rooms as it is beginning to be a little "shabby chic".