Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely pub with great food and drink selection, room a good size though only a shower available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stopover on route to Scotland

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Old fashioned very dog friendly inn with wholesome food and exceptional cooked breakfast. Lovely village in beautiful countryside.
Cons: Old fashioned and a little tired but very clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Excellent breakfast, traditional pub with rooms.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: n/a
Location: Good for getting to Lakes attractions but far enough out to be very peaceful
Easy going nice staff in traditional pub setting. Good location for the Lakes away from the crowds. Breakfast was first rate.
4 out of 5
by Glen from MK

Good pub with great food that does rooms.

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Good pub with great food that does rooms. Nothing fancy but comfortable and friendly staff
3 out of 5
by Matthew from Little Weighton

Very friendly pub with helpful staff

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
The Boot and Shoe is a friendly pub, with very comfy beds and an incredibly clean bathroom. Not the poshest ambience, but it is a pub, not a 4* hotel. We asked for early breakfast on a Sunday and got the full cooked breakfast when we were only expecting continental. And it was very quick as well. All the things that matter were done really well, we will be happy to go back next year.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Highlands

Hidden Gem

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed one night to break up journey down to South Wales,not really knowing what to expect,but would love to think I will be returning in the near future
4 out of 5
by Peter from Hull

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent choice of real ales,great food,fantastic service and a great location. Also very good value for money
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does the job

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Had a pleasant stay in this pub and enjoyed our food. Whilst the room was functional it was not in anyway luxurious; the mattress was tired, there was a slab of ply board between the bottom of the mattress and base of the bed and there was no bedside table nor light on one side of the double bed. Having considered this (and other accommodation we have recently stayed in elsewhere) we thought that the price for the room was on the top side.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good pub in rural location

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
This was our second stay at the boot and shoe with our dog. It is a lovely pub and the food they serve is great. The first time we stayed we stayed in a lovely large room that was not directly above the pub bar. This time we stayed in another room which is smaller and above the bar. It was noiser. Also the condition of that room is not as good and on this occasion the shower holder for the shower head was broken. We did mention it on check out, and they said they knew about it and we're getting it replaced. It would have been courteous for it to be mentioned on check in though. Overall this is a pub , serves good food and great beer, the staff are friendly and the pub has lots of character. However, if you want a clinical 'every room the same' experience then this may not be the place for you. Certainly the room you stay in will influence your feedback but it is great for a weekend away with your dog.
5 out of 5
by ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels