Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel for a birthday-treat spa break

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The hotel is excellently situated a walkable distance from the lovely Lakes village of Grasmere. It is right on the lakeside with beautiful views across the lake and the valleys. The hotel itself is clean and fresh and the staff are warm and welcoming. The breakfast was fantastic. The spa faciitilies were great and can be used for free, without the treatments we enjoyed, by all hotel guests. Overall I would definitely recommend The Daffodil Hotel and Spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Fantastic location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Great location directly on the lake, unbeatable lake views, clean and comfy rooms. We had a massage in the spa - best we've had for a while, worth every penny. The restaurant is good, limited options but good quality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to being a great hotel.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, clean, spacious, well appointed room. We had one of the rooms that is next to the road and we could not hear it. Excellent spa.
Cons: Whilst the food in the restaurant is of good quality, the service does not meet these standards.
This hotel is close to being a great hotel. The rooms are excellent, comfortable and well appointed. The spa is great, particularly after a hard days walking. However there are a number of things that let it down. The staff service does not meet the standard of the rest of the hotel. Examples include housekeeping knocking before 9am to make up the room; items being charged to the room that we had already paid for and poor service in the restaurant. The service is inattentive yet feels rushed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater Manchester

Winter break

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Overall, I was impressed by our stay. The newly refurbished hotel is tastefull and is in a lovely part of the lakes. Impressed by the staff on reception and in the restaurant, who were polite, friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The end of our stay was soured by our spa visit, whilst the majority of the staff there and the facilities were great, the lady on reception (possibly management?!) was talking very loudly on the phone when we arrived, and didn't acknowledge our arrival in the slightest. I'd of been fine with this, however, we had our treatment then went to use the facilities for a couple of hours. Upon getting changed at the end of the day, my wife had received an abrupt voicemail from the lady on reception asking why we had not paid for our treatment and urging us to call back to pay over the phone - whilst we were still using the facilities? She also said we had given an incorrect room number - this wasn't the case, and if she'd bothered to acknowledge our arrival she'd of heard us tell another lady there that we had checked out that morning but had booked in for a treatment that afternoon. If she'd bothered to check the signing in book she'd of seen that we were still there as we hadn't signed out. The final straw was the lack of acknowledgment as we left despite leaving this message on my wife's phone, she was busy ordering games from a toyshop on the phone, I can only assume Christmas shopping. Disgustingly rude that unfortunately tarnished a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia MD USA

A gem in the Lake District

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
We visited the English Lake District, and this wonderful hotel, in the small town of Grassmere, is an ideal place to unwind and visit this little gem in the English countryside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Beautiful setting, lovely modern décor.

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Beautiful lakeside setting
We had a non-view room and it was very noisy at the rear of the hotel. All the air conditioning units were below our room so it did deter from the tranquillity of the experience.
5 out of 5
by Adele from Bolton

Delightful hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely nights stay in this hotel. We booked a basic no view room on bed and breakfast basis. Bed was huge and incredibly comfortable, bathroom lovely. Spa area is great. Will be returning!
5 out of 5
by john from Gateshead

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Should have informed us that wi-if wasn't available in rooms before we came. Other than that convenient, clean, comfortable, helpful staff, good breakfast and lovely views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel close to the Lake

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Very nice hotel. Relaxing view. Very clean. Food was good. Staff were very courteous.