Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater Manchester

Winter break

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Overall, I was impressed by our stay. The newly refurbished hotel is tastefull and is in a lovely part of the lakes. Impressed by the staff on reception and in the restaurant, who were polite, friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The end of our stay was soured by our spa visit, whilst the majority of the staff there and the facilities were great, the lady on reception (possibly management?!) was talking very loudly on the phone when we arrived, and didn't acknowledge our arrival in the slightest. I'd of been fine with this, however, we had our treatment then went to use the facilities for a couple of hours. Upon getting changed at the end of the day, my wife had received an abrupt voicemail from the lady on reception asking why we had not paid for our treatment and urging us to call back to pay over the phone - whilst we were still using the facilities? She also said we had given an incorrect room number - this wasn't the case, and if she'd bothered to acknowledge our arrival she'd of heard us tell another lady there that we had checked out that morning but had booked in for a treatment that afternoon. If she'd bothered to check the signing in book she'd of seen that we were still there as we hadn't signed out. The final straw was the lack of acknowledgment as we left despite leaving this message on my wife's phone, she was busy ordering games from a toyshop on the phone, I can only assume Christmas shopping. Disgustingly rude that unfortunately tarnished a lovely stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Beautiful setting, lovely modern décor.

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Beautiful lakeside setting
We had a non-view room and it was very noisy at the rear of the hotel. All the air conditioning units were below our room so it did deter from the tranquillity of the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel close to the Lake

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Very nice hotel. Relaxing view. Very clean. Food was good. Staff were very courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malvern UK

One of the best

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Outside area adjacent to entrance needs improvement. The rest of the exterior is very fine.
Location: Outstanding location on the lakeside, opposite Dove Cottage, close to the village, amazing walks and central to exploring all of the Lake District.
Exceeded expectations. Beautiful ambiance, outstanding bedroom, splendid breakfast - and superb location. One of the best UK hotels I've experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Teesside

Great hotel, shame about the restaurant.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Location location location. Lake views of Grasmere and the fells beyond. Also, it's within walking distance of alternative retaurants
Cons: The restaurant is expensive and requires considerable improvement. In it's present understaffed state it lets down the hotel experience very badly.
Location: The Daffodil Hotel is in Grasmere, Cumbria, the home of William Wordsworth. What more needs to be said.
Enjoyed a wonderful few days at the Daffodil Hotel in Grasmere. Being enthusiastic fell walkers we particularly enjoyed the hotel spa facilities to relax in after a day out and about in the lakes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Lake District holiday at the daffodil Grasmere

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: The views were stunning, the room was very comfortable and clean. The food was exceptional. The Spa was nice.
Cons: The bedroom could do with bigger wardrobes, a long mirror would be useful, we were missing a side table next to the bed
Location: The location was fantastic, the hotel grounds were exceptional and Grasmere was a short walk away with the other lake towns a very short drive.
The overall stay was very pleasant however they Daffodil is missing small touches which would elevate the hotel and its customer experience to the next level. The front of house service in the dining room needs to be improved, there needs to be better leadership within the team. Food was exceptional. Room location was noisy as it was next to the main air vents, the room was also missing a bed side table and hand towels, the side table was not replaced during our stay even though it was pointed out, the air con was a bit hit and miss and the shower temperature also fluctuated between hot and cold. Great location and grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boldon

Wonderful facilities for a relaxing break

Posted May 30, 2015
A complimentary upgrade saw us wallowing in luxurious rooms for 3 days. The hydrotherapy pool, steam and sauna rooms washed away the cares of the world, while the food was second to none. Mooching around in our fluffy white bathrobes made us feel like Audrey Hepburn and Cary Grant. Now that we're home, it's back to being Jack and Vera. The memories however, will stay with us forever....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Short stay

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Bed was super-king, which was great. Mattress was softer than we like - but didn't prevent a good night's sleep.
Location: Grasmere a short walk away, and the choice of Lakeland walks.
Just an overnight, for the cycling event - but a pleasure on all counts. Food was really good quality, the spa pool something really special - especially after 115 miles in a bike - and the views, bed and staff were all equally top notch. We'll be back - hopefully without a bike.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester England

Splendid Hotel Overlooking Grasmere

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Beautiful Bedroom overlooking Grasmere and the mountains. Very comfortable 6' bed, bathroom lots of space and very good shower. Very friendly staff
Cons: Dining room food not quite up to the very high standard of the other hotel features
Location: Many of the rooms have a good view of grasmere, beautiful and peaceful. There are walks from the hotel.short or longer. There is the Wordsworth Muse
Wife and I had a very enjoyable one night stay in this luxoriously appointed hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent !!!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Enjoyed every second of the stay all round service is excellent!!!They are super clean , rooms are very comfortable and the staff service is amazing they are all kind and friendly.The hotel is situated by a beautiful lake ,everything was lovely I just did not want to leave!!!!