Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolton, UK

Lovely country pub with great accommodation

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The pub is always busy which says a lot, the staff are friendly, good choice of drinks, great food. The rooms are very clean, beds really comfortable and have all the essentials you need. Breakfast was fantastic and really tasty, vwe have been before and will be back again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our short break.

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Used the hotel was used as a base to visit the Lakes and Yorkshire Dales. Ate at the hotel every night, food good, large portions, good selection and a specials board, good selection of drinks. Bridge across the river is being replaced, only foot crossing at present. Delivery lorry arrived at 05:00 one morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old school independent

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
I had a fantastic weekend in this hotel it was perfect for me
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
A great place to stay with train station on door step and a brewery tap nearby. The pub itself is great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall a good place to stay.

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Overall good place to stay. Room clean and nice view. Bar meals and breakfast very good. BUT the noise from the pub downstairs carries up in to the bedrooms. So not the place to stay if you want an early night!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Could do better

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was the best feature.
Cons: The size of the room and the en-suite were very disappointing.
Location: Nicely situated and easily accessible just off the main road halfway between Windermere and Kendal.
The rooms seemed to be of secondary interest to the staff. Running the bar and providing food being primary interest. The room was small and felt cold and musty, with no double glazing and limited ventilation. The en-suite was old-fashioned and the shower was poor.
4 out of 5
by paul from lancashire

short break in the South Lakes

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
the Eagle and Child has a great bar. Very cosey with a great selection of beers. The bar-staff know to put cucumber into a Hendricks gin ;-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gorleston on sea

An altogether fantastic experience.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The owners and staff were brilliant. We arrived at almost midnight the first night and they ensured someone stayed behind to await our arrival who welcomed us warmly. The accommodation by far exceeded our expectations as we'd booked a double bed with a double sofa bed for our two boys, aged 11 & 9. Instead we were shown into a two bedroom apartment! Kitchen area didn't have a cooker but we hadn't planned on any cooking anyway! Kettle, toaster, iron & board all available and a bonus was each bedroom also had their own TV. We had a bit of a holiday disaster when our 11 year old broke his arm playing football at the nearby park. The staff were immediately on hand to provide first aid before we took him to hospital where an X-ray confirmed the break. The remainder of the holiday saw him being treated as the local hero by staff - he'd saved the penalty that broke his arm! There were extra of his favourite biscuits replenished daily! We only dined in the evening there twice but everyone enjoyed the food. Would definitely recommend the Moroccan lamb! Lots to see and do close by and definitely plan to return. Hopefully we'll get to do the cycling and hiking next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Lovely hotel great staff and the food exquisite

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Food
Don't judge the rooms by the pictures they are small but they are perfect for a couple, the bathrooms are good and this is what to expect in a listed property, dinner and breakfast the best we have had so far