Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona

Overnight Stay

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Ambience, location - very quiet.
Cons: Mattresses were awful.
Location: It contains only about 10 homes with a small corner store across from the Inn - the heart of the village is the Inn. Dogs allowed:)
This B & B is a little gem surrounded by beautiful countryside, making it relaxing and completely chilled. It serves high quality food and the breakfast selection is second to none for a B & B. They have obviously spent a lot of money on bathroom fixtures etc. The bedding has high quality linens but my only issue was the mattress - it was like sleeping on a rock. Change out your mattresses please and your guests won't want to leave - this is the only reason this place didn't get a 5/5.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Great Hotel Stay

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
A great hotel and restaurant. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely cosy country pub

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: In the middle of the countryside- peace!
Cons: The heating wasn't working in our room- we were provided with an oil filled radiator to keep the bedroom warm enough.
Stayed for one Saturday night, to celebrate a special anniversary. Room was lovely, bath was very nice- some lovely Bath House toiletries to use. Pub was very busy with stove burning nicely. Food was excellent, couldn't fault it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MK

Romantic Location

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful few days spent in quiet comfort. Friendly staff, fantastic food and a comfortable room though my wife found the bed a bit hard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middleborough

Nice place

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay, room small but adequately adapt. There was a lot of hairs around the bedroom area but bathroom clean . overall nice place and breakfast and service really good .
5 out of 5
by Mandy from Yarm

Relaxing stay in South Lakes.

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely pace to stay. Excellent pub food, among the best I have experienced, very friendly service and surrounded by absolutely stunning scenery. Everything spotlessly clean and room serviced well each day. I would most definitely go again and strongly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Zoe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brian from Manchester

Top quality country pub

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
One night stay at the Hare and Hounds which is a great country pub in an amazingly pretty and peaceful location. Our deluxe room was spacious and airy which on such a hot day, was most welcome. The large bathroom had a roll top bath and a walk-in shower - perfect to refresh from a days walking in the lovely surrounding countryside. Bed and linens all of 5 star hotel standard. The staff were all friendly and professional. Great food and decent selection of real ales and wine by the glass. Cooked to order breakfast was delicious - best ever Eggs Benedict! Would love to stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Linda from Chester

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful village, amazing food,friendly staff. Room small, bed very comfortable however the bathroom was not clean. Overall enjoyable stay for 1 night .