Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Old world charm.

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Old world charm.
Enjoyed the experience of being in an older building away from the cities and towns.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa from Westhoughton

Proper little country hideaway

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
We booked this country pub getaway to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and weren't sure what to expect as we normally stay in much larger hotels, however we would definitely stay again. The welcome was a warm one, the staff couldn't do enough to help, the room was small but perfectly formed, the food was amazing and the location stunning. What more could you ask for?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

A great hotel away from the crowds

Posted Aug 7, 2015
This is a lovely place to stay and eat. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic food and a really good find My only problem was the bedroom was cold but loved it and will defiantly stay again and recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bradford

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: All good
Location: Good for walks and Cartmel nearby
Fabulous food in a fabulous location - quiet and peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pat from Burnley

Lovely break

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
Last minute booking for Saturday night before going on to Coniston. What a lovely place and lovely walks all around. I would recommend this inn to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Samir from London

Great pub for a short stay

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Superb location in a small village close to Windermere. Plenty of space in the pub car park. Our room was great - plenty of space for three of us, with a large bathroom with a huge bath and separate (and good) shower. Nice touches such as a bottle of water with the tea tray were appreciated. The pub itself has a good atmosphere - plenty of locals (which has to be a good sign!) and the occasional quiz night etc. We had no problems with noise from the pub getting to our room. The menu is a home-cooked style - lots of stews, pies etc, and some interesting starters and specials. We stayed for 4 nights and had plenty to choose from, but I think if you stayed for a week the menu could get a bit limiting. However, the service was good and friendly, they're quite happy with kids eating into the evening, but also start dinner service early enough if you want. Breakfast is superb, and is also at a very civilised 9-10am, and deserves an extra star all on it's own.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sara from Washington DC

Lovely cosy couples or family getaway in the Lakes

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
Found this through Hotels.com. LOVELY B&B pub in the groundfloor and rooms above. The owner is lovely, the food was great, and the location beautiful. Definitely need a car to stay here. Internet is just ok and cell reception isn't great but you're hopefully on holiday and not there to work. HIGHLY recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

Close to everything but far enough away.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Gives a feeling of seclusion without being isolated.
Cons: Any change would loose the Country Inn appeal.
Location: No walks direct from the Inn as such, apart from the quiet roads.
Lovely atmosphere, food, people and room. Good selection of real ales. A car is necessary with only a short drive to all the Lake District locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Grantham

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very peaceful, situated in a quiet hamlet opposite a small village shop.
We just got back from a long weekend at the Hare and Hounds. We really enjoyed our stay- great location,lovely, clean comfortable room with nice view, helpful, friendly staff, great food, good beer and very dog friendly!