Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect wedding venue

Posted Sep 28, 2015
the perfect wedding venue, with the best service, staff and food I have experienced for a long time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Fantastic, clean and friendly hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Took my partner to celebrate his 50th birthday. Had an amazing time at this hotel. The views are arguably some of the best in the world, the staff are friendly and the food was amazing! Would highly recommend and have been told its the best in the lakes!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Stayed for 2 nights at the hotel. We were in a part of the hotel which has been refurbished. I dont know if all the rooms have been refurbished. We had a great view of the lake from the room. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were firndly and attentive. Breakfast was served to the table and was very good. Had a meal in the Orangerie one evening which was excellent The hotel is beautifully situated beside the lake and makes for a very tranquil stay
4 out of 5
by Diane from NJ

Tiny room for the price

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels
While it was in a great location for the Lake District and the views were wonderful from the gardens, my room was tiny. There was no air conditioning and my room was hot and while I opened the window to let fresh cool air in, there was a wedding going on until very late so I didn't get enough sleep. The breakfast was good and plentiful. I don't think I'd stay there on a weekend again but it was a lovely area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, nice staff, great location and view, but our room really needed a new mattress!
5 out of 5
by HJS from Fife

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels
What a gorgeous hotel and in the most beautiful location. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. We had our dog with us and there was a bed and dog bowl in the room for her. The grounds were very well maintained and perfect for walking the dog. We will certainly be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and helpful staff

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Cons: The bed was really comfy, however, the pillows did not match this high standard.
Location: Ullswater lake and great bar with good cask ales
Despite booking a "quiet room" we found ourselves next door to a dog from hell due to the pet friendly policy. Prior to our concerns they had dealt with some lunatic who was complaining about a small chip on a cup in his room and that the tap water was not cold enough. The staff were absolutely fantastic and professional and we can't thank them enough for resolving our issues. The 3 Typhoon RAF fighters flying low level at breakfast was a bonus. Impressed we have 3 planes that fly, thought the Tories had decimated our air force....................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2013
5 out of 5
by Paul from South Yorkshire

Great hotel, beautiful location.

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
All good, staff really friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting overlooking Lake.

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: found the staff to very pleasant.
Cons: I think the room charge for Room 2 should be set at a lower rate compared to thos rooms that have views and balconies.
Location: situated on Lke Ullswater, this hotel is constantly in use for Weddings.
Room 2 allocated very disappointed in the room considering the cost of the room.