Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Hartlepool

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
It was a last minute decision to stay over and the lamplighter was a lovely place to stay even with works going on in car park and ground floor it was still nice and the new sun terrace on the front will be beautiful when finished we will recommend to friends and family and will stay there again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice place

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
James checked us in nice guy very helpful... good room breakfast v.good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BERKS

GREAT HOTEL AND GREAT LOCATION

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: The central location
Cons: BREAKFAST SERVING COULD START EARLIER. The Carpet in the room could do with updating
Location: LOCATED IN THE CENTRE OF WINDERMERE VILLAGE, CLOSE TO BUS AND TRAIN STATION NOT FAR FROM THE LAKE. LOTS OF SHOPS AND EATING PLACES.
The room was clean and warm enough. The staff were friendly, professional, helpful and went an extra mile. The food was fresh, testy and well presented. We will be back - definitely!
5 out of 5
by Eleanor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Mids

Good lakeland hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Lamplighter. The food, both at breakfast and Dinner, is higly recommended. Staff friendly and keen to help. Room was clean, light, tidy and a decent size. The only minor gripes were an underpowered shower and a small car park where our car got blocked in.
5 out of 5
by Nicola from Liverpool

Lovely hotel & Fantastic breakfasts

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel right near to Windermere train station. We stayed for 2 nights (Sat & Sun) in room 8. Really nice big room and bathroom, staff were very friendly. The best part though was the breakfasts. The best breakfasts are served here, sets you up for the day. We didn't eat between breakfast & dinner! Would stay here again. Thanks
5 out of 5
by Leslie from Melbourne

Just beautiful

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
Booked for 2 nights,but after spending 2 minutes in the room, asked for a third. It was beautiful! The bed was huge but cosy.Two comfortable armchairs were next to the window overlooking the quiet street .The bathroom was roomy with nice toiletries.A real coffee machine in the room was a welcome change to instant packets.The food was delicious. The only problem was the parking. we had to park in the street but within sight of our room. We loved it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Second visit to the Lamplighter!

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic location - we arrived by train and the hotel is almost opposite the station. This is also very convenient for buses to other areas of interest, such as Ambleside and Grasmere. Nice walk down into Bowness, but plenty of bars and restaurants close by. The hotel is beautiful, lots of period features, but a little shabby. Friendly staff and good service, but a few issues with our room - it was very hot and the sash window would not stay open and the shower was very small. Great breakfast and lovely food in the restaurant. This was our second visit and despite the comments above we would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rugby

Close to everything

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: It is comfortable, friendly and as a walker I did not feel that I had to disrobe outside. We always take off our walking boots outside anyway.
Cons: I don't think that there is anything that could be improved as this hotel is very good.
Location: Lots of walking, the lake, good resturants good bus service
We stayed here for 4 nights while we had a few days recharging batteries and walking the fells. The hotel is a very comfortable hotel. The breakfast was on the whole very good. Service was good and the staff were very friendly. We had a meal in the hotel one night and that was lovely. Expensive but lovely. When we come to this part of the lakes again we will stay here. We try to have at least a weeks stay up here every year to go walking and this hotel caters for walkers.
5 out of 5
by Christine from Royton/oldham

Gem

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent staff/chef food was brill rooms comfortable the hole exsperiance was loverly they could not do enough for you