Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by John

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
The best B&B that I have stayed at.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lake District Old School & Betty's Cottage B & B

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Lesley was a fantastic host; her breakfasts and packed lunches were very very tasty and well presented; ambiance was very nice; her two British short-hair cats and black lab were very fond of greeting us every time they saw us. Very pet friendly.
5 out of 5
by Vaughan from Glossop

Best B&B ever

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
This place was just amazing I carnt say enough that the hosts was just fantastic. Great place to walk the fells and climb hills
5 out of 5
by Bronislaw

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nice and very frendly płace
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton , Canada

Fantastic

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Fantastic service , shower, breakfast . Lesley was the perfect host
Cons: It was perfect as is
Location: Hiking, climbing , walking
Felt like home very welcoming and every little detail cared for,
5 out of 5
by Emma from Wakefield

Perfect!

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
We were hosted by Mugsie, a friend of the lady who owns the B&B. She was the perfect host and made us feel really welcome and cooked a cracking breakfast. We were sad to leave! The B&B is well located for people wishing to climb Scafell via Wasdale - around 30 mins drive. We found the B&B very easy to get to via motorways and A-roads, and at the same time it feels like it's in the middle of nowhere, very relaxing and quiet. A special shout out to Bruce, the world's best dog!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at the Old School for four nights for a business trip and it couldn't have been better! Lesley went out of her way to ensure a great stay. Friendly hosts, fabulous location, a lovely room, and delicious homemade food. Will definitely be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK, Boston USA

Beautiful location and picturesque views

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Very clean and comfortable Great location and beautiful views. Excellent service Extremely friendly and accommodating hosts.
Cons: This is the best B&B that i have stayed in during my numerous years of traveling internationally.
Excellent service, out hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. Numerous special touches and individual attention. Lovely peaceful location, but near enough to walks, views, friendly pubs and places on interest. We had an excellent time. The daily breakfast was extremely satisfying and options were varied and plentiful. We also participated in the packed lunch option when we wanted to venture further afield. However, there are also plenty of options to have a lunch en route. We celebrated my partner's birthday on this trip and our hosts Lesley and John helped us to celebrate with additional treats during our stay. We were very fortunate to stay in the cottage with breakfast service, however the house is beautiful. I was able to look at the house and see all of the rooms as we were there before other guests arrived and I can safely say that any room you stay in would be very comfortable. Bruce, the black lab is also a joy to meet throughout your stay. I would highly recommend the bed and breakfast. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed and we are very eager to return again soon. John and Lesley also provided excellent recommendations of places to visit and dine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great bed and breakfast

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Friendliness of the owners as well as the fine food treats!
Location: We used this as a base for a walking getaway and enjoyed some great walks.
Lesley and John offer exceptional hospitable as well as help with where to dine and a superb breakfast! After a day's walking it's so nice to come 'home' to a home-made cake in your room which you can enjoy at your leisure with a cup of tea in your room.
5 out of 5
by Matthieu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels