Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice Hotel, Not recommending

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Not too happy about arrival. We arrived at 3:40pm and the room wasn't ready. Staff told us to go walk the beach and come back. We did and at 4pm they told us it would be at least another hour before it was ready. Not something I wanted to hear since I wasn't feeling well and wanted to lay down. We were offered a room to change in to our swim suits but we weren't going to swim anyway. Not once did they offer to put us in another room. That night I got a survey from Expedia about my check-in at the hotel. I gave it a thumbs down because we didn't have a room ready at check-in. We went snorkeling all day the next day and rented a car with the hotel and snorkel masks (which I recommend) come back and as we walk through the lobby, the staff stopped us to get the manager. She asks me why I gave a bad review in the middle of the lobby. This later caused a fight between my husband and I because we were confronted like that and caught off guard after the great day we had. Even after I explained the bad review for check-in, there was nothing offered to fix it, not that I was looking for anything but maybe an available room similar to what we purchased on the water. I guess if I paid for one of the most expensive rooms, I would've thought the hotel would've been more accommodating. I have no complaints but this! The view was nice from our room when you're out on the balcony. It was clean and has a European vibe. We were supposed to get a king bed but somehow got two double beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Robbin Vogels, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, The reason why we asked if there were any issues were because of the real time feedback you gave. Sorry that this caused a fight with your husband, but we take the Expedia real time feedback very seriously. The reason why nothing was offered was that your husband ensured us that there was absolutely no issue regarding anything. The reason why we ask feedback on the reviews is to work on it. However, if the guest ensures us that there is no issue at all then there is nothing we can do. Again our apologies that we confronted you with the negative review. We tried to ask you for feedback because we want to make everyone's stay perfect. Warm Regards Robbin Vogels General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Not too happy about arrival. We arrived at 3:40pm and the room wasn't ready. Staff told us to go walk the beach and come back. We did and at 4pm they told us it would be at least another hour before it was ready. Not something I wanted to hear since I wasn't feeling well and wanted to lay down. We were offered a room to change in to our blowing suits but I wasn't up for swimming. Not once did they offer to put us in another room. That night I got a survey from Expedia about my check-in at the hotel. I gave t a thumbs down. We went snorkeling all day and rented a car with the hotel and snorkel masks (which I recommend) come back and as we walk through the lobby, the staff atopped is to get the manager. She asks me why I have a bad review in the lobby. Which later caused a fight between my husband and I because we were confronted after the great day we had. The view was nice from our room when you're out on the balcony. It was pretty clean and has a European vibe. We were supposed to get a king bed but somehow got two double beds. The pool is nice and the beach front is nice and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very comfortable and a convenient location

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The hotel has two small protected beaches, a small pool, good restaurant, bars for small dishes and snacks. The whole place is very peaceful and safe. The "city" is only a short walk with more restaurants and bars along the way. If you are looking for a nice base to start exploring g from or just a quiet time, this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MICHIGAN

LOVELY RELAXING STAY

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: SMALL AND INTIMATE
Cons: BREAKFAST ALA CARTE WOULD BE BETTER.
OLDER HOTEL, MORE LIKE A BOUTIQUE HOTEL. NO ROOM SERVICE, BUT NOT A BAD THING REALLY. GREAT STAFF.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

sooo disappointing, drastic change from last year

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Cons: eliminate noise in the rooms; staff would not place two reserved rooms next to each other, also impossible to request adjacent rooms on the webiste
Location: definitely recommend the Blues restaurant which is adjacent to the hotel
noise from unknown machinery in the room, services staff cannot communicate in english; water in the hotel reeking of bleach, horrible restaurant and bar menu food (except for the Blues restraurant which is separate from the hotel)
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Robbin Vogels, Hotel Management
Dear Lyubov, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay. The noise in the room was probably from the fridge, which can make a low rumbling sounds. The fridge can be easily disconnected or replaced. During our high season we can not always make sure that reserved rooms are next to eachother. However if it is possible we will make sure this happens. Strange to hear that the water in the hotel smelled like bleach. Curacao has the cleanest tab-water of the Caribbean without any traces of bleach. We are happy to hear that you like the food at our blues restaurant. Sorry that overall we did not meet your expectations, I will discuss all your points with our staff. Regards Robbin Vogels General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quito, Ecuador

Perfectly Located

Posted Feb 17, 2017
This resort has amazing beach front which is perfect for swimming and even a little snorkelling but is also within easy walking distance of the down town. The staff was wonderfully helpful and never refused any request. Food was good at the restaurants on site but there were also good restaurants close by if you wanted something different. We really have nothing but great things to say about Avila. It was a wonderful experience beginning to end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Picturesque seaside location, quiet and clean

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: A couple of nice restaurants on site offer a variety of foods. We bought the Breakfast package at check in, but bought lunches/ dinners elsewhere.
Location: We were able to walk into Willemstadt in 15 minutes for some shopping and sightseeing. There were a few excellent restaurants within a short walk.
We had high expectations for this well-rated hotel. It proved to be clean and quiet, and, without exception, the staff was pleasant and helpful. The housekeepers did an excellent job of mopping up what our sandy feet brought in daily. A private beach and calm, shallow lagoon was a huge plus. The shore never felt crowded, and there was always a shaded lounge chair waiting. We went for the higher priced wing of rooms that jutted out into the Caribbean. These were clad in weathered wood and outfitted more like rooms in a simple cottage, which was not without some charm. The sunsets enjoyed from our wooden balcony were amazing and the view unsurpassed. In the minus column there was a punishing chill from the air conditioner, one that we weren't able to adjust with the in-room-non-functioning thermostat. The room was far too cold. Small amenities were missing, like wash cloths and more than the barest number of towels. We missed a hairdryer until one was brought to us from the front desk. Minor repairs were left undone. The metal cables that acted as balcony railings were missing in two places, leaving a gap that a child could easily tumble through. Bathroom dampness had eaten away the base of the bathroom door, leaving an unsightly scruff of rot. Little things, really, but a hotel earns its reputation and its room rate by attending to the little things.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good time overall but limited beach.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Free Shuttle twice a day to town. Great wraps for lunch; liked The Octagon Museum of Simon Bolivar on site; Security A+
Cons: No screen on sliding door; door frame lacked flashing so mosquitoes got into room; bathroom sink drain was defective. Bathroom needs venting.
Location: Close to Willemstad. Good restaurants nearby. Observation deck. Had a great fondue at Cheesery Restaurant in town.
Mosquito problem needs to be addressed by Curacao Dutch Gov't. The hotel did smog on Wednesday but flies and mosquitoes are an issue. Note: Florida did attempt to address this problem by spraying. Perhaps hotel could offer a non toxic aloe repellent to guests. Our room lacked a screen on slider door and the front door lacked adequate flashing to prevent mosquitoes from entering. A la Carte menu options could have been explained. Food was high quality Staff friendly and location lovely. The history of the old hotel was of interest. It is a lovely historic building. Limited beach! No snack options after.5 o'clock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great Choice

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Excellent location...accessible to all of Willemstad (and the entire Island), but outside the depressing over-touristed portions of the city. Great dining options within walking distance and a mile-or-so walk to the higher density Punda portion of the city. The facility is quite comfortable and relaxing -- with small private beaches, an infinity pool and private porches off the rooms. Breakfast is over-priced, but available on site. Very helpful staff willing to assist in making restaurant reservations, etc. Small, but irritating glitch booking through Expedia: although the Avila had a record of our reservation, they could not get us into their computer system and consequently advised our return-to-airport transport that we were not there!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Serene and Idyllic

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The room assigned at check in was not the upgrade with a view as promised. Waited an hour for a change after much hassling. Grounds were beautiful, staff friendly and attentive, but drinks were weak and food inconsistent. Facilities at hotel limiting though two swimming lagoons were fine. Hotel location close to town a bonus. Expedia choosing American Airlines as the only option was disappointing (Jet Blue?).