Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eigener Strand in Stadtnähe

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: eigener Strand
Cons: Service am eignen Strand fehlt, man muss zur Bar und wird dort nur schleppend bedient
Location: sehr gute Restaurants, Mietauto für andere Strände ist zu empfehlen
sehr nettes Personal allerdings nicht richtig instruiert.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avila

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Very nice hotel and rooms, excellent staff. Walking distance to town and within 50 yards of 4 restauants one of which is the best fish restaurant on the island. Two protected beaches which are not common on the island. Beach bar is fun. Only criticism is the food which is average.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Voorburg

Nice beaches and gardens - bedrooms rather dated

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The beaches
Cons: Hairdryers in the bathrooms!
Location: Can walk into Willemstad from here - certainly safe during the day. Near the hotel, try restaurant Fishaliscious (but not cheap) and Ginger in town.
We enjoyed the relative peace of the white sandy beaches and gardens. The rooms were OK but were last renovated about 9 years ago - clearly time for another renovation. One disappointment in the bathroom was the lack of a hairdryer. I asked reception a number of times if they could find me one - apparently they had a list of others asking for the same. I couldn't really understand a hotel of this supposed quality not offering such a basic amenity. There was a great Jazz evening at the Blues Restaurant - good food and excellent music. Apparently they do this twice a week and you do need to book to get a table. Highly recommended. The breakfast buffet offered a range of food but the quality wasn't so good, so in our opinion not worth the price they charge. However we couldn't find any alternatives in the neighbourhood. The a la carte breakfast was better but limited in choice. In general though, the staff were very helpful and did their best to help.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nettes, empfehlenswertes Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Das Hotel verfügt über einen Pool, 2 kleinere Strände, freundliches und hilfsbereites Personal, eine Autovermietung und man kann verschieden Ausflüge buchen.
Cons: Die Zimmer sind sehr hellhörig und etwas in die Jahre gekommen.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich am Strand. Die Innenstadt mit diversen Möglichkeiten befindet sich in ca. 1Km Entfernung.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama, Panama

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Excelente hubicacion, y las aguas de la playa son lo mejor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Return Guest

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: Grote Knip - Playa Kenepa Grandi is a must. A little hard to find, but well work the effort. Head north about 45 minutes :)
We stayed at Avila for our 5 year anniversary and fell in love with the hotel so we decided to book it for our 15th. This trip was not as impressive. Don't get me wrong, Avila is still a great place to stay but we felt this trip was missed the mark when it came to the "little" things. Our biggest complaint was with Housekeeping. They were inconsistent. One day they'd replace the coffee, the next day not. Some days the throw pillows made it back to the bed, others they didn't. Sometimes the garbage was emptied, others not. None of these items was a deal breaker. More of an annoyance than anything else. The thing that got me though was that my wife stopped at the front desk to get the coffee that housekeeping forgot and when she asked for extra they charged her. She wasn't asking for extra because we're greedy, she was asking for extra because housekeeping forgot to replace them 2-days in a row. You're going to charge me? Really? I made them take that off the bill at checkout. More for principal than anything else. Room was OK, but there were stains on our lampshade and on the curtain to the balcony. Again not a deal breaker, but not something we were expecting. Oh, and the water at the bathroom sink would run down the back flooding the counter if you didn't turn it exactly so. On the upside the staff is super courteous and friendly. We met the new owner who welcomed our comments and feedback and admitted they were working through some housekeeping issues. Thumbs up Avila
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, United States of America

Beautiful hotel with a private beach

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The hotel decor and private beach are pristine and awesome. I would definitely stay at this hotel again should I travel to Curacao again.
Cons: There is nothing that could be improved.
Location: The supermarket and owntown area, as well as the Sea Aquarium and Mambo are very close by.
The staff was very patient and accommodating. They answered all of my and my daughter's questions about how to travel about and where restaurants and clubs are located. I was provided with a small refrigerator at no cost and a vase of flowers was sent to my room in celebration of my daughter's birthday.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Altijd goed Avila

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Altijd goed Avila. Vriendelijk personeel gunstige ligging. Zijn faciliteiten aan verbeteren
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

great place in every category

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: everything
Location: rent a car, it's around $40-50 per day to see a lot of interesting things. you don't need expensive island' tours.
everything was perfect from room amenities to perfect snorkeling just outside of lagoon' barrier. Pro: big room with kitchenette; A/C is quiet but powerful; they do wash dishes when cleaning the room. the beach with lot of chairs in shadow area and swimming lagoons( and you can swim at night too); great snorkeling on the reef just outside the lagoon( very safe); testy, reasonable priced food in hotel restaurants; good drinks; free shuttle to downtown twice a day, and also you can walk to downtown if you wish; never had a problem with finding free space to park a car. they do have Friday happy hour, Saturday barbecue, and Thursday live music events, do not miss it. there is so much to see on the island. skip all expensive tours and rent a car. use navigator, they have a lot of one-way roads, and they do have circles instead of cross-lights. but it felt safe, and usually they are polite when they see lost tourist- driver . we rented the car for 4 days, and felt we didn't see everything we wanted to see. just read TripAdvisor 'things to do' to create your own itinerary.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A mixed bag and a mystery

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very laid back and has 2 nice beach areas where you can swim or snorkel. I loved sitting on my balcony watching the palm trees sway.
Cons: The food was just fair.
Location: Although the Web site says that the hotel is half a mile from Punda, it is really closer to 2 miles. I am a fast walker and it took me 25-30 minutes.
I arrived at the hotel at 3 p.m. And was told that the suite that I had reserved for 4 nights was unavailable due to a computer error. They insisted that a smaller room was just as nice, but if course it wasn't. I saw both rooms and told them that I wanted the suite. The suite looked perfectly clean, but they insisted that I wait for housekeeping to check the room. Check in time was 4 p.m. At 5 p.m. they finally gave me my room key. I had wasted 2 hours in the lobby getting bitten by mosquitoes and when I got into the room the bathroom floor was dirty and covered with long hairs. Why did they make me wait for 2 hours, when I could have been out enjoying the island? I spoke to management and never received an answer. The room needs maintenance and removal of mold on ceilings near air conditioning. They do have a shuttle to Punda, but it only runs twice a day and not on Sunday. It should run hourly. The Octagon Museum has limited open hours, but nobody is there during those hours. The handbook in the room instructs you to go to the Spa for towels, but the towels are elsewhere. Management has some serious issues to deal with. It is a nice property, but needs tender loving care and an update. Customer service should be number one.