Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Gorgeous beach, good location, inconsistent service, very hard bed, poor choice for breakfast, average hotel overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Curacao

Awesome Hotel!

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: We liked everything about the hotel!
Cons: I would like to see addition to local food on the lunch menu. But... other than that everything else was great.
Location: Location is perfect. You are close to supermarkets, restaurants, harbor and attractions.
Me and my family loved our stay at Avila Hotel. We just wanted a couple of days off work to enjoy a short vacation on the island. We've had a good time there. Very tranquil and beautiful views. Especially when the sun is going down. Make sure you bring your camera to take some great photos. The food was amazing! The hotel is very clean. Rooms are beautiful and house keeping cleans every single day. The hotel staff was very helpful and knowledgeable and happy to help anytime with a smile on their face. They have beautiful beaches! If you're looking for a very tranquil hotel, then Avila Hotel is a good choice. Go ahead and book your stay at Avila hotel and be ready to have fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel on the beach!

Posted May 24, 2017
We loved our stay here! Rooms were nice, amazing views, loved the fact that the hotel was right on the beach. Short walk to downtown Willemstad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach. A short walk to town

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Had a great time. Hotel is great. Food is so tasty. Saturday is Caribbean grill night. The food is excellent. Buffet style. The hotel has a private beach and a gym. Wifi always worked so I was still connected to thing back home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

mixed feelings

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: the beach coves - views - blues bar - all the food - closeness to the city
Cons: the service provided at the schooner bar in general and some of the wait staff just did not seem to care
Location: great location - just about anything you would want to do is a short jump away
Overall i enjoyed my stay - the grounds were excellent the beach coves and views were top shelf, proximity to the Capital was a great convenience, the Kitchen and Blues bar were outstanding all meals were wonderful, front desk and general staff were helpful and easy to deal with. The floor Managers were also great! My one negative was that the bar staff in general and some of the wait staff at the terrace just did not seem to care - to sit at a twenty seat bar and not even be acknowledged for 15 minutes is unacceptable. They just did not appear to care if i was satisfied or not ! There were exceptions Larie and Elvis come to mind but in general the bar staff got a D- i brought home a lot of money i had planned on spending but simply could not due to the slow/poor service at the schooner bar - a central point to the resort i will have to think about giving a second chance the experience was not a bomb but could have been better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jamestown, RI

Popular Hotel on Beach and close to Willemstad

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Having a full kitchen was nice. We enjoyed cooking breakfast every morning and eating on the balcony to start our day. Private and protected beach.
Cons: Onsite restaurants fair/expensive. Renting a car was a painful ordeal - not enough cars, slow/long process. Parking- poor, the help parked up front
Location: Location- excellent, right in the middle of everything. Romantic restaurants nearby- Wine cellar and Seasons. Short drive to town/Scuba diving.
This was our third time Curacao. We normally stay on the west end but decided to stay just outside Willemstad. We stayed in one of the Avila's 1 bedroom condo/suites verses a regular room, due to it be strongly suggested by many past travelers. The suite was clean and large with an ocean view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice Hotel, Not recommending

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Not too happy about arrival. We arrived at 3:40pm and the room wasn't ready. Staff told us to go walk the beach and come back. We did and at 4pm they told us it would be at least another hour before it was ready. Not something I wanted to hear since I wasn't feeling well and wanted to lay down. We were offered a room to change in to our swim suits but we weren't going to swim anyway. Not once did they offer to put us in another room. That night I got a survey from Expedia about my check-in at the hotel. I gave it a thumbs down because we didn't have a room ready at check-in. We went snorkeling all day the next day and rented a car with the hotel and snorkel masks (which I recommend) come back and as we walk through the lobby, the staff stopped us to get the manager. She asks me why I gave a bad review in the middle of the lobby. This later caused a fight between my husband and I because we were confronted like that and caught off guard after the great day we had. Even after I explained the bad review for check-in, there was nothing offered to fix it, not that I was looking for anything but maybe an available room similar to what we purchased on the water. I guess if I paid for one of the most expensive rooms, I would've thought the hotel would've been more accommodating. I have no complaints but this! The view was nice from our room when you're out on the balcony. It was clean and has a European vibe. We were supposed to get a king bed but somehow got two double beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Robbin Vogels, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, The reason why we asked if there were any issues were because of the real time feedback you gave. Sorry that this caused a fight with your husband, but we take the Expedia real time feedback very seriously. The reason why nothing was offered was that your husband ensured us that there was absolutely no issue regarding anything. The reason why we ask feedback on the reviews is to work on it. However, if the guest ensures us that there is no issue at all then there is nothing we can do. Again our apologies that we confronted you with the negative review. We tried to ask you for feedback because we want to make everyone's stay perfect. Warm Regards Robbin Vogels General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Not too happy about arrival. We arrived at 3:40pm and the room wasn't ready. Staff told us to go walk the beach and come back. We did and at 4pm they told us it would be at least another hour before it was ready. Not something I wanted to hear since I wasn't feeling well and wanted to lay down. We were offered a room to change in to our blowing suits but I wasn't up for swimming. Not once did they offer to put us in another room. That night I got a survey from Expedia about my check-in at the hotel. I gave t a thumbs down. We went snorkeling all day and rented a car with the hotel and snorkel masks (which I recommend) come back and as we walk through the lobby, the staff atopped is to get the manager. She asks me why I have a bad review in the lobby. Which later caused a fight between my husband and I because we were confronted after the great day we had. The view was nice from our room when you're out on the balcony. It was pretty clean and has a European vibe. We were supposed to get a king bed but somehow got two double beds. The pool is nice and the beach front is nice and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very comfortable and a convenient location

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The hotel has two small protected beaches, a small pool, good restaurant, bars for small dishes and snacks. The whole place is very peaceful and safe. The "city" is only a short walk with more restaurants and bars along the way. If you are looking for a nice base to start exploring g from or just a quiet time, this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MICHIGAN

LOVELY RELAXING STAY

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: SMALL AND INTIMATE
Cons: BREAKFAST ALA CARTE WOULD BE BETTER.
OLDER HOTEL, MORE LIKE A BOUTIQUE HOTEL. NO ROOM SERVICE, BUT NOT A BAD THING REALLY. GREAT STAFF.