Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Michel

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dear Michel, Thank you for your rating 5 star! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by Carl-Johan

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dear Carl-Johan, Thank you for your 5 star rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT, USA

5 Star Boutique Oasis

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Cons: Directions from the airport to the hotel were a bit confusing. Forwarding us a map with a highlighted route via email ahead of time would have helped
Location: Downtown Willemstad is about a 10 minute easy drive from the hotel. Other water sports and excursions could be booked right from the hotel.
Our family of 4 stayed at the Baoase in Curacao in March of 2016. Everything was top notch from the facilities, to the staff, to the food. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world, but what sets the Baoase apart was the boutique feel and attention to detail. The hotel is family run and you can tell that they take much pride in what they do. Every effort was made to get to know us by name and to remember our preferences. At the time, the hotel consisted of 24 units, mostly 2 to 4 bedroom villas. Most had their own access to a pool shared by 4 units and a direct access to the beach. We were told it was fully booked at the time of our stay, but we would never have known. Although the hotel opens its open air restaurant to the public on occasion, they will limit seating to make sure that their staying guests take priority. There was a small protected beach and everything had a Balinese feel. The grounds were immaculate. We could walk to a local marketplace from the hotel and all activities could be arranged from the hotel. In addition, we could kayak and snorkel right from the beach. While there was enough on Curacao to keep us busy, we often didn't want to wander beyond the resort, and that was unusual for our active family! We highly recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for your 5 star rating! Thank you for your tip in regards to the route to the resort, we do have a route and directions on our website on how to get to the resort but indeed it seems wiser to just send out the link to all arriving guests as well. We are very happy we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Beautiful setting. Great service. Everyone knows your name.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your 5 star rating! We are a small scale property which gives us the opportunity to get to know our guests personally and by name. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn

The very definition of a 5 star hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: It was quiet, respectful clientele, the food was amazing. (not like that garbage food you get at most resorts). The staff was considerate and helpful
Cons: The food, while delicious, is crazy pricy... like CRAZY pricey.
Location: There is an amazing fish shack on the beach within walking distance of the hotel... It's called "sea side terrace" super cheap, super local, delicious
From the moment we got there the staff was amazing and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. We had the good fortune of having light construction being done next to our standard room, they immediately changed our room and upgraded us to their "private villa with exclusive pool" a room that was triple the cost! We didn't even have to ask... it was ready the moment we arrived. Would absolutely come here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Jon, Thank you for your 5 star rating! Great to hear you enjoyed our Culinary Beach Restaurant. We offer breakfast (included in rate), lunch and dinner. Our bites start at USD 11 our platters at USD 20, lunch at USD 20 and dinner at USD 40 per person. There is a little bit for everyone. The Sea Side Terrace is a wonderful little local restaurant right on the beach just 5minutes away from the resort. I am happy you enjoyed the cuisine there as well! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New, York

Beautiful grounds and villas

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Stay was wonderful but food outside of the resort was better than food at the hotel which was disappointing. Welcoming staff was great and the staff overall ! And the Baoase cocktail is the most delicious drink! Villa was very relaxing and spacious and clean. Felt like a honeymoon :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Chelsea, Thank you for your 4 star rating! It is regrettable to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations at our Culinary Beach Restaurant. Thank you for your compliments I will make sure they reach our Front Office team, our bartenders and our House Keeping team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moriches, New York

Great Grounds, Caution with this Resort Required

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The grounds are lovely the food at the restaurant is adequate. Fine dining at the Wine Cellar, El Guacho, Serafina, and others, go off campus to eat.
Cons: The restaurant service was pleasant but slow, by any standards. Go eat off-site. Taxis are not that expensive.
Location: Please do take the resort excursion to western beaches, and scuba/snorkle with Carlos. He was the best part of the trip.
Do not take the travel package to and from the resort to the airport. Taxi must less expensive, they call a taxi to pick you up anyway. Big rip-off Do not take the Klein Curacao excursion with the resort, look into Mermaid Boat Trips. Your experience on Klein Curacao will be much better, with the island's only beach house. People were sitting out in the blistering sun on beach towels, no chairs on Klein Curacao. Mermaid had chairs and lots of shade. Be cautious of the beach butlers, ours was very unhelpful and caused problems, others were great. Be advised the beach suites do not ALL have beaches, our beach suite had rocks with a glimps of the water behind the rocks. Deceiving description of the room. This resort is completely man made, nothing natural about the man made lagoon. The weren't beaches at all! Resort Manager said puzzling things about gay travelers. Gay Travelers welcome if, "not too gay".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Matthew, Thank you for your 4 star rating! Due to government restrictions all transportation needs to have a Taxi license plate. We work closely with a handful of drives that drive luxury SUV's the inclusion in the Luxury Airport Transfer is that the drivers keeps an eye out on your flight and any delays and is waiting for you holding a sign to take you right to your car. We offer several Klein Curacao Packages with three (3) different companies. Some have as you mention a tiny village on the island, some are only boat orientated or are simply hop on hop off. The resort offers Beachfront Pool Suites which are suites located on the beachfront with direct access to the shared resort beach. We also offer Superior Beachfront Pool Suites which are suites located on the beachfront with their own private beaches. I hope to have been able to clarify everything for you. Again it is regrettable that we were not able to exceed your expectations but we do hoe to welcome you again in the future. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by James from Arlington, VA

Wow, no other way to describe this place.

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
So disappointed I can only leave a review with 1500 characters. Please see my more extensive review on Trip Advisor. Baoase is absolutely incredible! We have stayed in resorts the world over, hundreds over our 17 years together and traveling the world over. This place was magical beyond belief. The grounds, the decor, the love and passion the owners have clearly put into this place is every present at every turn and leaves an eternal mark on one's soul. The service was amazing. The food in the restaurant incredible. It truly reflected passion, dedication, and a firm desire to leave guests with memories that will last a life time. Such a gem in a world filled with "over designed" "Over priced" 5 star hotels and resorts. I am officially given Baoase the inexistent, 6 stars! The romance of the grounds, the beautiful spacious villas, the incredible cuisine Chef Rene delights your palet with, the feeling of being in a family owned resort that has been warped by commercial arrogance found in the larger chain resorts, will leave you wanting to return to this place over and over again. Bravo to the owners and staff that made this weekend for me and my partner one of the best in comparison to hundreds of places we have stayed before!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dear James Thank you for your 6 star rating! I am extremely proud of my staff that we were able to exceed the expectations of two seasoned travellers. We do our best to make sure each and every guest receives and experiences the true Baoase experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by Daniel from miami

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
fantastic, ultra luxurious
Comment from Hotel Management
Dear Daniel, Thank you for your 5 star rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by Sandra from Annecy

Fabuleux.

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Nous avons choisi cet hotel pour fêter nos 20 ans de mariage .. et nous n'avons pas regretté . Pour la chambre : literie haut de gamme. cocktail et corbeille de fruits offert à notre arrivée. terrasse extérieure splendide, lumière tamisée et bougies allumées le soir venu .. cependant pensé à amener avec vous un bon produit antimoustique . L'accueil : impeccable, Gabi a prit le temps pour nous expliquer le fonctionnement de l'hotel, les différents endroits avec leur accès.. Nous avons spécialement aimé que tout le personnel ( y compris le manager et son épouse - qui de plus ont fait l'effort de nous parler en français ) connaissent notre nom et prénom. La plage : magnifique, très bien entretenue et assez de transat à l'ombre ou au soleil.. matelas et serviettes à disposition et personnel de plage au petit soin. Le restaurant : comment ne pas manger au moins une fois au Baoase culinary restaurant .. Le service est impeccable, rapide et c'est surtout très très bon chef cuisinier ayant travaillé dans un 2* Michelin en hollande.. Si le coeur vous en dit , il y a même un héliport pour vous faire déposer en hélicoptère depuis l'aéroport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dear Sandra Thank you for your 5 star rating! Great to hear we were able to be a part of your 20th wedding anniversary. I am happy you enjoyed your complimentary platter upon arrival and your nightly turn down service. I will make sure to pass along your comments about the cuisine to our executive chef Rene Klop. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016