Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT, USA

5 Star Boutique Oasis

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Cons: Directions from the airport to the hotel were a bit confusing. Forwarding us a map with a highlighted route via email ahead of time would have helped
Location: Downtown Willemstad is about a 10 minute easy drive from the hotel. Other water sports and excursions could be booked right from the hotel.
Our family of 4 stayed at the Baoase in Curacao in March of 2016. Everything was top notch from the facilities, to the staff, to the food. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world, but what sets the Baoase apart was the boutique feel and attention to detail. The hotel is family run and you can tell that they take much pride in what they do. Every effort was made to get to know us by name and to remember our preferences. At the time, the hotel consisted of 24 units, mostly 2 to 4 bedroom villas. Most had their own access to a pool shared by 4 units and a direct access to the beach. We were told it was fully booked at the time of our stay, but we would never have known. Although the hotel opens its open air restaurant to the public on occasion, they will limit seating to make sure that their staying guests take priority. There was a small protected beach and everything had a Balinese feel. The grounds were immaculate. We could walk to a local marketplace from the hotel and all activities could be arranged from the hotel. In addition, we could kayak and snorkel right from the beach. While there was enough on Curacao to keep us busy, we often didn't want to wander beyond the resort, and that was unusual for our active family! We highly recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for your 5 star rating! Thank you for your tip in regards to the route to the resort, we do have a route and directions on our website on how to get to the resort but indeed it seems wiser to just send out the link to all arriving guests as well. We are very happy we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Beautiful setting. Great service. Everyone knows your name.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your 5 star rating! We are a small scale property which gives us the opportunity to get to know our guests personally and by name. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn

The very definition of a 5 star hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: It was quiet, respectful clientele, the food was amazing. (not like that garbage food you get at most resorts). The staff was considerate and helpful
Cons: The food, while delicious, is crazy pricy... like CRAZY pricey.
Location: There is an amazing fish shack on the beach within walking distance of the hotel... It's called "sea side terrace" super cheap, super local, delicious
From the moment we got there the staff was amazing and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. We had the good fortune of having light construction being done next to our standard room, they immediately changed our room and upgraded us to their "private villa with exclusive pool" a room that was triple the cost! We didn't even have to ask... it was ready the moment we arrived. Would absolutely come here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Jon, Thank you for your 5 star rating! Great to hear you enjoyed our Culinary Beach Restaurant. We offer breakfast (included in rate), lunch and dinner. Our bites start at USD 11 our platters at USD 20, lunch at USD 20 and dinner at USD 40 per person. There is a little bit for everyone. The Sea Side Terrace is a wonderful little local restaurant right on the beach just 5minutes away from the resort. I am happy you enjoyed the cuisine there as well! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New, York

Beautiful grounds and villas

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Stay was wonderful but food outside of the resort was better than food at the hotel which was disappointing. Welcoming staff was great and the staff overall ! And the Baoase cocktail is the most delicious drink! Villa was very relaxing and spacious and clean. Felt like a honeymoon :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Chelsea, Thank you for your 4 star rating! It is regrettable to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations at our Culinary Beach Restaurant. Thank you for your compliments I will make sure they reach our Front Office team, our bartenders and our House Keeping team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moriches, New York

Great Grounds, Caution with this Resort Required

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The grounds are lovely the food at the restaurant is adequate. Fine dining at the Wine Cellar, El Guacho, Serafina, and others, go off campus to eat.
Cons: The restaurant service was pleasant but slow, by any standards. Go eat off-site. Taxis are not that expensive.
Location: Please do take the resort excursion to western beaches, and scuba/snorkle with Carlos. He was the best part of the trip.
Do not take the travel package to and from the resort to the airport. Taxi must less expensive, they call a taxi to pick you up anyway. Big rip-off Do not take the Klein Curacao excursion with the resort, look into Mermaid Boat Trips. Your experience on Klein Curacao will be much better, with the island's only beach house. People were sitting out in the blistering sun on beach towels, no chairs on Klein Curacao. Mermaid had chairs and lots of shade. Be cautious of the beach butlers, ours was very unhelpful and caused problems, others were great. Be advised the beach suites do not ALL have beaches, our beach suite had rocks with a glimps of the water behind the rocks. Deceiving description of the room. This resort is completely man made, nothing natural about the man made lagoon. The weren't beaches at all! Resort Manager said puzzling things about gay travelers. Gay Travelers welcome if, "not too gay".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Matthew, Thank you for your 4 star rating! Due to government restrictions all transportation needs to have a Taxi license plate. We work closely with a handful of drives that drive luxury SUV's the inclusion in the Luxury Airport Transfer is that the drivers keeps an eye out on your flight and any delays and is waiting for you holding a sign to take you right to your car. We offer several Klein Curacao Packages with three (3) different companies. Some have as you mention a tiny village on the island, some are only boat orientated or are simply hop on hop off. The resort offers Beachfront Pool Suites which are suites located on the beachfront with direct access to the shared resort beach. We also offer Superior Beachfront Pool Suites which are suites located on the beachfront with their own private beaches. I hope to have been able to clarify everything for you. Again it is regrettable that we were not able to exceed your expectations but we do hoe to welcome you again in the future. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Holmdel, NJ

Amazing beach villa

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We recently stay here for 4 nights. We stayed in villa 1. It was absolutely amazing. Hospitality was second to nothing I have ever been to. The environment was incredibly relaxing. I am very very happy with our choice to visit Baoase and will definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for your review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Ocean Front Villas. I will make sure to pass along your wonderful compliments to our dedicated staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfektes Ambiente für einen Erholungsurlaub

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Service und Ambiente
Alles bis ins Detail liebevoll durchdacht, schlicht und mit Understatement. Es fehlt an nichts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review! Reviews like this make my day. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
2 out of 5
by Louise from England

Definately not worth the money!

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: The quality of the food cooked by the kitchen staff was excellent whilst expensive. The location is lovely and very suitable for honeymooners/couples.
Cons: Portion sizes very small. Constant confusion amongst staff having to repeat everything twice and staff keep clarifying and then making mistakes.
Location: Very secluded location with man made beach. In the centre of a busy residential/commercial area though so that was a bit of a surprise to us.
The customer service in this hotel is very dissapointing particular reception staff, especially when you consider how much you are paying per night for accomodation only! Several things got confused by staff and mistakes occured; with wrong meals being ordered, a trip they booked was booked for 5 people instead of 2; leading to an embarrassing sitn when the tour operator was clearly dissapointed by the loss of revenue. I requested to see another villa whilst I was there incase we wanted to rebook different accom in the future - it took over 36 hours to come back to me and they only acted on this after I said I was dissapointed. Th shower in the 3 bedroom villa did not work fully ie the steam function, dissapointing as this was supposed to be an added luxury feature. We were told initially they were waiting on a part to replace the faulty part and then told that none of the steam functions in the showers in any of the villas worked so this explanation did not stack up and we could not understand why, if this was the case, it had not been sorted sooner. The outside light to our pool entrance did not work, only half the lights on the patio wooden decked floor worked and we got the overall impression that maintenence is not a priority. We also had the only pool closed for cleaning which was understandable but it was closed 4pm to 1.30pm the following day and the alternative pool was the hotel owners pool and it was dirty with stacked up furniture we were not allowed to use!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Louise, Thank you for your extensive review and apologies for the delayed reply. Our resort is located in a residential neighbourhood and secluded as our guests usually value their privacy. The resort offers 1 shared pool in the middle of the resort or our private pool villas, our beachfront pool suites and our superior beachfront pool suites. Even though the pool was being serviced at the time the beach and lagoon were fully accessible. it is regrettable to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay but we do hope to welcome you in the future. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Peaceful oasis in Curacao

Posted Nov 22, 2011
Before going to Baoase, we stayed at the Kura Hulanda hotel for 2 nights in Willemstad due to availability at Baoase. It was a good experience to have the 2 aspects of the hotel stays. Baoase was a little oasis in the middle of a residential area. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. We got great advice on a restaurant for our anniversary dinner. We had to flag down the serving staff at times to get another item or bill, but that may be more of an 'island time' thinking than inattentiveness. The villas and grounds were always clean and appealing. There are plenty of places to lounge - your villa, the pool, the lagoon, the 3 sections of beach, the dining area or the bar. Our villa was nicely appointed with rich colors and clean lines, and comfortable furnishings. The grounds had a lot of plants and statues making it look like it's been there for decades. The villas were close together but didn't feel like you were on top of each other. And they're laid out so you're not looking into any other's living space. I'm not sure that there's any reason to select beach front versus beach view (we had a 3 bedroom ocean view), as the plantings and layout give you more of a 'view' than 'front' feeling anyway (none are directly on the sand). You will need a car or transportation arrangements to get around to sightsee on the island. I would HIGHLY recommend Baoase to anyone traveling to Curacao, even for a visit for lunch or dinner if you do not stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review! We are a small scale resort with just 23 unites so we sometimes get fully booked in high season. We have added new Beachfront and Superior Beachfront Pool Suites to our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venlo

Baoase, werkelijk fantastisch

Posted Dec 26, 2010
Eigenlijk zijn er geen woorden voor. Baoase is een ongelofelijk mooi resort. We zijn al op veel plekken en hotels geweest, maar dit is echt en hele mooie plek. Baoase is een belevenis. De villa’s zijn mooi, comfortabel en luxueus, ze zijn van alle gemakken voorzien. Zoals bijvoorbeeld een eigen zwembad voor de deur. De inrichting is erg smaakvol en de kamers ademen allemaal een eigen sfeer terwijl het toch allemaal als een geheel aanvoelt. Er is een mooie baai aangelegd waar je heerlijk kan vertoeven. Ieder plekje geeft een ander uitzicht over het resort of over de Caribische zee. Gezellig om aan de bar te zitten, er wordt een overheerlijke cocktail voor je gemaakt. ’s Avonds heerlijk dineren onder de sterren met de warme temperatuur van Curaçao en je voeten in het zand, romantischer is nauwelijks voor te stellen. Het eten is werkelijk heerlijk. Ook als je weg bent geweest en komt terug door de poort van Baoase, komt er een deken van rust over je heen. De vriendelijke en behulpzame mensen van Baoase maken het resort helemaal af en laten je het beleven. Het is echt uniek.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Oliver Zahn, Hotel Management
Beste René, Hartelijk dank voor uw 5 sterren review! Excusses voor de vertraagde reactie maar wij hopen dat u nog steeds terug denkt aan uw verblijf bij ons. Wij hopen u spoedig weer te mogen verwelkomen. With kind regards from the entire team, Oliver Zahn General Manager - Baoase Luxury Resort Traveller’s choice award 2016 & Certificate of Excellence 2016