Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend Getaway

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Very clean, modern, spacious, airy, tons of windows, 2 balconies with table & chairs and sun lounges. Fully stocked kitchen with everything you need.
Cons: Though the hotel offers 2 shuttles daily into town, having a few more added to the schedule would be wonderful.
Location: A bit out of the way to walk to anything but the beach, getting to town requires transportation but once there, tons of shopping and restaurants.
Our room was upgraded at check-in and exceeded our expectations. At almost 900 sq.ft., it felt more like an apt. than a suite. Very clean, modern, spacious and big comfy bed. Extremely quiet and peaceful. Pool facilities were beautiful. Great little pool bar with friendly staff. Though the nearby town isn't really walking distance, we took a nice stroll along the ocean and reached the town in 30 minutes. Lots of shopping to do there with a large floating market. I would definitely return and recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yonkers, New York

Disappointed but grateful

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The restaurant service was amazing. The servers made me feel at home.
Cons: Follow up and maintenance of utilities
Location: The hotel location is walking distance from the beach. To experience the culture you would have to travel downtown.
My room was not ready upon arrival but staff were able to upgrade my room to a suite for the first night. Staff were not clear on check out time to transfer to my original room the following day. After calling a second time to follow up I was told my room was ready. I arrived at the hotel and was told that the room was not ready. Staff was extremely pleasant but can make improvements on follow up. Towards the end of my stay there were issues with my bathroom (clogging sink, flushing of toilet). On day of checkout I found a huge insect in my room (may be common due to tropical climate?).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Beautiful gardens and friendly helpful staff. The beach is a short walk and there are restaurants in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

stayed one night but everyhing was ok

Posted Jan 21, 2017
We only stayed for one night and did not get to see the beach or try their food but in general looked good, staff was very nice and helpful and the rooms seemed to have everything needed even for a longer stay. Need a car or taxies (expensive) to move around from there though!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venezuela

Hotel use to be a nice one, but now is terrible

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The vegetation and gardens.
Cons: Cleanliness, maintenance, room conditions, furniture which is run out, etc.
Location: Is not far away from Willemstad. We had a car, and the city was a 8 minutes drive maximum. Nearby are only other hotels, like the Hilton.
The Hotel has a nice overall design, space distribution is very good, but the lack of proper maintenance and unprofessional repairs make it a terrible choice. Do not be fooled by pictures shown on expedia, they do not correspond to actual conditions. Rooms have coraline floors which is a nice choice but on some other units cleaning issues have been solved painting the floors which for sure is not the solution. We had a total of two rooms. These were 36 and then 46. The first one was very good the major issue was a non working safe and an important water leak on the kitchen sink. We asked for changeover and moved to room 46. That one we supposed was in better condition but the result was exactly the opposite. This one has also a leak but on the bathroom sink and also the safe did not work. The cleaning was very disapointing everywhere. The kitchen was dirty, with very old grease on the microwave, the dishwasher and many other places. The bathroom was damp all the time. The roof over the shower had a lot of fungus formations as well as the wall tiles. The last night of our stay I saw a mice in the kitchen. It ate our fruits and bread. I showed the pictures to the front desk clerk and of course they were in shock. In general terms do not waste your money on this hotel. The actual owner does dot care about its installations. I also do not understand how EXPEDIA rates this as a VIP+ hotel. It seems that they have not checked the actual room conditions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Dirty

Posted Jan 8, 2017
We were in the hotel for 12 nights. FOOD was very good at the restaurant but super expensive. Room are very dirty. They need maintenance and general cleaning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Nice GLBT/Mixed crowd hotel with great pool & spa

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Pool area, pool bar (Alex, the bartender is awesome), walking distance to Willemstad (2.2 miles) close beach and restaurants.
Cons: Check in process was poor. General maintenance all around. Restaurant quality needs improvement.
Location: Walking distance to Willemstad (2.2 miles). 5 minute walk to the beach and a couple good restaurants. Convenience store 2 min walk.
This was our 2nd stay and we'll go back. It's usually a mix of about 50% gay and 50% straight couples both times we have stayed which we like. The rooms are large with full kitchen. 5 minute walk to private beach and good restaurants. The hotel restaurant is not that good, but there are close options that are much better and less expensive. Property needs some up-keeping, but we have found this at all Caribbean hotels, so even though it needs some up keeping, I still think it is better than many we have stay at in other Caribbean islands boasting 4-5 stars. We love the layout of the hotel and we always get a pool facing room. This hotel lends itself to a social environment and we always end up meeting new friends at the pool, bar, spa, etc. Happy hour is everyday from 5-6 and includes 2 free drinks per person. Spa is male only after 6:00 which is nice since it's a clothing optional spa environment. The check in process needs improvement. Room was not ready at 8:00 pm and staff forgot to set us up to charge to the room, etc. Once that was taken care of they made it up to us and sent a bottle of champagne to the room, which was a very nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

Great Adults-Only Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Great design style, nice quiet surroundings
We arrived there at night after a late flight, and the hotel lacked wayfaring signage. Bearing in mind that the compound is not an incredible expanse, wayfaring signage from the car park would've been beneficial for disoriented tourists like we were, but that is a minor quip. We had a loft room, and the facilities were good. Even though we asked, the front desk staff did not advise that food was available after-hours (which we later read in the brochure the next morning), but all in all, the stay was excellent and I'd definitely go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare hotel, avoid at all costs.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
After checking in, a staff member running the wok station took advantage of my unfamiliarity with the local currency and wouldn't give me change for my food purchase. I told him he owed me $8 but he said "no you're all set". I told the front desk and they lied, claiming the wok employee was waiting to get change. Also, most staff members were rude and unfriendly. The entire facility is very run down. The unheated pool had broken tiles all over and was very cold at night. The gym lacks equipment. There was only one weight bench which was broken. The hotel rooms look nothing like the pictures. Cold pealing dirty concrete floors, leaky prison style showers, cracked toilets which barely flushed. Hot water only lasts for a couple minutes. Stained towels and toilet paper smelled like urine. The extra linens smelled like feces. Very loud rooms, slow Internet. Kitchen lacked utensils/soap/sponges, dirty pots/pans. Front desk line always busy. We received drink tickets upon arrival and were told that they would provide us with two free drinks each at the Pirate Bay club. However, Pirate Bay wouldn't accept them. After asking three more Floris employees, everyone gave me different answers as to what the tickets were for. In the end we never used them. Floris is right near an oil refinery and there is a nauseating pollution odor outside. Also one morning they did mosquito fogging right outside our balcony as we were eating breakfast, coughed for hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good hotel with helpful staff.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Pool area, happy hour, 5 minutes away from private beach!!
Cons: Hotel security, room conditions
Location: 5 minutes walking from private beach, 5 minutes to local restaurants El Gaucho and Pirates Bay.
My overall experience at Floris Hotel Suite was very good. The hotel was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. If i had to nitpick I thought that it was weird that my king size bed was 2 twin size mattresses put together. My room's shower also did not have hot water, so I took really fast showers my entire stay. During my stay at Floris, my rental car was also stolen from the hotel parking lot. As a warning to other travelers, even though the hotel has parking security, they never check for parking permits or hotel keys! I know this is not the hotel's fault but it was till a really big nuisance. Front desk was really kind and helpful to us during this ordeal, so thank you! Besides the things that I mentioned above I would recommend Floris to a friend. Happy hour for free everyday (2 drinks per person) is awesome and room serivce was not expensive either.