Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated Hotel in a Beautiful Setting

Posted May 30, 2017
Location: Be sure to visit Boca Tabla Park for the sea caves. There is a blowhole about 15 minutes from the hotel. Spend an afternoon at Williamstead,
Avoid the all inclusive plan as the lunch and dinner are basically white rice and overcooked tasteless chicken. There is also a problem with birds eating from, and walking in, the serving spoons. There is a fair amount of bird poop on the central sculpture, which needs to be cleaned. We ended up eating elsewhere even though the all inclusive was already paid for. Thus you will need a rental car. The dining room staff never offered to bring us drinks, even though they were not doing anything else. We stayed in an ocean front room with a patio that was beautifully landscaped and had a fabulous view! Be sure to book a junior suite. There are lots of tiny ants in the bathroom but they did not bother us. The A/C worked well. The scuba diving is good, with good visibility. The dive operator - Go West- is excellent. I would stay here again, but would avoid avoid eating here. This is a problem because it is remote. Three stars out of five.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach but comes with a caveat

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The good news is that you are right on the beach, and the beach is beautiful. But the food at this hotel is god awful. Truly terrible. If you stay here, definitely rent a car so you have the freedom to eat somewhere else during your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Curacao

Our stay at Kura Hulanda Westpunt

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: We liked the food of the resort, the sandy beach downstairs, the quietness of the resort, nature and the staff is very helpful and always smiling.
Cons: The bed mattress should be improved (harder) and a new paint job to the outside of the suites to make it more beautiful.
We've had a very short vacation (3 nights) stay at Kura Hulanda Westpunt. It was super relaxing. We enjoyed it a lot. Especially the quietness of the resort. We stayed in the Junior Suite, Ocean View. Waw.....we enjoyed the sunset and took a lot of pictures. The suite is clean, spacious and beautiful. They kept the antique accessories which is the history of the resort. The view is super great. You have a balcony also. If you want to have a quite vacation away from the everything, then this is the place to be. If you love nature, then this is the place to be. The food is super delicious and with a great staff ready to help you with everything you need. I really recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Beautiful View of Beach

Posted Apr 5, 2017
I really enjoyed the view of the ocean from the hotel and being right on the water. It is far from the city but their is a complimentary shuttle to take you to town in the morning and returns in the afternoon. The staff is lovely and very friendly! I would recommend this hotel to a couple or family traveling.
5 out of 5
by Abigail

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Deirdre

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was wonderful. Very hospitable. Very far (40 minutes from main town) so if seclusion is what you want this place is it. You definitely need a car.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the "hype'

Posted Mar 14, 2017
no site map, drove past lobby because no sign, in the middle of nowhere, no food option outside of the hotel ($30usd per person buffet dinner or nothing); deadbolt did not work, mini fridge had type a plug but there was nothing but type C in the oom, use own converter to find out fridge did not work, safe (both of them) not functional, nothing to do other than swim in the pool/ocean and read (shuffle board would be nice)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
We enjoyed our one night stay at Kura Hulanda Lodge. It is quite a drive from the airport, but once you get there, it is so peaceful and you are right by the beach. My husband and I stayed in one of the rooms with a garden view and it was great! It was like living in a treehut, but with all the amenities. Staff were very pleasant. The restaurant is out in the open right near the ocean. You need to watch your food closely as the birds will swoop down and steal it, if you're not careful. All in all, a very nice place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

A beautiful location away from busy Wilemstad!

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Beaches and more beaches for snorkeling! Great nearby restaurants.
Cons: Screens on windows and patio door. Clean, working pool by bar. More help like Stella!
Location: Snorkeling. Restaurants: Trio Penotti, Landhuis Misje, Rancho Sobrino were all great experiences. Barber Minimarket. Go West Diving snorkel trip.
We really enjoyed our time spent here because of the great beach, nearby amenities, its quiet location away from Wilemstad, and our clean, nice suite. There were a few glitches though that you should be aware of before booking. The hotel is located at the far north end of the island. You'll want a car. Kalki Beach is beautiful and great for snorkeling – we saw a great variety of fish just snorkeling from shore. We snorkeled south of the resort where we saw even more fish. Many other nearby beaches that offers snorkeling from shore. Room 204 was very clean, with a kitchenette that served our food allergies well, and had a fantastic view of the sea from our patio where we ate our breakfasts. We loved the private outdoor shower. Stella at the front desk was extremely helpful! 45-min check in. Resort food – pretty bland, minimal variety for the two meals we at. Would NOT recommend all-inclusive unless you're only looking for calories and have no food allergies. Much better gastro-experiences nearby. Spoke with an Expedia rep, who told us they could handle food allergies, but they could not. The filter on the pool by the bar wasn’t working and the temporary system wasn’t sufficient to keep it clean. Pool towels often were not available. Our water heater went out two days before we left and not repaired. Fitness room was musty and equipment was old. The windows and patio door could use screens – we love fresh air, but not bugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Nice, quiet and pleasant. Room is a little outdated but everything works and is clean. So I would recommend to friends with one thing in mind that it's not modern.