Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice property that seems to be going in the dumps.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: The best part about the stay was the beach and dive shop however there are a lot of those on the island anyways. The beach was amazing. We had a party who reserved two junior suites and one three bedroom house. Everyone had issues with the cleanness and restrooms/bathrooms during their stay. One room the sink and tub did not drain well, the other did not have hot water, and all of them had a dirty restroom or mold smell. Come to find out they have a poor septic system. Not only did we have restroom issues but the house keeping didn't fall very short qhen ot came to cleaning the basics. Sheets were not changed, hand towels were not provided or smelled, floors were not swept, tub/sinks were not cleaned from the water that didn't drain, during house keeping the doors were left open so lots of bugs got in the roomorning and we're ready to bit. I would not recommend the resort but would recommend the beach and dive shop
Cons: The service and resort was not as great of a vacation experience that was intended
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a resort...Not the best beach either

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: you need to drive to the nearest beaches...which the best ones are at least a 20 min drive but they are beautiful. you need to bring your own cooler
I never write reviews, but thank goodness I had a car because this "hotel" is really just a condo complex. The staff does their best. Check in and then be at your own device. No map, nobody telling you whats to do. just heres a key to your door that by the way wont lock. if you want cleaning service you have to ask. just dont go here if you were looking for a hotel. if you want a spot on this side of the island to dive and snorkle...great. Get all your toiletries ready because they have none. sunblock is $25. Go to a supermarket and get your stuff cause youll be driving 30 mins to get anything you might need. Think camping. Theres nothing here. nothing to eat, or drink, in the vicinity. If you eat at the restaurant dont be surprised to get FROZEN food. Like, literally frozen fish. there are a few spots to eat nearby but they open at noon or 5. or not. If you want to eat breakfast here get ready to fight off birds and bugs. youll get a towel and be told there is a $25 fee if you dont return it but you can get one every day in exchange. guess what. 4 days there I got 1 towel replaced. there never was any new towels for me so I held onto mine like it was the damp treasure it of $25.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Beautiful resort in a secluded location

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The sprawling resort grounds overlooking the ocean - truly a marvelous setting.
Cons: Preventative maintenance.
Location: Beaches, snorkeling, and shore diving.
This resort is at the extreme northwest end of the island, somewhat isolated, separated, and distant from the bustle and activity on other parts of the island. The setting is beautiful but the place is in need of some serious maintenance attention. Resort staff members were always ready to solve the problems that arose with our unit; however, these problems would not exist if a planned preventative maintenance program were in place. The resort consists of multiple buildings spread out over a spacious oceanfront site. Many rooms, including ours, have an incredible view. A casual bar and restaurant overlook the ocean, and a beautiful beach is located at the bottom of the cliff (accessed via 30 or so steps down from the resort). Adjacent to the beach is a beach bar and dive center. Our favorite part of our experience at the resort was snorkeling right off the beach. Fantastic! There are numerous other beaches within a short drive along the leeward coast, all of which have fantastic snorkeling. Otherwise, the resort feels isolated and there are not many restaurants nor any markets (nor anything else) nearby. The drive to the main city on the island is about an hour and the "village" of Westpunt really has nothing other than houses. Though we enjoyed our week, we would probably elect to stay elsewhere (i.e., closer to the city) on our next trip to Curacao.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Beautiful hotel off the beaten path

Posted Mar 29, 2016
My husband, myself and 2 small kids stayed at the Kura Hulanda for 5 nights. The hotel was beautiful and so much nicer than we expected. We stayed in the ocean view terrace suite, which was amazing. My favorite part of the trip was havin breakfast w my family out on the terrace. We loved that the hotel was quiet and off the beaten path. The pool and beach were wonderful. We only ate at te hotel twice. The food was good, but very typical American and overpriced. I highly recommend Jaanchiees located very close to the hotel as well as Trio Penotti across the street from the Christoffel National Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Middletown, NJ

Relaxing stay in a small corner of Paradise

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Location. Setting. Room (beautiful suite, with veranda overlooking ocean). Nice beach, nice pool. Quiet. Good food, but limited menus. Pleasant staff.
Cons: Limited menus in the restaurant(s). Slow service at times. Some wait staff spoke neither English nor Spanish. Some items in serious need of repair.
Location: Remote location; need rental car if you want to explore, shop, etc. A dive shop is next door if you want to scuba or snorkel.
We stayed at the Kura Hulanda Lodge and Beach Club 4 days and 3 nights. It was a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing experience. The facility is beautifully located in a park-like setting, with great ocean views. The location on the very north-western tip of the island is quite isolated, which is either an advantage or disadvantage, depending on what you are looking for. We wanted peace and quiet and relaxation, so it was just right. If you want to explore, shop, visit museums, etc., you need a car and drive. We spent most of our days just relaxing on our veranda, swimming in the ocean (nice beach) or in the pool, watching birds and iguanas, eating, and relaxing some more. Perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Large rooms, good snorkeling and diving, nice pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Overprice reataurant, nasty staff.

Posted Mar 7, 2016
The only good thing about he hotel is the beautiful beach, but you can find a hotel near by for $50. The reataurant doesnt have variarity and very expensive, $35 for a not good at all steak and a little salad. On top of that the staff in the restaurant are nasty, i felt like i was begging for free food. The spa, well its not a spa because it doesnt exist. They advertize it but the is not a spa. Last there was a small cockroach in the bathroom. Bellow is the picture of the very expencive restaurant, And thats the only option. There is nothing close to go eat outside the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA USA

Great views, needs updating

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: The beach area
Cons: Updating of facility.
Location: Remote, but so beautiful.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The scenery was beautiful and the location was remote, which we love. The staff was very professional. However, I feel they need to update their furniture and repaint the doors and hallways of their entire facility. While it was very clean, the lack of fresh paint gives the appearance that it is not clean, even though it is very clean. Overall, I enjoyed my time at the hotel. The grounds are very nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Staff could have been more pleasant and accommodating though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful getaway!

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: The resort grounds, friendly staff, incredible view, beautiful beach.
Cons: I would consider outfitting the kitchenette a little better, perhaps include a couple of pots and pans.
Location: Gorgeous location. Dive shop is great. Try Sol Food for dinner. Shete Boka is not to be missed.
I was not sure what to expect with the reviews on line, but I thought Kura Hulanda was just wonderful. The resort is a good 40 minutes outside of town, VERY quiet and relaxing. The staff was kind and helpful; the resort is beautiful. Our room was clean, well provisioned, with an incredible view. The food was very good. There are several restaurants within close proximity of the resort if you want to leave for dinner, but not drive to Willemstad. The dive shop on site is first rate. If you reserve a massage at the resort, be sure to ask for Ruth. We had one of the best tropical vacations we have ever had in no small part to how terrific the resort was. We were looking for a really nice "base camp" -- a place to relax and recharge after long days of adventuring on Curacao (diving, snorkeling, hiking, exploring), and Kura Hulanda more than delivered.