Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario,Canada

Good beach hotel with snorkeling

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Nice combination of hotel/location/facilities
Cons: Grouting of floor tiles in bathroom needed deep cleaning. On site choice of breakfast limited to somewhat pricey buffet - nearby options limited
Location: On the beach and close to a shops/restaurants complex directly on the beach (Mambo). Very close to Aquarium and Dive Boat / excursions.
Spent one week beginning of March 2017. Well pleased with facility and location. Lovely calm sandy beach. Spent a lot of time swimming / snorkeling (good). Some music noise on weekends. About 15 min car drive into Willemstad, an interesting centre. Dutch and local language much in evidence. Currency is Dutch guilders or US dollars. This resort had 240V electricity with European style 2 pin sockets. Found staff friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, We thank you for your kind review. The Lions Dive team is glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us and could spent a lot of time swimming/snorkeling in our beautiful sea. We want to inform you that we already started working on the deep cleaning of the grouting , all observations are valuable to us. Your comments of the breakfast is passed over to our F&B partners. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Sunny Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Canada

Above Expectations!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Loved the location and all that was available within walking - or swimming! - distance.
First visit to Curacao and, after researching we booked at the Marriott. Then that hotel closed for renovations. We thought Lion's Dive might be too busy and possibly noisy. We were wrong about that! We had a car for four days but didn't need it. More restaurants on-site and nearby than we could possibly visit in a week. And the snorkelling right off the beach, particularly outside the rocks, was the best of the places we visited. Our room was convenient to the beach and there were always lots of lounge chairs available. The whole experience was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Bob & Ana, Thank you for sharing your Lions Dive Experience with others. We are excited to read that your stay with us was above expectation and happy that you enjoyed all our facilities. We will pass on your praises to the whole team as further motivation to keep on going above and beyond expectations of our guests. If your planning your next visit to Curacao , we would be honored you choose us again. Sunny Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Lots of amenities

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Long stretch of beach and shops near by. Most of the hotel needs to be updated. Staff do not explain anything to you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Andy Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Lions Dive & Beach Resort. We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please note that yearly we plan ongoing renovation to maintain our hotel updated. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience. We hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify your impressions of the hotel in the future. Sunny Regards
4 out of 5
by Cameron

Great beach, bad service.

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
The beach and location is great. Property is very nice and we'll kept. Our Room did not have a view, as was expected from our reservation. Food at the restaurant was great, but drinks are overpriced and service was poor. We were charged for everything, even the "free" coffee in our room had a fee, which will unfortunately be the thing that stands out from our stay. Disappointing, really. Staff very unhelpful and clearly not trained in hospitality or customer experience. Overall it is a nice property and we enjoyed our trip, but the poor service and rude staff have left us feeling underwhelmed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear C Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. Please accept our sincere apologies that our team did not provide or reach fundamental service during your stay. The concerned department has been briefed to take necessary actions to ensure excellent guest services. We do our utmost to meet our guests expectations, in the case of your reservation we had no other rooms available with ocean or ocean front view otherwise we could give you this option. We provide our guests complimentary coffee cup per person on a daily basis on the room. If the guest would like extra coffee cups it is possible to purchase these at the Front desk We hope to welcome you again in our resort! Sunny regards Management & staff Lions Dive & Beach Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Fantastic locaton and beach.

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Online
Cons: Chase away smokers :))
Location: Nice beach, snorkeling, nearby hiking trails, 50 meters pool, small shopping and restaurants.
We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. what not to like! Our room was very comfortable with a nice balcony and ocean view. Coffee in the rooms was very good. Sipping coffee every morning looking at the ocean - priceless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Management & Staff Lions Dive & Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Dear Nina, thank you very much for taking time for leaving this nice review! How nice to read you enjoyed our location and your stay in our resort. We hope to welcome you again in our resort. Sunny regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Excellent diving and beach resort

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Good service, including shuttles to grocery store and downtown Willemstad, dive shop and car rental on site.
Cons: Some of the rooms could be upgraded, but the newer ones look good already.
Location: Great location, just out of town, right on the beach, next door to the Sea Aquarium, and easy access to divingor snorkeling.
We had a great week on the beach, the location is perfect, the dive shop first rate, and the service excellent. The four restaurants offered good variety, and there are many more choices along Mambo Beach next door. The weather (second week of January) was only short of perfection by a few brief passing showers. We had an older room, there are a lot of newer ones, but ours was fine. Most of the views are good, higher floors probably better. The beach was great, and the diving was terrific.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from halifax ns canada

Good dive operation - adequate restaurant food

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Large facility with many ocean encounter experiences for all levels . Had a great time but needed a car to find good restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Management & Staff Lions Dive & Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Dear Avid Diver, Thank you for taking time to leave this review. Good to read you enjoyed your stay at our resort and at the dive operation. Your remark about the restaurants will be communicated with the restaurant management. We hope to welcome you again in our resort. Sunny regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and fun place to stay-

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Great restaurant with entertainment right on beach- walking distance to shops and nightlife
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Management & Staff Lions Dive & Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving this review and hope to welcome you again! Sunny Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good resort for divers

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Overall I was happy with Lion's Dive however, I would not consider it a 4 star resort like I thought I was booking. The rooms were lacking a bit. My room had incredibly poor lighting and no luggage rack. Also I had a king sized bet yet the covers were two separate twin size covers. Was constantly having to readjust my sheets in the middle of the night. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. I was particularly fond of the bar manager at Hemingway's. Unfortunately I did not get his name but he was awesome! One of the best bartenders I've ever met. I liked that they had a dive shop on the resort, they were also great. Would I book again? Maybe, but I would need to see if I can get a better room before doing so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Management & staff, Hotel Management
Dear Cheryl, Thank you for writing this review. Good to read you enjoyed the facilities on our resort. Unfortunately the room did not meet with your expectations, we would like to mention that complaints about your room can be reported 24 hours a day at our front desk. They will do their utmost to solve the complaints. The compliment for the bartenders will be communicated with the restaurant management. We hope you will consider staying at our resort again. Sunny regards, Management & staff Lions Dive & Beach Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Grear Hotel for all ages. Lots of things to do in and around the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Management & staff, Hotel Management
Dear Andres, Thank you for writing this review. Nice to read you had a great time in our resort. We hope to welcome you again next time you visit Curacao. Sunny regards, Management & staff Lions Dive & Beach Resort