Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oo

Close to nice restaurants and close to the center

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Nice location near by lots of restaurants and bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Pao, Many thanks for this great review and wonderful rating. It is nice to read that you liked the location of our hotel, we do too;) We hope you had a great vacation and would be happy to welcome you back in the future! Kindest regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not a fan

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I don't appreciate hotels where there are no outlets in the bathrooms to dry my hair, and the bathrooms and showers are the size of an elevator. Very outdated hotel, we had to change rooms 3 times ..... Literally. The Windows don't even have glass on them, just blinds over them & the air conditioner leaked. Tv stopped working on day 3, everything was falling apart. Pitch dark with no light. Location is great but I would never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Tanya, Thank you for taking time to write this review and to provide us with feedback. We are really sad to see that you've rated us with a '1', due to the fact that this wasn't what we expected. Whilst you were with us, you both reacted a lot more positive, therefore we do not really understand the intention of this review. Moreover, we thought you would be happy with the room change, since you've requested it yourself, due to the fact that you didn't want to be close to restaurant Ginger. However, each point of feedback provided by guests is helpful for us, in this way we can keep improving our services, therefore we would like to thank you again. We definitely enjoyed having you in our hotel and hope you've had a wonderful birthday on our beautiful island. With sunny regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Almost...

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The hotel is located in the right part of the Capitol; a few blocks of Punda and in a newly revitalized part of Willemstad that's become hip & trendy. The staff was friendly & accommodating. The rooms are large, each with a private entrance. Our suite was tastefully decorated: A four-poster bed with mosquito netting, a large wardrobe, a sitting area with couch & a breakfast area which included the basics to have breakfast each day in the room. Then the problems started to appear. On 2 days during our stay it rained and the ceiling leaked. The floor was wet, some of the walls were wet, and even the couch was wet. The roof is not properly waterproofed. We asked management to look at the leaks and it was implied that it wasn't a big a deal. Sorry but I don't pay for a hotel room expecting the roof to leak. On one morning, there were no beach towels available. "Sorry, we send them out and they have not been returned yet". Curacao is a beach destination. No beach towels Who's in charge of that? Especially when they tell you not to use the bathroom towels and to come to the front desk for beach towels. Then, you have a coffee maker. You get 2 pods free. If you want more, you have to buy them at the hotel store. No problem! "Sorry. Out of coffee. Come back after 2". How does a hotel run out of coffee? Theres a lot of potential here but the little things matter. And a leaky ceiling is a big no. Close, but no cigar here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Mitch, Thank you for taking time to write this review and to provide us with feedback. We are really sad to read that you didn't like our hotel as much as we expected. We can absolutely imagine that you don't pay for a hotel room with a leaking roof, this was something that we didn't expect to happen either after the rainfall but unfortunately it did, we would like to apologize deeply for this. Furthermore, about the towel situation we would like to explain again what happened: our linen delivery had problems delivering that morning, due to a power problem. This should of course not be your problem, we therefore discussed this matter with the company and can assure that it will not happen again. Last but not least, the coffee issue. It is strange for us to read that the kiosk was out of coffee cups. Just to clarify: this kiosk does not belong to the hotel, it is an external party. The two pods in the room are complementary, and the kiosk decided to sell them, to ensure that everyone can buy their coffee quickly and nearby the hotel. I really enjoyed having you two in our hotel, Mitch, and truly hope I can welcome you back any time soon in the future, to show you that we absolutely deserve this cigar, and to make sure that you have a lovely stay:) Sunny regards, On behalf of the Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, Kim Bruin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, United States of America

Decent hotel - apartment style

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Staff were young, friendly and efficient. Mood is laid back. Hotel is in a great position with decent bars and restaurants near by.
Cons: Lighting in hallway is inadequate.
Decent hotel - apartment style. Stayed in main building - old part. Not a fan of the open style bathroom and toilet in the room but that was my error on booking. Renovation is clever and sensitive but trade off is poor sound insulation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for taking time to write this review and for your great rating! Indeed, the lighting in the hallway didn't work properly while you were staying at us, fortunately we were able to fix it! It is great to read that you liked our location and the overall ambiance. It was really nice having you and we hope we can welcome you back any time soon:) Sunny regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Genuine Island Hospitality

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Room was clean and tastefully decorated. Mine was a loft style, with kitchen area, seating and table downstairs and spacious bedroom upstairs. Staff as friendly beyond words. Pool is small but was crystal clear clean. Dollar for dollar the best place to stay in the historic Pietermaai district. Easy walking distance to the best restaurants in Willemstad!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Benjamin, Many thanks for taking time to write this wonderful review and to provide us with such a nice rating! It is a pleasure to read that you not only enjoyed our hotel, but also our services and the restaurants nearby. It was great having you and we hope we can welcome you back any time soon! Sunny regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay and loved the homey feeling in my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to rate your stay with us! It's great to read that you've enjoyed your stay! When can we welcome you back? :) Sunny regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Peaceful experience

Posted Nov 3, 2016
So...... it was my first time in Curaçao and I wanted to find someplace peaceful while I can enjoy celebrating my birthday and this place definitely proved to be that and then some. The staff is extremely friendly, the location is ideal because it's pretty much walking distance from majority of pionts of interest and even if you wanted to go to the beach it's walking distance from the bus stop or you can arrange for taxi service. If you're into doing the tour thing the hotel can accommodate with a plethora of different types of tours to experience. On my second trip to Curaçao I definitely would stay here again and recommend you do so too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Esther, Wow, thank you for this very kind review and a 5 out of 5 rating! We feel honored that you chose our hotel to celebrate your birthday in. It makes us happy to read that you've had such a great time on Curacao and we hope we can welcome you back any time soon, it was a pleasure having you! Sunny regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Great funky place

Posted Oct 25, 2016
I booked this after I found out that the hotel I had originally chosen did not have a restaurant. I checked in after hours and the manager was really great, pointing out interesting things in the area and provided a discount coupon for a close by restaurant. In all a great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Adam, Thank you for this kind review! Such a high score makes us very proud. We enjoyed reading that you had a great stay and hope to see you back in our hotel soon:) Warmest regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Cozy Vacay Spot

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
We were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff and our room was well prepared for our arrival. We received lots of information about things to do in the area. The room is nice and cozy, with a little kitchen area, a back door that opens right into the pool area, and beautiful panel windows. Upstairs we had the bedroom and the bathroom area, it was beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for this wonderful review, 5 stars out of 5, we consider this as a big compliment! It is great to read that you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel:) Hopefully we can welcome you back in our hotel anytime soon. Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
5 out of 5
by P.A. from Soest

OK!

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great, remarkable and pleasant
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear P.A van Soest, Thank you for this kind review, we enjoyed accomodating you in our hotel and would love to welcome you back in our hotel soon! Kind regards, Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel