Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Lovely hotel with a view of the Ocean

Posted Feb 4, 2017
I loved this hotel.....if i ever return to Curacao I shall be staying there. I won't be looking anywhere else. The staff were all lovely in their casual attire which i found pretty cool. I can't remember all their names... but i met a few Amber, Edwin, Stephanie and Atina in the Front Desk area, they were all very kind and super accommodating. I stayed in the Savounet Suite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Scuba Lodge Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass on your compliments to our staff, especially Amber, Edwin, Stephanie and Atina. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SE, PA

Great place to stay.

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: The price was affordable. I feel like I received a fabulous value for the money spent.
Cons: Access to a computer.
Location: It's a 15 or so minute walk from Punda.
Spent a week at the Scuba Lodge and was very happy with the location, staff, restaurant, and my room. I didn't have an ocean view room but, it wasn't necessary. My room was beautiful and the bathroom was impressive - it felt like a spa type room. My son and I had several of our meals at the restaurant on the beach. There are two swimming pools including a lovely infinity pool over looking the sea. I would recommend the Scuba Lodge to anyone planning a trip to Willemstad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Scuba Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Lizett, Thank you for your kind words, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you and your son have shared some nice meals in our restaurant. Thank you for recommending Scuba Lodge, and of course, we hope to welcome you back one day in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Awesome ocean views, great location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Our room was spacious with 2 bedrooms and a large patio overlooking the Caribbean. We spent much time on the patio listening to the waves and watching ships/boats. There were several great restaurants within walking distance, and the downtown area is about a 15 minute walk away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Scuba Lodge Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words! We are glad to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us and that you had a good time enjoying the sounds of the waves and the ocean views from our patio. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Noisy and bad services

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location, not far from most places
Cons: Services Noise Room
Location: there is a nice french restaurant near by. the beaches are far away from the hotel, you need to take a cab or rent a car.
Worst experience ever in a hotel First time in an expensive hotel with so much noise. i had one of the best room according to the staff Room number 4, all day long they had work on this hotel. Before you go there please ask them if they have any repair work going on. you go to Curacao to relax and here it is,you end up with noise all day !!!!!! Also everything at the bar was so expensive like they don't want customers. Also the shower didn't work, i didn't have a chair in my room, the AC was either too hot or too cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Not exactly as advertised

Posted Feb 21, 2016
This hotel is not a full service scuba diving Lodge as advertised. There are no boats, the staff is minimal for this type of resort. My wife and I were packed in a van that was in need of repair (broken back hatch, kept shut by a piece of pipe a d a screw driver) driven to a public beach, we donned our dive gear in the parking lot and walked 100 yards to the water. Once the dive was over, we talked back to the parking lot, prepped our gear, while dodging traffic in the parking lot. We were shore diving in heavy surf, so by the time we walked 400 yards in full gear, through large crowds of beach goers, we were all (about 9 people to a single guide) exhausted. I had emailed the resort asking about a two tank boat dive prior to my arrival, and these dives were described as two tank dives, no mention of a boat or shore diving only. (The staff at the hotel reviewed my emails and admitted that they never answered my question) I ended up booking with another dive operator for the week, which was not at all what I wanted for this trip. To be fair, the room was very clean but very basic. The staff was super friendly, but way over worked and they were few. The restrant was very good but the service was sub par. The waiter staff were obviously trained to pay more attention to outside guests than hotel guests. There is no room service, so you must go down to the restrant, or go out. All in all I was disappointed with Scuba Lodge, and would not go back, however the staff was super.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Scuba centric but appealing to all.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: The staff is multilingual and friendly. The camaraderie between dive professionals, wait staff, housekeeping and concierge is great!
Cons: Wi-fi access was inconsistent. Adjacent construction projects make it difficult to walk at night - local drivers are not careful!
Location: Ideal for moderate walkers. Excellent restaurants - Kome, Ginger, Rozendael, Fishalicious. Pietermaai downtown, museums, floating markets are nearby.
We came to Scuba Lodge focused on diving and getting certified. The dive masters (Bob, Adriaan, Daan and Jordy)did not disappoint. They were all knowledgeable, thorough teachers - Jordy, in particular, was infinitely patient with a novice trainee. There are a multitude of sites with easy beach access, diverse corals, sponges, turtles, stingrays, eels and fish within 20 to 50 feet of the surface. Dive options were available on a rotating basis - single and double tank dives, all day excursions, night dives and even lionfish hunting dives (eliminating an invasive species). We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent dining available within a short walking distance. The concierge staff were more than willing to make reservations tailored to our desires. Fresh seafood was the highlight of all menus, but excellent wine and dessert options made many meals outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Terrific place to stay and get SCUBA certified!

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Clean, comfortable with character! Nice grounds, great staff, especially dive team - close to town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel great staff

Posted Nov 27, 2015
fun vacation... hotel was excellent and the staff was amazing...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Absolutely perfect scuba vacation spot

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Everything: food, location, comfort, beautiful dives.
Location: RIGHT on the water and within 15 minutes walk from downtown.
The hotel is beautiful, situated very close to town and right on the water. The rooms are absolutely perfect - beautiful, comfortable and well appointed. The restaurant and bar - inside and outside - are fantastic with great, great food. The dives I took were in spectacular places, lead by great people. All of the folks working at the hotel are great people who I very much enjoyed talking with. Clearly, this is a place that prides itself in costumer service. They hire bright, friendly people. I can't say enough good things about this place and the people working there. I'll be back for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel by the sea (short walk to beach)

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Nice and small hotel with personality! Helpful staff, just a little slow service at the restaurant. A short walk from the hotel to the city and to a private beach at one of the bigger hotels. Overall very good experience!