Ratings based on 475 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from world nomad

2 star hotel in a 5 star location

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Probably THE place to be many years ago, but now it is run down. Huge dinning room only open for breakfast. The pigeons are bold and hassle you while you eat! Should probably be bought out and refurbished.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Very run down was so disappointed

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Such a shame hotel in such a nice location and in such a terrible condition. Needs a complete make over.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Old hotel restaurant was closed only limited bfast

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Great location and views. That's all its,got going. Needs complete renovation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Delapidated hotel near downtown

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: the staff, the lobby
Cons: everything
Location: Very good location, yet I felt myself wishing i had booked the renaissance aross the harbour
This old hotel has a beautiful foyer/lobby but has seen better days. There was a lot of things in disrepair, i,e. the pool, the gym, the TVs... The staff was nice, but this hotel is not a 3 star... it's a one star at best
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Great location but.....

Posted Nov 11, 2016
The hotel is situated in the heart of Willamstad. The hotel itself is not so good. It is old and tired. The corridors are dirty and in poor state of repairs. The room was very basic and in dire need of renovation. Definitely not deserving of its star rating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aruba

This hotel should just close.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: Everything!
Location: Near downtown shops and cafes.
The only thing nice about this hotel is its location, the rest is very disappointing and not worth the price at all. The building is not well maintained, unappealing, grim and has a moldy smell and sense. Very old fashioned services and facilities that are very outdated and not properly running, like shops in the hotel, the restaurant and pool area. No wi-fi in the bedrooms, only in the lobby. The staff made an effort to provide friendly service, but the overall feeling is one of an abandoned building, stuck in time decades ago. If the payment was refundable I would have been out of there the second I arrived. I don't think Expedia should keep this hotel on its list.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Hotel Abandoned?

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: the location is unbeatable right in downtown Willemstad, and the hotel is built right on top of the old southern wall ramparts. Great room view
Cons: Everything
Location: It's right next to the famous floating bridge and near the waterfront , cafes and great restarurants
Great location and impressive facilities... however, hotel looks abandoned. Cold water in shower did not work, I had to get scalding water only. TV is small and old CRT type... I was given 2 consecutive in-room coffee makers, neither of which worked. No working restaurant, lobby bar or any of the usual facilities. I am aware the hotel is undergoing a change of ownership and it was the low season. However, I felt at times like I was the only guest in an abandoned hotel. Room was clean though, and the staff was very friendly. I hope the new management brings the whole thing back to life... this used to be a beautiful to place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is from waaaay back

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Broken doors, broken phone, burned iron and the rooms stinks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

Disappointing Hotel, Good Location

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: The rooms were clean and had daily housekeeping
Cons: Everything could be improved from the hotel staff to the building itself, it's very dated.
Location: It has a great location and is within walking distance to a lot of downtown Punda attractions
I had booked this hotel as an all inclusive which they DID NOT honor once we arrived. The hotel is an bad condition needs serious renovations but is clean and comfortable. The plus side of this hotel is the location, it's right in the heart of the city and is a close walk to everything. The hotel staff were rather rude at times and weren't helpful in trying to figure out the situation with the confusion of all inclusive. They advertise a restaurant and pool area but I never once over my 7 day stay did I see anyone in the restaurant and the pool is very small and under constant renovation. Wouldn't stay here and wouldn't recommend this place. If you can afford it upgrade to a better hotel.
3 out of 5
by Ken

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
A bit run down but was great value for money, Hotel was right in middle of city and good access to shopping and cafes. Will stay again at this hotel.