Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C. Canada

Economy, good value.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Very good restaurant and service. Quiet. Good grounds. Local fisherman activity unique. Room amenities are sparse but staff will provide on request.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashford, UK

Nice, comfortable Hotel, great location

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Location, Pool, proximity to beach, Staff, Food good. Overall good value for money
Cons: Soundproofing of rooms i.e. Bedroom doors, I suggest installing Acoustic seals on door. They are not expensive. Greater variety on breakfast menu
This is 4th time stayed here & is by far the best Hotel is the general area. Staff as usual were fantastic, all so very friendly & helpful. Room was clean, quite spacious, bed quite comfortable maybe a little hard, if you want coffee making facilities ask at reception & they will provide. Biggest drawback is the noisy corridors outside the rooms. Echoes & noise travels whole way along. Particularly bad if there happens to be a wedding party getting ready, everyone coming & going, slamming doors etc & kids are running up & down corridor all day playing & shouting. Not good if you want an afternoon nap! Note to Hotel Management - Keep all the guests attending or preparing for function in GF rooms & other guests who want a quiet relaxing vacation, in 1F rooms. Be careful not to deter your core Client base from returning! Food is good, well cooked & generous portions. Try the Mongolian rice! Relax in the pool & watch the local fisherman returning with their catch, go buy fresh fish from them & ask the Hotel kitchen to cook for you for a small charge, excellant! Pool & Beach are great. Views by day & night are fantastic. This Hotel is not perfect & is probably somewhere between 3 & 4 stars, but we love it for all its good points.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Christmas on the north 2016!

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
wi-fi is only limited in specific area, need to add or improve their broadband so it will have connections in the room. pool is not infitely flowing and seems not clean being cleaned regularly, need to improve more on this. parking is nice lot of space. there's also near 7-11 store. i love the place very relaxing and peaceful. the beach is just so so...
3 out of 5
by Romelda

Stay at the Playa Tropical

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
The resort needs renovation. No WiFi Services in rooms. The WiFi in lobby area was poor. Room amenities was poor.. no face & hand towel. We had to request bath floor mat everyday if our stay. Toiletries were limited. Playa Tropical could be a very nice resort with renovations & upkeep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The lovely garden landscape close to the beach, and the peace and quiet.
Location: Along the main road we didn't really expect what we'll find once we reach the hotel- it was quite delightful!
I love the overall design and the landscape of this hotel.We particularly enjoy our breakfast in the gazebos. We had a delightful time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila

Nice Hotel close to the beach.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The resort is beautiful. The aircon in our room is not functioning well. Its really hot in the room. The foods is good specially the Nachos but the service is not good. We waited almost one hour for the food to arrive. :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Nice Hotel in Ilocos

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Nice place for a totally quiet and peaceful getaway...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

2-star at best

Posted Apr 25, 2016
The ONLY good thing about this hotel is the staff, all were friendly and courteous. The food is ok. Lets start with the room - its certainly outdated, poor drainage in the sink, some tight spots were dusty, loose screws in several areas. The airconditioning was nice and strong. Pillows were hard as wood. The pool is nice overlooking the beach but there's this strong smell, maybe heavily chlorinated. The have a game room that needs regular inspection. The billiards(pool) balls was missing the no.8 ball (staff aware of this, i don't know for how long), the table tennis(ping pong) table was there but staff said they don't have a ball (only old rackets). So why do you have games that are not playable??? Breakfast was average. Beach is just a few steps away but is dirty and this hotel does not have a private beach front. There were several people camping directly in front of the hotel towards the beach (not hotel guests) so if you want privacy while in the beach then think again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California, USA

It was mispresented, pictures Ads not we stayed

Posted Feb 17, 2016
It was a disappointment once we got there, mis presentation, pictures on the ads was not the place given to us, we're given ordinary rooms that smells and have to wait for towels. Limited amount of towels (only bath towels) provided. There were extra charge if we transfer to the pictures on the ads (casa). We were told that we paid the ordinary rooms not for the one showing in the pictures. We ended up paying extra money just to upgrade and again, we have to wait for the towels (just bath towels provided) limited supply or else you pay extra. There was communication issue between Expedia and Playa Tropical and customer has to suffer and Playa Tropical was inconsiderate as a result. The view is okay but accommodation is very poor. Need improvement for false advertisement.