Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel with outstanding ocean views

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Ocean Views Big & Modern rooms Reception Staff Pool & Spa Free BBQ's
Cons: Fresh towels during the week (we did stay for a week) More paper towel \ toilet paper (very little provided)
Location: The local area had a real beach village vibe with local cafe's and shops. The highlights were the surf club and the beach itself.
My wife and I simply wanted to stay in a place that had a ocean view, a pool, was clean and wasn't to expensive. The Rocks hit the mark of each of these and we enjoyed our stay. In the week leading up to our arrival, I had emailed the resort and asked for a room on one of the higher levels that had 100% ocean views and the always smiling Jazmine in reception made sure that happened. The room was big, modern and clean and the views were simply outstanding. The resort also takes great pride in their pool and spa and both were exceptionally clean and inviting throughout the week. We also made use of the free BBQ's which are a great idea. Within a minutes walk from the resort, there were various coffee and breakfast options as well as the local surf life saving club which is located 'on the beach' and offers tasty food, cold beer and at 1970's prices. The beach itself across from the resort is patrolled in patches and ok for swimming but fantastic for surfing which I did each morning The resort itself is a 'little older' in some areas but honestly I wouldn't change a thing as these few factors only add to the charm of the place. For pure value for money, the Rocks Resort was outstanding and will be at the top of our list the next time my wife and I holiday on the Gold Coast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Jazmine, Hotel Management
Hi Tim! So glad that your experience at the Rocks Resort was positive and thank you for taking the time to write a review! The building itself is 30 + years old so we do take pride in our well looked after amenities and its so great to hear they didn't go un noticed! Room requests aren't always guaranteed but we try our hardest to keep our guests happy and find something suitable for there stay. It was a pleasure having you guys stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to Currumbin some time in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best location

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location right on the beach. Friendly staff. Our apartment was getting a bit tired but had been well cared for, was very spacious and the location priceless!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review, Currumbin beach is definitely one of the best locations on the Gold Coast and we are the only high rise accommodation on the beach front of Currumbin so we are so glad you enjoyed your experience at The Rocks Resort in a great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Close to beach, laid back surrounds that we wanted
Laid back 4 day getaway, wanted something close to the airport so we could catch a cab with all ameneties and NO over the top high rises in area, more the local scene
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Nice position opposite the beach

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: position
Cons: lots
Location: plenty
We stayed here for 3 days mainly because older relations of ours have stayed often, but we found it somewhat disappointing. The venue is past its prime and the 1970's fittings, the leaky washing machine, leaky toilet, light bulb that needed replacing and the basic high mileage double bed, were reminders that there is work to be done at The Rocks. There are better options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Receptionist , Hotel Management
Hi There, The Rocks Resort was built in the late 80's so it is over 30 years old and each apartment is owned and decorated individually to its own and are all completely different. We had offered to fix the toilet and washing machine as soon as you reported the problems and you refused to have them fixed until you had left, the bed in that apartment was just replaced 6 months ago. Its a shame you didn't enjoy all the beautiful things the Rocks Resort has to offer as it is the only beach front high rise accommodation on Currumbin Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankston

Restful place on the shore front

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Wotif
Room was ready on arrival. Well set out with all amenities. Beautiful view of the beach. Heated pool and spa. Tennis court and gym.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Jazzy , Hotel Management
Hi Shane, The Rocks Resort does have some great views! We are glad you had some time to check out our great facilities the resort has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good value and great views

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Location at a great beach and well removed from the glitz of the Surfers Paradise end the strip. Lovely views, clean and tidy, convenient parking.
Cons: Better internet site to clarify services. Double glazing to cut out some external noise. Free wi-fi that works all the time.
Whenever travelling, you have to expect the unexpected. We expected clean and comfortable accommodation with a great view and we got it. An absolutely pristine location looking out over the white sand beach towards the sunrise. Pools and spas are clean and well presented. But - The Rocks is not a Resort! One towel per guest per week? No servicing of rooms. No restaurants or other catering on site. Need a towel for the beach or pool?, then make sure you bring it from home or buy one from management for $25. Nothing that you can't cope with, but it would be better to know in advance. Our stay was in July so the lack of air-con was not a problem. The suite was noisy at times with constant sound of the surf and frequent flights overhead. Friday night seemed especially busy for flights and with a changed flight path which banked directly above us. We enjoyed our stay at The Rocks and would be happy to endorse it for others, but suggest that you approach the accommodation as "apartment style, self catering" rather than a full service resort. Happy holidays! IanB.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Jazzy, Hotel Management
Hi there, Currumbin beach is a beautiful location with great views! The Rocks Resort is a fully self-contained holiday resort that provides first night or one night usage supplies. Utilising the self-contained apartment, the expectation is for the guest the next day to shop, replenish supplies, stock the refrigerator and utilise the cooking and cleaning equipment fitted in the apartment. With an 8 night every apartment is entitled to fresh linen replacement and service. This message is noted for guests on arrival
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

nice position opposite beach great views

Posted May 24, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: views and amenities excellent. would recommend this resort
Cons: although staff were polite and courteous when asked if there were any other pillows they said they would look but there was no further feedback.
Location: as above
close to viking surf club, not far from Tugan shops and restaurants. buses handy or car hire, or courtesy buses from clubs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra ACT

Great location

Posted May 24, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Size of the apartment - location - good deal at the time - secured car space
Cons: We found that our apartment was missing a few kitchen items which made it hard to cook (pots and pans, no foil or glad wrap or scissors)
Location: So much to do besides beach and coffee all within short drives; Burleigh shops, Pacific Fair shops, multiple boutiques and coffee spots nearby etc!
We loved the location (visiting friends that also live on Pacific Parade) We found the room fantastic value for money (managed to get a great deal with 2x nights free) Found it handy with included car space - secured, and the apartment was huge with a breath taking view (level 9) Loved it - would recommend and stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

TERRIFIC LOCATION

Posted May 20, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Fabulous location on the beachfront and within walking distance of cafes, surf club and Currumbin Sanctuary.
Cons: Gymnasium is in need of makeover and décor is becoming dated.
Comfortable and spacious accommodation. Our room had a beautiful outlook of the ocean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Family friendly.
4 out of 5
by John

Happily recommended.

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay, the location is fantastic, the rooms were clean and spacious, fantastic wiews, walking distance to some local eareries including the Currumbin surf club, where just about any type of food and drinks are available. Our only real negative is the bed which was very hard, but apart from that all good.