Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Mike from Durban

A Relaxing Interlude

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely, if brief, stay in a relaxing, picturesque guest house. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Lovely bird watching and fishing. Hotel close to N3 so convenient for overnight stopover and close to amenities in Nottingham Road. Only fault was lack of hairdryer in room which would have been nice.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Johannesburg

Super family break in the Midlands

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Trevor is a super host. Friendly, helpful and offers suggestions and recommendations for the area. Great place to stay with children.
4 out of 5
by Mario from South Africa

Great Midlands Guesthouse

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Great guesthouse in the midlands, perfect for a weekend away. We stayed here for a wedding in the area and were really impressed by the excellent service. Thatchings is also quite close to the freeway, so also well suited to break your trip down to Durban.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Well, the website advertised $46/night and this is the rate i booked at. When i printed the confirmation, this rate appeared as well as language that the rate was 650 ZAR, which included a 325 ZAR deposit. However, the rate I was charged was 650 ZAR ($60) per night, which did not include a refundable deposit and was $16 more than the Hotels.com rate. The owner told me the guesthouse rate was 650 ZAR and that Hotels.com rate wrong. He was indifferent to honoring the hotels.com price as it wasn't his price. Owner also wanted to charge me penalty bc I was only one person, but he did not. Note, there was no mention of penalty for being single on the hotels.com summary of this guesthouse. I'm disappointed in the price discrepancy as I had to pay more than expected. I would have stayed somewhere else to where i was visiting if I'd known I'd be charged $60/night versus the advertised $46 as the point of choosing thatchings in the first place was due to the price. The place is about 4km down a dirt road so be cautious when driving muddy conditions. My car slid on the dirt road.
3 out of 5
by Jennifer from Honeydew Ridge, Johannesburg

Overpriced for what you get

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely Guest house, very tranquil and peaceful. The room is basic, with rather drab old fashioned furniture. No bar fridge, and no bottled water in the room. Also not the most comfortable bed. Overpriced for what you get
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Set in beautiful countryside.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Thatchings is a very comfortable hotel and has a great feeling of homeliness. We received a great welcome. The room was good and the food was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good place to stay

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice place with extremly nice host. good service and super dinner
5 out of 5
by batho from Springs

loved the family room and the staff

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
We made a last minute booking but fortunately we were catered for without any hastle and I would recommend anybody to go there
5 out of 5
by J & A from Durban

Great find

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely lodge not far from the N3. The room was modern, very comfortable and spotless. The grounds are beautiful and impeccably maintained. The fabulous owners were extremely accommodating and friendly and delightful to visit with.
4 out of 5
by Fernando from Mozambique

Guest House in the Midlands Meander

Posted Jan 5, 2013
Thatchings is a very pleasent guest house to stay during a visit to the Natal Midlands Meander. It is the 2nd time we go to this wonderful region with amazing landscapes, artisan and craft shops, a beer factory and many other nice things. A small paradise. PS Yes you can find zebras around the guest house.