Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Excellent hotel close to Downtown Cusco

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Excellent Location. Amazing, above and beyond staff/owners. Clean rooms. Hot Showers.
When my wife and I arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by Katherine and her husband who are the owners of the hotel. The check-in only took about 5 minutes. A few minutes after we arrived at our room, Coca leaf tea was delivered to us by the staff. The room was very clean with soft sheets and two pillows. (Note: Every room in the hotel has a private bathroom). The private bathroom had a shower with hot running water. Two bath towels were also supplied along with 2 small soaps. The TV was small but had ample show selection and even several channels in English. The hotel is about a 5 minute walking distance to the main town square where there are lots of restaurants, bars, and tourist areas one may want to visit, The hotel also offers tour options to nearby ruins and Machu Picchu at the front desk. Within minutes I had two tours lined up for the next several days. Prices vary and it depends on the amount of time one has in Cusco. The hotel also serves breakfast from 7AM to 9 AM on the third floor with a great view of Downtown Cusco. The breakfast is totally worth it. Finally the hotel also has a laundry service that's about 5 soles per kilo, that is prompt. We used the service prior to going back to Lima. I was here at the hotel for 5 days and I can honestly say that the stay was exceptional. I would definitely recommend Hostal Tu Hogar to my friends and family as the rooms were great and the service and kindness of the owners is goes above and beyond expectation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M. Florida

Close to plaza armas

Posted Jun 29, 2015
window in room was broken... Super cold. I was actually freezing, but employees were nice and able to help out which was a nice thing. Couldn't sleep at night cuz music in streets was super loud....not sure if it was a night club next door or upstairs but music was really loud it last til 5am
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to fault!

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels
This Hostal had a lot going for it! It had a great location, just 5 minutes walk from the main tourist center, friendly, helpful and bilingual staff that went the extra mile (they secured out luggage for a whole extra day and an afternoon for free.) As well as hot showers, wifi, breakfast (with an amazing view of the city outside) and a fully equipped room. Unfortunately our stay was tarnished a little by other guests who showed no respect for others by being loud until 1 - 2am. This isn't so much the fault of the hostel, but perhaps a stricter no noise policy could be enforced (we didn't approach the people ourselves due to the language barrier.) Overallthough, for the price, the quality of the accomodation and the excellent service I can highly recommend this Hostel.
4 out of 5
by Hughes Jones from Wales

Friendly staff

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay was comfortable and strees free,and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was quite good and the view form the dining room was excellent with a view over the City, Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels
Close to Plaza San Blas and lots of restaurants. Very quaint old building with lots of character. Only a standard continental breakfast and rooms are cramped.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go only if you can't afford a little more

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Price
Cons: Everything else
Location: Not close enough to center to be worth it
If you go you absolutely need to ask for a top room. Rooms in the first floor are bad, old, humid, cold and creapy! It's also a good walk from city center. Staff doesn't speak a word of English. To top it off they "forgot" to add 2 nights to our stay! Good news is we got to go to the beautiful Casa Andina.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you paid for!

Posted Jul 6, 2013 on Hotels
No hot water. Bathroom sink was in the shower area. Lots of noise. You can't close de small windows properly and it gets cold and you can hear people in the other rooms watching TV, talking, making love and waking up in the middle of the night every time the front desk's phone rings. Since you are able to hear everything at least you can try to help when someone is having trouble communicating in Spanish.
1 out of 5
by Armando Thomas from Cusco

Great Location, Disgusting Bathroom

Posted Mar 30, 2013 on Hotels
Not reccomended. You get what you pay for. You can do better for a little more. Very noisy! Toilet that backs up onto bathroom floor, would not switch our rooms. Locked in when receptionist is not available. No hot water, and a lumpy bed! Great location thou!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel for couples with not kids

Posted Dec 2, 2012
Pros: It was close to several restauratns
I stay with my wife. Normally you go to Cuzco to know the place and go to Machu Pichu....so you never are in the hotel. For price paid quality and service is ok. I recomend this hotel for couples and people who go alone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels