Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Fantastic home away

Posted Aug 27, 2017
We loved our stay. The staff spent time helping us figure out our trip, gave us a hot water bottle to warm up the bed, and the place was incredibly tidy and thought out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre Hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness of the rooms.
Cons: More options for the continental breakfast.
Location: 15 minute walk to the plaza. Gustitos de Loli for dinner and Norton Rat's Tavern for a beer overlooking the plaza.
The hotel itself is located in a decent area (5 minute cab ride/15 minute walk to the Plaza). To be honest, the rooms looked larger in the photos, and they were actually quite small, felt more like a private room in a hostel. The pillows were small (we asked for extra) and the bed was uncomfortable. Room is equipped with a space heater that did not work. Cusco also has MANY stray dogs, and in this area they barked all night long, so we did not get much sleep during our stay. Had I read that in previous reviews, I would not have stayed here. The water from the sink smelled terrible, I would recommend brushing your teeth and what not with bottled water. The continental breakfast was okay, but I think it could improve with adding more breakfast options, not much to choose from. Although the staff was pleasant and accommodating, I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Adam S. from Seattle

best little hotel in Cusco.

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
it's a bit far away from places to see, however given the cost per night and the cost per taxi Wich they can hook you up with and tell you typical costs, there is no better place. the staff was friendly, wifi albeit spotty was good enough, the water pressure at the 3rd floor was good, the breakfast is worth it. there are no elevators. but that's par for the course in a lot of smaller hotels. the staff let me stay a little later than average In my room and scheduled all my rides I needed in advance. top choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medellin

A different experience in Cusco

Posted May 11, 2017
You'll feel like you are a couple of stars above what you paid. Every room is different, so all I can do is review the one we were in, ours was Chan-Chan, you can search for pictures of it online. Yes, the bed is hanging from the ceiling, it was very comfortable, very quiet area, hot water in seconds, and everything was very clean. At first you'll think the room and the hotel itself are brand new, but looking closely, some minor details will tell you that they're not, but in great condition, they really make an effort to be squeaky clean. The only downside is the fact that is located 15 minutes from the main square, where all the tourists will want to look for restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. For us it wasn't a problem, but some people would want to be closer. Didn't stay long enough to try the breakfast, sadly, for sure it was excellent as the rest of the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Better than Mirador

Posted May 9, 2017
Should have booked here inbound. Rooms are smaller than Mirador, but functional. Will recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

Beautiful and Quiet Hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
This was not a walkable hotel. You would need to take a short cab ride to get to the Cuzco city center. However, that cab only costs 5 soles (less that 2 USD). My room was beautifully decorated, the water in the shower was warm, the surroundings were quiet, and the staff was friendly. Cuzco is a cold city and central heating is not common. Wifala included space heaters in the rooms. Mine did not work very well but I got an extra blanket from the front desk so I stayed nice and toasty. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Location: Nothing nearby, however, it is only 15 mins walk to the centre of town. A taxis to the town centre is less than $3 US.
Extremely nice and helpful staff, especially at organizing excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Small Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Each room should be equipped with a telephone that can be used to dial numbers outside of the hotel.
I just stayed at this place before and after I did the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu 3 days ago. Wifala Hotel is a small hotel located just about a mile from the town square. The hotel is very clean. At first, its location appears unsafe to walk to the nearest restaurant during night time. But so is practically everywhere except in the vicinity of the town square where there is so much presence of the police. At any rate, a taxi ride to the plaza only costs 5 Soles. Harold, Carmen and Gina who take turn manning the front desk are also hands down super nice. They are so helpful and so enthusiastic to recommend where to eat, give tips on the price range one should pay for things sold at the plaza or how much one should pay for cab rides. And they really make their guests feel at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Nice place to stay. Not luxury but really pleacent. I could be better if they offer some options like rooms service or something like that, but it was a good choice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Nice hotel in Cusco

Posted Aug 18, 2016
It's a great hotel, everything was clean, the showers were good, and the breakfast was very good. It's a little walk out of the city center, but as long as that doesn't bother you it's a great option.