Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Location, location, location

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: This hotel definitely earns its reputation based on location; being able to enter Machu Picchu before the crowds arrive made it worth the cost.
Room was small but comfortable, and well appointed. Staff were kind and helpful, as is the norm in Peru. The hotel is not as luxurious and way more expensive than others we stayed at in Peru. You are paying the premium to get access to Machu Picchu before the crowds arrive. Tip: enter the ruins as they open at 6 am, and enjoy for a couple of hours, you can exit and eat breakfast and then return later.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Marc Yeterian, Hotel Management
Dear Sally, I thank you for choosing our Lodge as a destination to organize your visit of Machu Picchu. We are pleased to know that you appreciated our location and facilities, and that you fully enjoyed your visit to the magical citadel giving us the opportunity to provide you a fabulous experience. We hope to welcome you in the near future. Sincerely, Marc Yeterian, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific Beach, United States of America

Stay here if you can afford it

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: It's proximity to Machu Picchu - less than a minute walk - just about make up for everything. The service was excellent.
Cons: The room was only a little better than average. This is understandable, but disappointing. The bathroom is small, as is the bedroom.
Location: Everyone who stays here is here to see Machu Picchu.
The room is small (but you have no more than a carry-on suitcase with you). The room does have a terrace, which can be pleasant. The service from the staff was excellent (thanks, Aaron!). The food is just a little above average, nothing special, although quite expensive. Again, though, great service. The entire hotel (not that big) and the entire reason to stay here is for its one minute proximity to Machu Picchu.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Marc Yeterian, Hotel Management
Dear Charles, I felt deeply pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed our facilities and privilege location. I would like to extend our most sincere gratitude for your encouraging words (specially Aaron), it is very satisfying to know my staff was able to provide the service you deserve. Sincerely, Marc Yeterian, General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, CA

Exceptional servic at entrance to Machu Picchu

Posted Feb 20, 2016
This hotel is literally steps away from the entrance of Machu Picchu, which means you can easily catch both sunrise and sunset at the site, as well as leave and re-enter. The staff is truly exceptional. Rodolfo and Erving were incredibly helpful, considerate and accommodating. Dinner menu and service very impressive, but the lunch buffet is outstanding in terms of quality, presentation, and selection. Would highly recommend! More than fair value for the cost considering inclusion of meals and level of service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Conroe Texas

Perfect location! BEAUTIFL grounds

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Location, beautiful grounds, bird watching, hot tub, room, breakfast.....
Cons: ceilong fans in the rooms that dont have air conditioning
Location: Machuc Picchu right there! Didn,t have to worry about lines, and left and came back in after a break
Everything was great except our room was very hot. No air conditioning in superior rooms and no ceiling fan which would realy have helped. at 12:30AM I finaly called down for a fan. Fan was terrible hardly any air coming out of it. But LOVED everything else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

5 stars right next to Machu Picchu

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Machu Picchu ruins
Wow. Wow. Wow. Everything you could ask for and more. Impeccable service. Excellent Food. Anything you could imagine in small intimate rooms. Incredible Grounds. walk 50 yards to the ruins. Only way to go
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Steer Well Clear of this Sub-standard Hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Very little, beyond the location
Cons: Potential to be outstanding in a thousand different ways, but progressively being destroyed every day under the status quo.
Location: MP
Unmatched location at the gates of Machhu Pichhu, but....you can only stretch that so far. Appalling staff, very poorly trained in basic hotel hospitality....its not the junior staff, they're just fine, but the supervisors/seniors among them just don't get it. An overpriced restaurant (well, its the only one for miles around, so gouging is the name of the game...) that is little more than a school cafeteria...pathetic furniture and ambiance. Tiny, poorly-equipped bathrooms, no aircon (though the room thermostat pretends there is) in the 75-80 F heat. Dingy lobby, not worthy of even a 2-start hotel anywhere else in the world. Belmond Group, wake-up call.....this hotel is crushing your reputation, we have stayed at your superb properties in Cusco (Montesario) and Lima.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wow, what an amazing place to stay.

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: I can't imagine what. only wish i had more time
from the amazing food to the incredible staff. this is the one place to stay in peru.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Unbelievable place and hotel, experience of a lifetime. My 24 year old daughter thought she was a queen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Best decision we made was to stay here!

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Loved the service, the food, the location and the accommodation.
Location: The location gave us an opportunity to explore Machu Picchu at our pace. We could go in early in the morning, climb the peak, explore the ruins.
Loved the hotel, the service was fantastic especially the luggage service. Not having to cart our bags up or down was great. And the location to Machu Picchu was unbeatable! We could really relax and take our time to see the ruins and not have to run off to catch a bus. The staff were wonderful and the food was fantastic. Just a great experience from beginning to end. The terrace rooms are the best - spend a bit more on them, they are worth it especially the ones further down the hall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA

Perfect location to see sunrise at Machu Picchu

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Machu Picchu
To have such close access to the Machu Picchu entrance was a huge advantage. You are a stones throw away from the steps of the lodge to the entrance. If you want to re-access Machu Picchu (up to 3 entries) in order to go back to the lodge for breakfast or lunch, this is the place to stay. The hot tub that overlooks the ruins is awesome and a great way to end a long day walking around the ruins or doing a hike.