Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, CA

Exceptional servic at entrance to Machu Picchu

Posted Feb 20, 2016
This hotel is literally steps away from the entrance of Machu Picchu, which means you can easily catch both sunrise and sunset at the site, as well as leave and re-enter. The staff is truly exceptional. Rodolfo and Erving were incredibly helpful, considerate and accommodating. Dinner menu and service very impressive, but the lunch buffet is outstanding in terms of quality, presentation, and selection. Would highly recommend! More than fair value for the cost considering inclusion of meals and level of service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Conroe Texas

Perfect location! BEAUTIFL grounds

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Location, beautiful grounds, bird watching, hot tub, room, breakfast.....
Cons: ceilong fans in the rooms that dont have air conditioning
Location: Machuc Picchu right there! Didn,t have to worry about lines, and left and came back in after a break
Everything was great except our room was very hot. No air conditioning in superior rooms and no ceiling fan which would realy have helped. at 12:30AM I finaly called down for a fan. Fan was terrible hardly any air coming out of it. But LOVED everything else!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Osaka

Best for going to Machu Picchu 2/day

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: 遺跡に近い
遺跡に近く、午前と午後、休憩を挟んで2回マチュピチュに行きました。 部屋で横になってからゆっくり2回目に行けたので良かったです。 部屋は清潔で、広さも普通でした。 マウンテンビューの部屋のテラスは共用とはいえ広く、そこからワイナピチュが見えます。 また、スイートルームのテラスは大変広く、サンベッドが二台、ソファが二台、カフェテーブルと椅子が二脚あっても まだまだゆったりしていました。 なので、ここで六人でルームサービスの食事をとっても充分な広さでした。 TVの番組数も充実していて、NHKもあったので、日本のニュースなども見ることができ良かったです。 食事はアルコール類もすべて宿泊料金に含まれていました。 内容もバラエティに富み、肉類はなんでも揃い、アルパカステーキもありました。 魚介は、種類は少ないものの白身魚のソテーなどがメインはあり、前菜にはホタテを使ったものなどもありました。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

5 stars right next to Machu Picchu

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Machu Picchu ruins
Wow. Wow. Wow. Everything you could ask for and more. Impeccable service. Excellent Food. Anything you could imagine in small intimate rooms. Incredible Grounds. walk 50 yards to the ruins. Only way to go
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Steer Well Clear of this Sub-standard Hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Very little, beyond the location
Cons: Potential to be outstanding in a thousand different ways, but progressively being destroyed every day under the status quo.
Location: MP
Unmatched location at the gates of Machhu Pichhu, but....you can only stretch that so far. Appalling staff, very poorly trained in basic hotel hospitality....its not the junior staff, they're just fine, but the supervisors/seniors among them just don't get it. An overpriced restaurant (well, its the only one for miles around, so gouging is the name of the game...) that is little more than a school cafeteria...pathetic furniture and ambiance. Tiny, poorly-equipped bathrooms, no aircon (though the room thermostat pretends there is) in the 75-80 F heat. Dingy lobby, not worthy of even a 2-start hotel anywhere else in the world. Belmond Group, wake-up call.....this hotel is crushing your reputation, we have stayed at your superb properties in Cusco (Montesario) and Lima.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wow, what an amazing place to stay.

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: I can't imagine what. only wish i had more time
from the amazing food to the incredible staff. this is the one place to stay in peru.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Unbelievable place and hotel, experience of a lifetime. My 24 year old daughter thought she was a queen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Best decision we made was to stay here!

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Loved the service, the food, the location and the accommodation.
Location: The location gave us an opportunity to explore Machu Picchu at our pace. We could go in early in the morning, climb the peak, explore the ruins.
Loved the hotel, the service was fantastic especially the luggage service. Not having to cart our bags up or down was great. And the location to Machu Picchu was unbeatable! We could really relax and take our time to see the ruins and not have to run off to catch a bus. The staff were wonderful and the food was fantastic. Just a great experience from beginning to end. The terrace rooms are the best - spend a bit more on them, they are worth it especially the ones further down the hall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA

Perfect location to see sunrise at Machu Picchu

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Machu Picchu
To have such close access to the Machu Picchu entrance was a huge advantage. You are a stones throw away from the steps of the lodge to the entrance. If you want to re-access Machu Picchu (up to 3 entries) in order to go back to the lodge for breakfast or lunch, this is the place to stay. The hot tub that overlooks the ruins is awesome and a great way to end a long day walking around the ruins or doing a hike.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny, ny

Luxury at Machu Picchu's Gate

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Location, casual elegance, staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Machu Picchu, Aguas Calientes.
We decided to spurge on this leg of a silver anniversary trip and feel that it was definitely worth the expense. The staff were all incredibly solicitous and charming, the hotel's decor is understated and very soothing. The room we booked wasn't large but was very comfortable and well tended to. We chose the full board and enjoyed the level of cooking at the restaurant. Best of all was being able to go in and out of the Machu Picchu citadel, experiencing it in the late afternoon when the crowds thinned out, and first thing in the morning to catch the sunrise at Intipuntu. There are tropically landscaped grounds which include a set of chaise lounges that overlook Huaynapicchu and the surrounding mountains, a breathtaking sight. Champagne tasted even better than usual at that spot. Once again, kudos to the staff. Sanctuary Lodge- location, location, location!