Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015
It. Is to far from activities and is high over the city and many steps to climb. Not accessible to taxis
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Needs improvement

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The view at night of Cusco was beautiful and the decor of the hotel is unique and really neat.
Cons: We needed an electrical extension because there was only one outlet in the room. I would suggest that they have some decent ones available for guests
Location: Lots to do in Cusco!
We arrived late in the evening though we had made the reservation long before and had communicated with the staff that we were arriving late but they were not very prepared for us. They put us in a room which was right under the stairs which was very noisy especially in the morning when a large group of tourists came tromping down the stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Canada

A nice place to relax

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Situated high above downtown Cusco. Affording beautiful views and tranquility. Patrick and the rest of the staff were very accommodating and kind. 20 mins walk to Sacsayhuaman entrance from hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2014 by patrick, Hotel Management
thanks for staying with us and your kind review- hope i find you and the twins in good health-look forward to seeing you again.patrick
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: View Cheap Breakfast included
Cons: FREEZING Staff doesn't speak English Water is quick to get cold
The staff was very nice, however only one person spoke English well enough to be able to communicate with guests. We checked in two separate times during our trip because we went to Bolivia in the middle of it. When we returned they had lost our second reservation! Because the woman dent speak English it took 30 minutes to sort out the problem. We had to show her the Expedia e mail proving the room was reserved and paid for. They had promised us the same room and didn't follow through. In fact they tried to put us in a room with no tv! They finally put us in a very very high room. Beware! This hotel has a spectacular view but is very very very high up there! The Internet barely worked so don't count on that. The breakfast was....ok. They promised hair dryers upon request, which they didn't have when we arrived! Finally, the rooms are FREEZING!!! They provide you with a heater, but ours didn't work! We were huddled under the blankets all night and we both wound up getting sick; dry cough, fever, the whole nine yards. The hotel staff was nice, Peru was spectacular, this hotel, however, we wound not recommend. You will freeze, the hotel water is quick to go and the staff is inefficient. The language problem was a huge barrier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jodi from New Hampshire, USA

Great spot for hikers, young families!

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: The view from our balcony on the 3rd floor was unparalleled. Hotel is housed in ancient structure with creature comforts - water, wi-fi.
Cons: Roads are being worked on - Trip up to hotel involved 4 large outdoor flights of stone stairs (w/ luggage), up hill (thin air*), up 3 more flts to rm.
Location: On top of highest district in Cuzco - This is not for folks who are disabled in regards to their walking or breathing capabilities (wheelchairs, COPD)
The view from our rooftop balcony to the surrounding mountains was spectacular, and it was our reason for choosing this hotel. Hotel is in ancient structure, involves uneven surfaces and stairs. Due to the altitude, getting there was always slow and pretty breathless (we are in our 60's, and clearly 20 yrs older than the next oldest visitors). Staff was helpful with most needs, although missed our wake-up call at 4:15AM our last day there, prompting a hair-raising departure and nearly missed plane. This is a wonderful place for hikers, young families seeking adventure. Enough hot water if you're not greedy - breakfast adequate if you get there early.
2 out of 5
by Adrian from San Jose, Costa Rica

Difficult acces

Posted Jan 22, 2013
Pros: view
Cons: very difficult acces
Location: difficult acces
Acces is very difficult, and afterwards you have to climb a lot specially if you are in the Suites...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Disaapointing hotel w/PII "data security" issues

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Location: The hotel is about .5 miles up a hill and the rooms stretch even higher up the hill. The location is difficult due to altitude sickness.
Cusco hotels don't have heaters and the weather drops to the 30s at night so it was nice to have a wood burning fireplace in the room. However, there are gaps all along the door letting cold air in and there are open vents in the toilet room and shower room letting in cold air as well. There were not basic amenities you expect in Europe/US (e.g., hair dryer, toiletries, iron,) but I’ve never been to S. America before so maybe that’s standard. It was very concerning when we asked the front desk for paper to burn in our fireplace and they gave us former guest’s paperwork with their PII on it (e.g., name, address, phone, passport). When we arrived at the hotel we couldn't get our room until we presented a hard copy of our pre-paid reservation, which we didn't have and had to email it to the front desk...luckily we had an internationally provisioned phone. On the last day I went down for breakfast and they had ended it at least 40 min early. When I asked about it they said all guests were gone...we weren't. Then while I was eating breakfast a woman came in from the hotel and asked me questions about the Inca Trail hike we went on, why I didn't notify them we would be gone, and said my reservation was only for 5 nights when it was actually for 7 nights. I was on my laptop at the time and told her I would pull up the reservation and she quickly left. We assume when people go on a hike they remove the stuff from their room, store it, and rent the space to other people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a good choice

Posted May 3, 2012
small rooms, bad service, too much stairs, not recommended for elders and children
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Greece

Unforgettable experience!

Posted Dec 9, 2009
I fell in love with this hotel! Very friendly and helpful people (Thank you so much for everything Julie :) ), great view of Cuzco city (as the hotel lies on a hill with panoramic view), very nice breakfast, free wifi connection and that feeling of tradition and uniqueness that you don't find usually in other hotels. It's not a luxurious hotel definitely, but that was not what I wanted and I am very happy with my selection. I am looking forward to the time that I can visit Cuzco and Casa de Campo again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from köln

Gute Lage mit super Aussicht über cusco

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Freundliches Personal, gutes Frühstück. Gepäck kann während der Touren untergestellt werden.