Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

Quiet, neat & clean

Posted Jun 9, 2015
About a 15 minute walk from main squares. It was in a bit of a sketchy area, but the security was great. Staff friendly and accommodating
1 out of 5
by Joe from Phoenix

Not so good

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
Would not stay there again. Hotel in poor condition and located down an alley that one has to dodge the dog droppings (be extra vigilant in your dodging at night). Reasonably close but still a walk to the center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hostel

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Very clean, friendly staff. The beds were a little bit hard but sleep like a baby anyway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

In a good neighborhood

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Clean place. Friendly staff. Close to beach. Reasonable prices. I would stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Very pleasant.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Took a double room both before and after doing the Inca trail. Staff were very welcoming and easy going. The hotel is located a few blocks from plaza de armas down a quiet alleyway. Beds and pillows were of excellent quality, ensuring a great sleep. WiFi in the rooms is sketchy, but I have come to expect that in south america. Breakfast was standard fare except for the coffee which was delicious and very strong. A happy stay.
5 out of 5
by Terra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Roxana from Wellington, Fl

Disappointed

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel shouldn't be rated 3 stars it is more like a 2 stars hotel. They still have a big problem with the hot water and I say still because I saw the same complaint in prior reviews. The location is not bad it is fairly close to the main plaza.
4 out of 5
by Andrea from Calgary

Hidden Cusco gem!

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
I had a great stay at Casa de Mama. Melba is an absolute delight, she knows all the best places to shop, and breakfast is really good. The rooms were spotless, the service awesome. Wifi signal is strong, the common room is comfortable, and the location is great. Close to everything, but not on one of the main plazas so there's a cost savings. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great, central hotel with friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, breakfast
Cons: WiFi range is limited and doesn't extend to the rooms at the far end of the hallway.
Location: Pretty much everything - Plaza de Armas, Saqsaywaman, St. Blas. Just be careful walking down Recoleta, it's a death trap!
Wow! What a great experience at Casa de Mama, Recoleta. The location is great, you are a very short walk from the Plaza de Armas and St. Blas area. It served as a perfect base for us as we traveled throughout Southern Peru. We were able to keep our stuff with them when we went out on multi-day adventures and they always had a smile on their face when we returned. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms are better than I expected for the price, some have excellent views, and it was very comfortable. Breakfasts were basic but fresh and tasty. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cusco.
4 out of 5
by Paola from Rhode Island

Highly recommend

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
Its halfway down a pedestrian only alleyway. Not the best looking area but felt perfectly safe. About 5ish minutes to plaza de armas. The employees were extremely friendly. Room was clean with a comfortable memory foam mattress. The bathroom had great water pressure with lots of hot water. The WiFi also worked well. This was the best hotel we stayed in throughout Peru.