Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NEW BRITAIN, PA

Hospitality and comfort

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: The hospitality of the staffs, and the comfort as if at home.
Location: The location is 10-15 minutes' walk from the main plaza, and my wife and I enjoyed the walk.
All staffs are very kind and do best in their jobs. Our room is in 2nd floor, and my wife and I enjoyed the great view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Too expensive for what you get

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Courtyard was pretty with scenic views overlooking city. The staff was friendly.
Cons: They charged an extra 10% charge for staff. No other hotels we stayed at did that. They should just increase the total rate and not have hidden costs
Location: Nothing real close. A steep walk to hotel from plaza.
The location is poor. You have to walk steep steps to get to plaza. Our first night we stayed in a room with no heat and we're freezing. The second night they moved us to a different room. The first room smelled like stale cigarettes. The second night someone nearby was burning trash all day so that smell became disturbing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amherst, MA

Very nice hotel, great views and service

Posted Feb 4, 2015
El Balcon is a lovely hotel just a few blocks from the central plaza. The location is convenient, although it does require a bit of an uphill trek to get there from the plaza. This can be challenging when getting used to the altitude, but we never found it to be a big problem as long as we took our time getting up the hill. The place is in a quiet neighborhood, and and has a great courtyard with trees, plants, and various types of birds. Our room, on the second floor, also had absolutely beautiful views of the city and the hills from both the room and the balcony outside the room. Not all rooms have a view, however. The staff were extremely nice and accommodating. The breakfasts were excellent. The beds were comfortable. The only real issue we had was with hot water. The water in the shower tended to be either extremely hot or extremely cold; it was very difficult to get it to run at a consistently comfortable temperature, although by the end of our five-day stay, we more or less got the hang of it. Overall, El Balcon was an excellent place to stay, and I'd highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Olivia from Boston, MA

Perfect stay for a perfect price in Cusco!

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels
My fiancé and I stayed at El Balcon as our "base" in Cusco, while we went on a short trip to Puno and eventually trekked the Inca Trail. We stayed in three different rooms, and each was absolutely beautiful. The quality and authenticity are unparalleled, and the staff answered all of our questions and went out of their way every day to help us in any way possible. For our final few nights after returning from the Inca Trail, the staff upgraded us to the spectacular honeymoon suite for free! It was a breathtaking and romantic room, and the balcony along two full sides allowed us to relax and recover while enjoying the best view in town. We stayed in a lot of hotels around Peru, but none came close to El Balcon! Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Warm and comfortable

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Nice quiet location, easy walk to the main plaza and restaurants. Nice and warm at night. Simple but satisfying breakfast with fruit, cereal, bread, eggs, ham and cheese. Hot water took a while to come on but the facilities worked well. Really friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Geld nicht wert

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Die Zimmerausstattung ist iO. Das Bad schlecht ohne Fenster und Belüftung. Für den Preis hatten wir mehr erwartet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hanne og Steff from Danmark

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
Badeværelse rimeligt beskadiget, hvilket trækker ned i bedømmelsen af både tilstand og renhed. Et ellers yderst hyggeligt hotel, som kan anbefales.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katha from Chicago

safe neighbourhood

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
close to plaza del armaz,people were very nice. but room is too cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Teo Santiago from Mexico

Very good hotel, although wifi was awful

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is clean, breakfast fantastic. Room cossy, but internet didn't work in our room
3 out of 5
Recommended
by El Balcon from Cuzco

cute hotel but plumbing was off

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels
cute hotel and nice staff but the hot water didn't work and the shower only turned on if the sink was on. Oh and the toilet did not have water in the tank to flush.