Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views

Posted May 9, 2017
We loved the El Balcon for the convenience and the lovely views over the terra cotta rooftops, with church steeples down below and the beautiful mountains in the distance. The room was spacious, comfortable, and perfectly decorated. We liked being able to have breakfast anywhere from before dawn to 10:00 am, and the different options offered, including French toast and home-made wild blueberry jam. I particularly appreciated their chicken soup, a perfect dinner to help adjust to the altitude. And a special thank-you goes to Angel at the front desk for looking after our every need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds uk

Great stay

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Great views, good location, friendly staff. All in all a great stay.
5 out of 5
by Eric

A charming place to stay

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Very charming and clean. Courtyard was beautiful and well maintained. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel was easy walking distance to the Plaza de Armas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Good hotel near Plaza de Armas

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Must go to Morena and Barrio Ceviche if you want to eat delicious peruvian food! Very close to the hotel.
We stayed in a triple room which had a queen bed and two double beds. Very big and clean room. Breakfast was basic, either eggs or pancakes. Our complaints would be that the wifi almost never worked and there was a terrible smell coming from the toilet everyday so we had to leave open the bathroom window. Overall a very pleasant stay, would definitely recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southwestern ON

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Very quaint lodgings and a tasty breakfast! They carried our heavy backpacks to our room and sat us down with coca tea. Our second night there we had a huge, beautiful room. We felt secure with the locked, monitored gates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Welcoming staff in quaint hotel overlooking Cuzco

Posted Jul 30, 2016
A really nice hotel with wonderful staff who went out of their way to help us. We arrived late on a train back from Macchu Picchu but the restaurant was more than happy to cook us some pasta, which turned out to be homemade pasta and sauce - and it was delightful! The staff were also happy to fill-up my girlfriend's hot water bottle and deliver it back to our room. The hotel has an excellent view over the city which looks lovely early in the morning before going down to a very nice breakfast. The hotel itself is quite an old and traditional building but seems to have been renovated more recently to a very high standard. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and in a quiet area meant an excellent night's sleep was had - probably the best in our whole time in Peru! Overall a delightful stay and we were sorry it was only 1 night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Up and Coming

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Terrific location and view, fantastic kitchen staff that accommodate to your early departures and provide hot beverages 24/7. The room, however, was not yet ready for prime time. The management assured me that they would be addressing the lack of water pressure on the second floor ( as in reduced to a few drops at peak times). I believe them but ask before you go.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Grand Junction, CO

Great view and ambiance!

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed here with our two teenage daughters, and we all loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wa

Near plaza

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Clean, safe walking distance to tourist area
Cons: The payment options and Expedia clarification of taxes not completely included
Location: Close to everything
It was clean, safe, comfortable but you should pay in soles because once you get your credit card charged into dollars you end up with a higher bill. Also through Expedia they should provide the option to pay through them. Expedia states all taxes included yet they still charge you a 10% tax to the amount Expedia tells you plus the added cost if the exchange rate changes once you pay with your credit card.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wa

First time in Cuzco

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly and helpful staff
Cons: The charging system and the clarification for future guests that there will be a tax charged not that taxes are included in the published rate.
Location: Everything you want to see in Cuzco is walking distance
Extremely friendly and helpful staff, good location, peaking distance to everything, good breakfast but basic and good wifi. The bad thing is the Expedia add says taxes included and when you ar there they say they need to charge a 10%tax for services rendered and so the amount you think you will pay is not real. The other bad side to it is that they will charge in soles and not in US dollars unless it's cash and if they charge you by visa then it may end up being more in dollars depending on the exchange rate at the moment.