Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming if details are overlooked (like hot water

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Charm and location. Two employees worked hard and were very pleasant.
Cons: We had hot water on 2 of the 6 nights at Madre Tierra. The owner informed us that the system is being updated....again. Following our initial 5 night
Location: San Blas, Cusco. Walk, tour the city squares, dine at Pachapappas ( and yes, TRY the cuy), have a beer at Paddy's Pub, breakfast at Jack's.....si
Rogelia took great care of us and added to the charm of the place. Her breakfasts were delicious and she really tried to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The scent of a wood fire, the colorful décor, as well as the garden patio and pleasant music added to the wonderful vibe of Cusco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ne.

A place I would like to own.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Eating breakfast by the fire place was nice. Fresh squeezed Orange juice, Formal dinning room setting. With a short walk to the Plaza De Armas and San Pedro market, it was a great place to stay.
Cons: Climbing the steps at first was kind of a bummer but I soon figured out that while in Cusco your either climbing up steps or going down steps so it wasent a big deal.
Location: Easy walking distance to the popular areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Toin, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying in Madre Tierra, it eas very nice to have you in our ¨house¨, thank you again, maby to see you again!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed just one night at this hotel and enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and helpful: making us fresh coca tea, cooking us breakfast before any other guests were awake, and arranging for a cab and laundry services. We chose this hotel because of its location in the San Blas neighborhood--it is way up there, but still only a 5-8 minute walk to the main plaza. The decor was bright and the room comfortable. Note that their credit card machine was down when we were there, so we had to run out to an ATM and take out more soles in order to pay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It´s happens more times that the telefone service telefonica is failing. Nothing to do with the Hotel, but so sorry unpleasent for you, hopefully the privider is going to improve the service. It was very nice to have you in our Hotel, thank you so much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place friendly staff.

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Great place to stay. Friendly staff and clean. Unique atmosphere. However walls are very thin and sound travels easily. In quiet San Blas area.
4 out of 5
by Jiandong from San Jose, California

Good budget boutique hotel in Cusco

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
I traveled with my wife and two adult children to Cusco during the holidays. We treated Cusco as our "home base" for Machu Picchu and the multiple day trips that we took and stayed at Hostal Madre Tierra the entire time. The hotel was great at accommodating our schedule and our demands. My son ended up getting food poisoning, and we had to book a room on the spot. The hotel was flexible and very kind in helping him out. The hotel is very small-- our family shared one room for a few nights, which consisted of single beds packed together (although the view in the top room was amazing!). The staff also doesn't speak English very well. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Very nice & the staff were exceptional. On New Years the staff provided champagne & had fireworks for us. Breakfast in the mornings was excellent. Strongly recommended. Initially location seemed sketchy but that's just Cusco in general.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2015
This hotel is located in the lovely and quaint San Blas neighborhood. The hotel is very simple. We stayed there for 2 nights before Machu Picchu and one night after. At that point, we were ready for a little more luxury and we moved. We had to leave our luggage there twice and it was very safely guarded. The hotel is very reasonably priced, but the staff is very young.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by lidia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Best breakfast bread in Cuzco.....

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location and breakfast
Cons: Wifi, showers were weak
Location: Close to the main plaza and easy walking to most central sites.
We stayed a couple of nights and it was OK. No hot water on the first day was a bummer. Its in a good location and the staff are good, not much english but need to help. We had better accommodation for the same price. However I would not be disappointed to stay here again. very poor wifi