Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good sized hotel room in great central location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location, well appointed, good free wifi.
Cons: Curtains to main lobby could do a better job of blocking out light. Some minor noise from lobby heard in room but double windows did a good enough job
Great location with a short easy walk to the main attractions of Cusco. Friendly helpful staff. Good sized room - ours had 2 bedrooms and a large bathroom.
5 out of 5
by SURAJ from LONDON

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL IN A HISTORIC LOCATION

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
I LOVED MY STAY IN THIS HOTEL. THIS HOTEL IS FANTASTIC. THE HOTEL IS VERY CLEAN, COMFORTABLE AND THE QUALITY OF SERVICE IS OF HIGH STANDARD. THE STAFF ARE VERY POLITE, HELPFUL AND GOOD IN ENGLISH. THE ROOM IS QUITE CLEAN AND BED COMFORTABLE, AND THE ROOM IS OF AVERAGE SIZE. THE BREAKFAST IS GOOD. INTERNET IS QUITE GOOD. THIS HOTEL IS IN A VERY BEAUTIFUL LOCATION AND IS REASONABLY PRICED FOR ITS ROOM. ALL THE HISTORIC PLACES AND MAIN PLAZAS ARE OF WALING DISTANCE. WILL RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO MY FRIENDS.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, friendly staff , room a bit basic

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Staff, early check in, breakfast times, Ruinas Travel
Cons: Time for a Refurb of bathrooms ?
Location: Very central for Cusco, good base for launch on Macchu Picchu.
Good location just 200m from Plaza de Armas so convenient but a bit noisy. Staff very friendly and gave us a very early check in at just 9am which was awesome as we had taken an overnight bus from Cusco and were in need of a shower and a snooze. Room was a bit basic, big clean bed but not much space to move around. Bathroom worked and was clean but again a bit basic. Breakfast good and started at 4:30 ? Which fitted well with excursion twines etc. All in all "good" but not memorable. related travel agent "Ruinas Travel" sorted out a great day at Macchu Picchu.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lima, Peru

Excellent quality, overall value, great location

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Decor of the hotel and room exceeded expectations, nice touch, good attention to detail, plants all over, well kept, very clean, good buffet breakfast
Cons: Water took long to warm up at times; once it didn't. Stayed thru new years, on 12/31 was asked to pay to "close books" for year, a bit strange but OK.
Location: 15 min ride from airport, S/. 15 or aprox U$ 4.50 (no Uber by the way). 3 blks to Plaza de Armas, close to restaurants, cafes, San Blas area. Safe.
Very friendly and helpful staff are always available to assist. Check-in/out was efficient, no surprises or hidden costs, room was nicely prepared. Hotel was very accommodating because our 2nd son decided to travel at the last minute and was accommodated in our room at reasonable extra charge. Quiet and safe area. Felt like a 4-star hotel at least. Only reason didn't rate Room Comfort with a "5" was hot water issue (small issue). We got a balcony with a great view of San Blas area (quaint, historic area of Cusco with restaurants, cafes, bars, art). If you're on the third floor beware altitude sickness, it will get you (no elevators). Oxygen available at the reception, recommended on first and second day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel and not too badly priced

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Location. Cleanliness, staff. Good shower
We stayed at Hotel Ruinas after moving from our previous hotel we were not happy with. The place was better located literally a few minutes from the main square and San blas areas. The rooms were clea, showers good with hot water and staff friendly and helpful, We were very glad we moved hotels. The wi-if even worked!! The only slightly negative thing was the breakfast. It wAs pretty simple and could have done with a few more options. It was sufficient, but could have been a Bit better. Overall however we were very happy with our stay and would certainly recommend this hotel. We were so grateful we changed hotels and this made the entire trip more enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chile

Great location. Good hotel.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Location. Breakfast
Cons: Noise isolation
Location: Close to all the major highlights of Cuzco
It's located in the middle of the Historical Center. The hotel is good, and breakfast is also very good. They should invest in noise isolation, since even the dot printer could be heard at night. Staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Have stayed at this hotel four times in two years.

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Nice rooms. Very nice staff.
Location: Five minutes from the main square.
Nice hotel just far enough from the main plaza so the celebrations don't keep one awake. Always greated with an offer for tea to help with the altitude adjustment. Twice they have arranged for an early brakfast to match our travel needs.
4 out of 5
by ed from champaign, IL

A great vaue in historic Cusco

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed before and after a trek to Machu Picchu. Hotel pros: great location, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast buffet, & large rooms. Hotel cons: no elevator (but staff will take your bags to and from room). Reminded me of a European hotel.
5 out of 5
by ed from Champaign, IL

Excellent location & wonderful and helpful staff!

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location with wonderful and helpful staff! Great breakfast start of fresh fruit (papaya, mango, pineapple, watermelon), fresh bread, coffee, juices, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cake,and so much more! Front desk staff are bilingual... will call taxi, recommend restaurants, check status of flight, help you with your luggage, provide change, etc. They were all wonderful! They also kept our luggage safe while we backpacked to Macchu Picchu!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nothern Virginia

Last minute change

Posted May 24, 2015
We made changes to the itinerary just a couple of days before leaving and the hotel had a single room for three people. We had stayed in another hotel in Cusco for two nights on the way in, but decided to try Ruinas on our last night. Location seemed to be more central, and more central it was! The staff was attentive and helpful, the room was impeccable, and it was almost at the same altitude as Plaza de Armas! No additional steps up, except inside the hotel. The lack of the elevator was the only minus. This hotel was a bright spot of our trip, it was affordable luxury and cheered us up on the way home.