Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Wonderful hotel with amazing staff!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The location was fantastic and the staff could not have been more helpful and more friendly.
Location: The hotel is a short walk to everything in town and the bus will let you off at the hotel upon your return from Machu Picchu.
We had a great stay at the Sumaq. The staff met us at the train station and took our luggage to the hotel where we were greeted and offered warm towels and complimentary beverages. The staff explained the hotel, showed us the restaurant, bar and to our room. The room was roomy and very clean. We took a complimentary cooking class which was entertaining. Breakfast and dinner were included and the buffet breakfast was a great way to start each day before heading to Machu Picchu. On our last day we checked out before heading to Machu Picchu and the hotel held our luggage. We then came back to the hotel and they allowed us to use a room to shower making for a very pleasant train ride back to Cusco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

good hotel in machupichu.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
its perfect for staying when you go to Machu Pichu near the bus and train station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, USA

Nice hotel close to Machu Picchu

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Close to Machu Picchu. Food, drinks and hotel staff.
Cons: Price...too high.
Location: Aguas Calientes is an amazing village & of course Machu Picchu.
Overall 9 out of 10. Food and drinks are very good. Hotel staff very friendly and nice views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best option in Machu Picchu

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We stayed 2 nights at this hotel on our first trip to Peru. Overall, this hotel is fantastic in terms of amenities and services. Great location very close to the train station. The staff provides a wonderful service and are always attentive to your needs. The restaurant is also great, and the breakfast provided was fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best in Agua Calientes

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Wonderful hotel. The staff was uniformly great. The food was excellent, both the breakfast buffet and the dinners. Afternoon tea was also a treat. The hotel is a about a 5-10 minute walk to the main market so off in a slightly quieter area overlooking the river. The rooms have a great view. The hotel reached out after booking to co-ordinate our tickets and guide to Machu Picchu which we arranged in advance including a boxed lunch. the one blip in service was that the bus tickets to get up the mountain to Machu Picchu had not been picked up in advance so there was a bit of a wait to get the tickets the morning we headed up to the sit. I highly recommend this hotel, and I'm picky, and it goes without saying Machu Picchu is everything good you've heard about it an more. Pictures don't really do it justice, you've got to be there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice place after A long huje

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Room was big and bathroom was good except they had only a ceiling shower head. Tough if u don't like getting hair wet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from savannah, Ga

Fabulous stay

Posted Sep 2, 2016
What a great place to stay! Staff is so friendly. Food (breakfast and dinner) were out if this world. Our rooms overlooked the river. Had a little bit if street noise but really nothing to complain about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Beyond expectations

Posted Jul 4, 2016
The staff was amazing. A lot of them worked on cruise ships previously and it shows. After a long day of traveling they treated us perfectly, right from getting off the train until we left the service was better then expected. Food was great. Rooms were very clean and views from room was stunning. Will be back for sure !!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pricey hotel just misses.

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: Grounds, staff and location.
Cons: Management
This hotel attempts to be The Premier hotel in the area but falls short. If you have children expect to pay for an extra room or in our case, almost $200 per nt. per child. On top of a rack rate that tops the area. The other complaint is the lack of AC that is desperately needed at night when you have to keep the windows closed for bugs.. The hotel is gorgeous but fails to meet our expectations especially for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Great Place to stay bit pricey for the value

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Everything was nice. The room was great, comfortable and view is good. Service is good-ish but not what I expect for that price. It was just slightly off. e.g. Had a nice little amuse bouche when we arrived but no utensils to eat it with. Having to sign for complimentary tea feels awkward. What are they afraid of? I'm going to have tea twice? Offering to take my bags to the train is a nice touch. Agreeing to 30mins before departure then whispering with your colleague and trying to get me to pick them up 2 hours before departure is rude. Left not feeling like it was money well spent.