Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aurora, Canada

Great option

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Article
Cons: Go lighter on the cleaner in public spaces. Very strong odor.
Comfortable room with spectacular view or Urubamba River. Friendly staff. Excellent half board - the dinner was first class. Took our bags to train station which was appreciated after a long day at MP
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Wonderful hotel with amazing staff!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The location was fantastic and the staff could not have been more helpful and more friendly.
Location: The hotel is a short walk to everything in town and the bus will let you off at the hotel upon your return from Machu Picchu.
We had a great stay at the Sumaq. The staff met us at the train station and took our luggage to the hotel where we were greeted and offered warm towels and complimentary beverages. The staff explained the hotel, showed us the restaurant, bar and to our room. The room was roomy and very clean. We took a complimentary cooking class which was entertaining. Breakfast and dinner were included and the buffet breakfast was a great way to start each day before heading to Machu Picchu. On our last day we checked out before heading to Machu Picchu and the hotel held our luggage. We then came back to the hotel and they allowed us to use a room to shower making for a very pleasant train ride back to Cusco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

good hotel in machupichu.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
its perfect for staying when you go to Machu Pichu near the bus and train station
5 out of 5
by Shawn

Staff is terrific & property very well maintained

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Worth its top rating
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay - Unbeatable hospitality

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
For starters, the hotel is the closest to the ruins within the town of Aguas Calientes. The entire hotel staff was incredibly friendly. They would go out of their way to make sure that everything was satisfactory, and came to know me by name. They offered breakfast and dinner included as part of our stay, though I'm wondering if the dinner was more to attract more guests during the off-season (it's the rainy season right now at Machu Picchu). They picked my friend and I up from the train station and helped us carry our bags from the train to the hotel, and did the same when we were leaving. They have a 'tea time' which consists of cakes, tea and coffee from 4-5pm every day and a daily welcome pisco sour from 530-630pm. Their breakfast buffet was plentiful, and they make eggs to order if you'd like. They also have a variety of teas that they grow in their backyard garden... Highly recommended (even though they also have bagged teas). Their dinners are also great, with many options. Each person gets an appetizer, main course, and dessert, all of their choosing. My friend and I were staying there for 6 nights, so for our last 2 nights the hotel/chef wanted to prepare unique dishes for us as a thank you for our loyalty for staying as long as we did. Awesome and incredibly tasty! As previously stated, they went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable, and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Highly recommend staying at this hotel if it's within your budget!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The room temperature was too warm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, USA

Nice hotel close to Machu Picchu

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Close to Machu Picchu. Food, drinks and hotel staff.
Cons: Price...too high.
Location: Aguas Calientes is an amazing village & of course Machu Picchu.
Overall 9 out of 10. Food and drinks are very good. Hotel staff very friendly and nice views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best option in Machu Picchu

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We stayed 2 nights at this hotel on our first trip to Peru. Overall, this hotel is fantastic in terms of amenities and services. Great location very close to the train station. The staff provides a wonderful service and are always attentive to your needs. The restaurant is also great, and the breakfast provided was fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best in Agua Calientes

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Wonderful hotel. The staff was uniformly great. The food was excellent, both the breakfast buffet and the dinners. Afternoon tea was also a treat. The hotel is a about a 5-10 minute walk to the main market so off in a slightly quieter area overlooking the river. The rooms have a great view. The hotel reached out after booking to co-ordinate our tickets and guide to Machu Picchu which we arranged in advance including a boxed lunch. the one blip in service was that the bus tickets to get up the mountain to Machu Picchu had not been picked up in advance so there was a bit of a wait to get the tickets the morning we headed up to the sit. I highly recommend this hotel, and I'm picky, and it goes without saying Machu Picchu is everything good you've heard about it an more. Pictures don't really do it justice, you've got to be there.