Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Location: Nothing nearby, however, it is only 15 mins walk to the centre of town. A taxis to the town centre is less than $3 US.
Extremely nice and helpful staff, especially at organizing excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Small Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Each room should be equipped with a telephone that can be used to dial numbers outside of the hotel.
I just stayed at this place before and after I did the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu 3 days ago. Wifala Hotel is a small hotel located just about a mile from the town square. The hotel is very clean. At first, its location appears unsafe to walk to the nearest restaurant during night time. But so is practically everywhere except in the vicinity of the town square where there is so much presence of the police. At any rate, a taxi ride to the plaza only costs 5 Soles. Harold, Carmen and Gina who take turn manning the front desk are also hands down super nice. They are so helpful and so enthusiastic to recommend where to eat, give tips on the price range one should pay for things sold at the plaza or how much one should pay for cab rides. And they really make their guests feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Nice hotel in Cusco

Posted Aug 18, 2016
It's a great hotel, everything was clean, the showers were good, and the breakfast was very good. It's a little walk out of the city center, but as long as that doesn't bother you it's a great option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Nah...stay elsewhere

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Check in was great. The woman at the counter was very friendly and helpful offering plenty of information and speaking good enough English to communicate. We had laundry to do so we dropped it off around noon on our first day. She said it would be returned the next afternoon. Our friends arrived a few hours later and they also had laundry. They dropped theirs off the next morning for same day pick up. Long story short, the next night at 11 pm our friends' laundry was done and when they gave us ours, thankfully we noticed that half our clothes were missing. After over an hour of phone calls and Google translate and nonsense, it turns out they were just stalling because half of our clothes were still soaking wet in the laundry room. We ended up having to leave for our Machu Picchu trek and shoving our wet clothes into our larger suitcase (and I am sure they won't smell very good when we get back.) And then the cab they said they would call for us never came and it took me being absurdly forceful to get them to refund the money for laundry they didn't do! All of that nonsense and no apologies from the guy at night, the clerk in the morning or the managers! Between that, the hunt for an outlet in our room and the crazy noise from the stairs and the paper thin walls when people come bounding down the stairs at 5am, this hotel was not a good choice for me. We ended up cancelling our return stay in favor for the hotel next door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I don't reccommend

Posted Apr 17, 2016
The room was dirty and our bedding wasn't clean. The hotel is located in a bad part of Cusco and not close to anything. The staff were nice but nothing special and the breakfast in the morning wasn't that great. It's not worth the price we stayed in hostels that were nicer and a third of the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2016 by Monica Lizares Gerente Comercial, Hotel Management
Dear Sir: Our standards of service are changing the linen and cleaning the room before each entry of a guest, and we gave instructions to our staff to reinforce these issues and personally supervise these works the next 15 days, it is a priority for us provide good service
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Travel Experience

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: The breakfast staff are lovely as is one of the hotel clerks that works around 5:00pm.
Cons: I do not recommend this hotel if you want your belongings to be safe. There is no safe in room and the doors do not lock properly.
Location: The location is nice because it is away from the city.
I have stayed in places ranging from cheap hostels to resorts, and this hotel was the worst experience I have ever had. The door did not lock properly and what appeared to be cameras outside of the door, were in fact not. During my stay, someone stole $100 US and $100 Soles from my wallet, which I discovered after I returned to find my door open. (Earlier in my stay, I discovered my door open while I was in the shower.)The staff blamed my good friend (someone who paid for my meals/taxis/etc. before and even after the theft) and the staff would not call the police until I made repeated requests. Monica, the hotel manager, was completely rude, despite me saying that I wasn't blaming the staff, and that I just wanted the police called. The front desk clerk (a young woman) at one point gathered up all of the hotel room keys and said she was going to show me all of the other guests' valuables in their rooms to prove that they do not have thefts. I informed her that as a guest, I found this highly inappropriate. Monica and the clerk also insinuated that because my friend (who I know very well and who was staying in a different location simply because I preferred to stay at the Wifala) came over to watch TV for 5 hours and talk about a health retreat we had been on, that I should have been charged for a double room and that in turn I deserved to have my money stolen. The police did attend and there is an investigation. I am still hopeful that I receive a partial refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Monica Lizares Gerente Comercial, Hotel Management
Lady We provide our services to our guests, we are always alert to be able to help and make your stay in our establishment is pleasant and respect the rules of the hotel one of which is to restrict the entry of outsiders and non-hotel guests for the establishment's own security and our customers do not respect you allow in your friend and your hotel room Attempt condition and force us to return the money allegedly stolen from US 100 and S / 100 in exchange for not putting a bad opinion Wifala Hotel, fact that we are not willing to allow and put the credibility of our establishment. It was the hotel management which I call the police to carry out investigations and must remind you that the registration of security cameras show that the only ones who entered his room were his "friend" who spent the night with you and hotel cleaning staff, his "friend" not to police delegation appeared to give his statement as requested by us and the police. You continue staying in the same room for 4 days and had "more problems" with the door of his room and left the hotel by breaking the glass table that do not report or payment and was his roommate that I left a note asking for apologies for this fact. We are human beings and deserve both mutual respect. We regret having to explain in this forum aspects of his private life but we have seen the need to do for the credibility and prestige of our establishment has been committed. We will from now more demanding and rigorous control and restrict the entry of foreign to hotel guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA

Great staff.

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Breakfast!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to everything.
The hotel is small but comfortable and welled managed. They were more than happy to help with any need I had, from booking tours to cleaning laundry. Excellent fresh cooked breakfast, rather than the usual coffee, eggs & toast. Loved it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, Az

It was ok, wouldn't recommend though

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Cute room design
Cons: Earlier breakfast, Water cooler for the guests, keep your place quite and don't let people hang out outside by the windows.
Location: Location sucks, nothing to do around. 20 minute walk to Plaza de Armas, not safe neighborhood, sketchy
The hotel's location is pretty sketchy. It's only 10-15 minutes taxi ride to the Plaza de Armas (8-10 soles), but most of the drivers didn't now where it was located. One of them ended up driving me for 30 minutes and dropping me off at the dump and pointing at the dark steep heal, pointing to the name of the street and saying I have to go downstairs myself, because my hotel is somewhere over there, terrifying experience. Anyways back to the hotel, its clean, had running hot water (although the pressure was weird and loud), the bed was comfortable and clean. The staff was nice too. Breakfast doesn't start till 6:30 am so if you are leaving to the airport early or to MP you are SOL. Most of the hotels I stayed in Cuzco would start at 4:00 am. There is no water to drink, only hot water for your tea. The internet worked fine. So yeas, mainly I think the location sis horrible in the middle of the dumb, with sketchy people hanging out outside and the doors are always locked so you have to knock like in jail. Also, VERY NOISY AND LOUD!!!! If you are planning on getting a good night of sleep forget about it. There were teenagers outside of my window, listening to the music, laughing, moaning and screaming! Not to mention the metal staircase inside of the hotel, people kept on walking, banging SO LOUD, I was terrified like someone is gonna break into my room at any moment! For the price I paid, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. It was $53, I paid $61 for the hotel right in downtown!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015
A little out of the way but good hotel at the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

Very Nice hotel, modern rooms and BEST showers.

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Plaza de Armas. Smaller hotel with very clean and modern rooms with the BEST showers we had in South America. Staff was very friendly and helpful, were able to store our bags there while we did Inca trail. Ended up staying there 6 nights in total before and after our hike. Highly recommend it.