Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
by A verified traveler from NZ
An uncomfortable time at the beachPosted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Friendliness of some staff Lagoon for snorkling
Cons: Better access road Electricity all day Exhaust fans in villas Better management
Location: Coral lagoon Small beach Limestone cave
Arrived after long drive from Suva in taxi ($190, bus is $15) about 4:30pm. Some staff endeavoured to make our stay comfortable. View of beach and lagoon wonderful and the sunsets memorable. Saw a huge variety of fish whilst snorkeling. Cave tour interesting. Check in process slow and uncomfortable; staff refused to tell me why she needed my passport number when no other Fiji hotel asked to it. I could not get clear answers to simple questions. Advertised kayak (free) available and was told i could rent a canoe instead. Snorkel gear i got not sanitised between guests. Water main was broken so little if any water available in villa for two days - no toilet, shower, sink. No electricity between about 7am and 7pm. No AC in villas, just a small ceiling fan directly over one on the beds. Room much hotter and stuffier at night than outside was. Place was distant from anywhere with an hour walk to the nearest town (Duvu). Food was only so so. I asked for drinking water and told tap water was unsafe so had to buy bottled water; they wouldn’t even provide boiled water! No compensation for lack of water or when it was available pitifully low pressure. Old man and woman owners complained at lot about tourists. Ride to Nadi airport cost $100 (metred taxi less than $70.) taxi to Cuvu (pronounced Duvu) about $15 one way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2018 by Vic, Hotel Management
Hi bob, Thanks for your comments.You seemed to be looking for a plastic resort. It was a government plan for water cut it was dome allover the west. When the manager old man querired if everything was ok , you just everything is good and we are happy, Unfortunately its true that we ran a generator in the evenings and government water supply is safe to drink for everyone. Namuka bay villas are located on the beach and so since power is on in the night we could have provided you with another fan. So far none of our guests has complained . Its because of cyclone that the heat and humidity you felt was un bearable. However thank you for your comments, only if you had told us than we could have rectified things before you left Regards Vic
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Australia
Nice hotel right in the beachPosted Jan 3, 2018
Secluded and good for relaxing and reading. Excellence to come and relax after a hard years work.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from London
Bliss on the beach.Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: The staff, the food, the swimming and snorkelling, the homegrown food, Ranger the dog, beach walks and sunsets, peace and quiet.
Cons: The cotton sheets are due for an upgrade soon. Maybe offer guest more seasonal fruit or have a self-service facility. A used book library.
Location: Remote, you’ll need wheels to get about or book a taxi. Loads of things to do nearby...loads, if you want.
Just what we wanted. The perfect place to get away from it all. We loved the bure practically on the beach, the peace, the lovely elements of nature and the local vibe. Staff were very helpful and accommodating - nothing they won’t do to make your stay perfect. The food was great - loved that it was local and most of it homegrown. Loved the outdoor shower. If you want to get away from it all, then this place is for you. If you want to be with your planeload of tourists and have chips with everything then try somewhere else. The negative reviews are unfair and placed by people who really did not do their research. Don’t let an unmade road put you off.
Posted Dec 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very good place. Cheap & silence..
by vejo from Germany
charming place next to a coral paradisePosted Dec 16, 2017 on Hotels
If you look for an accommodation which has authentic Fijian village flair, stunning corals just in front of your door and warm-hearted people : that's the place. If you expect a luxury resort, rather not. Don't miss to ask for tour options, as there is a lot to do and see around the place. Try the local breakfast and dishes. "Fish miti" was one of our favorite.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from Aotearoa
Relaxed by the seaPosted Nov 21, 2017
Lovely relaxed low key environment. Comfortable room and bed, wonderful view from the deck. Nice family atmosphere, Interesting snorkelling at your doorstep. Friendly staff. Food simple, good service.
for Familiesby A verified traveler from NZ
Beachfront VillasPosted Sep 27, 2017 on Wotif
2nd time at Namuka Bay and again very happy with everything, just a fantastic location to relax and enjoy, when the wind picks up in the afternoon, there is plenty to do along the railway track and further inland
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley, CA
This place is Dangerous!Posted Aug 18, 2017
Location: NOTHING! DESOLATE!
I opted NOT to stay at this so-called resort/hotel accommodation because as a female solo traveler, my safety and health or general welfare is the utmost priority! This is a dangerously isolated and desolate area of the Fijian islands - only fit for rugged travelers and groups of more than one for safety. The property was not described properly. The remote area along the beach with four cottage units had inadequate security features overall. There was no place to purchase food except for the house occupied by the family who owns the resort, which is beneath any government standards of cleanliness or health barometers. In addition, there is no cell phone connection access in case of emergency. My taxi driver, who drove me to the location, warned me emphatically about the situation, including the lack of a decent road to access the property; a very long and winding, all dirt and gravel HAZARDOUS road with large rocks for at least a mile and a half, for which he refused to return per my pickup request and advised that NO other taxi would either. However, I insisted on inspecting it for myself since I'd already booked through Expedia, a reputable internet travel booking company. Bad mistake! THANK GOD for my taxi driver. Fortunately, I was able to book another resort at the last minute for a pleasant and safe alternative stay. And, now Expedia has the audacity to refuse to refund my payment due to cancellation guidelines per the resort? What a rip off!!!
by A verified traveler
A hidden gem!Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing place! The best staff ever, it is a hidden gen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Victor, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback. Please pass the word around to travellers who are looking for solitude,privacy,wellness and pollution free resort on the coral coast
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
live like a FijianPosted Jan 10, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: no television, no internet, no traffic, no jet-skis.....
Location: on a coral lagoon with wild horses, farm animals and ecologically minded guests
if you want to get away from the west and experience life as a Fijian, this place is bliss. Tranquil, rural, and without the annoyances of a commercial resort , the family who run this retreat are lovely and the scenery is divine.