Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Australia

Picturesque, tranquil resort

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The Balinese theme throughout made it very relaxing. The owners also ran the business so the care was always present.
Location: Only 10 mins from Port Douglas and closer to Mossman. Good restaurants and many activities. A car is a necessity and very easy to drive around.
We enjoyed a five night stay which definitely recharged our batteries. As opposed to many soulless, sanitised places Mai Tai resort oozed with charm and love that the owners/managers have invested in their business. They were attentive and caring and had great knowledge about the area and advice on excursions and recommendations on some attractions to see. The gardens around the resort are stunning and there were many little corners with comfortable seating to read etc without having to sit in your room. A private courtyard and lovely pool area were also a great bonus. Hopefully I will return there to enjoy the ambience, view and wonderful hospitality again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Anthony, Hotel Management
We certainly hope to see you both again and thank you both for your wonderful review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Superb!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Hosts, breakfast, views, rooms, outdoor shower .... the list could go on!
Cons: Nothing.
So relaxing and tranquil! I enjoyed my stay very much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Restful stay in the rainforest

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: The location, the comfort and the welcoming hosts.
Location: 10 mins from Mossman Gorge and the town of Mossman (Coles very close by) and 15 mins from Port Douglas - great location.
Mai Tai was everything we expected and more. Lovely welcome by Anthony and Andre set us up for a delightful 6 night stay. Bali themed, the room was very comfortable and so lovely and clean. Brekkie every morning was gorgeous fresh fruit and warm croissants along with happy chit chat about all sorts of topics. Anthony and Andre know so much about the surrounding areas and are very helpful in booking tours and giving some advice on what to do next. 10 mins from the famous and beautiful Mossman Gorge and 15 mins from Port Douglas, Mai Tai is situated in the perfect location. Up in the hills you overlook everyone with an amazing view but you're not far from anything. Delightful and restful stay - we will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Thanks guys appreciate your wonderful review and hope to see you both again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Beautiful location, friendly owners!

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Wotif
What a great stay! Great service, friendly, helpful, and the location was to die for!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review ... all the best.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Unusual boutique hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Small, personal and unusual ambiance with Balinese inspired decor that was tastefully implemented. Breakfast was excellent.
Cons: It would be nice if the catering could extend to dinner or have an arrangement with a local restaurant.
Location: Easy access to Mossman Gorge and only 10 minutes drive into Port Douglas.
Boutique hotel in nice location with excellent views. Personal service from very attentive staff made the stay extremely enjoyable. The only very minor annoyance was the traffic noise from the nearby road. There is not much traffic, particularly at night. Other than that, the resort is very tranquil and relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review ... appreciate you taking the time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Mai Tai mountain retreat

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: The peace and quiet was wonderful, woken each morning by the sounds of the rainforest. With only 5 rooms available, overcrowding is never a threat.
Location: 10 minute drive from Port Douglas and all its attractions. 5 minutes from Mossman Gorge, and 30 minutes from the Daintree National Park.
What an amazing hidden treasure. Up in the mountains, surrounded by rain forrest, far away from the madding crowd, though only a 5 minute drive from civilisation. Run by 2 friendly attentive gentlemen who are a wealth of knowledge on the do's and don't's of the area. They were able to recommeng great tour choices and then book them for us. The rooms were a little slice of paradise with Kingsize beds and tropical courtyards, clean and well equipped. Breakfast served each morning on the terrace overlooking the mountains and ocean, was a relaxing way to start the day. We were greeted on each return from a day out with questions about our day and if there was anything that we needed. Exceptional experience. Would go again in a heart beat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Your review is greatly appreciated ... many thanks
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Townsville, Australia

I'll be back!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
My stay was exactly what I wanted and needed. Andre and Anthony have set a benchmark hard to beat. Hosts par excellence. Surroundings and ambience absolutely stunning and serene. Looking forward to returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you back again
4 out of 5
by Debbie from Prahran

Mai Tai - wonderful views and exceptional hosts

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Anthony and Andre were exceptional hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. They made suggestions of things to do and gave wonderful advice. They advised us to take travel calm before we left for our boat trip to the reef - which proved to be very helpful. They gave great restaurant recommendations. They were there to help us park and greet us when we returned. We felt very safe and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We very much appreciate your wonderful comments and thank you for taking the time to review our property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canberra

Lovely private retreat close to Port Douglas

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Great place if you want to escape the crowds. Very private with excellent hosts who are proud of their property and very knowledgable about the things to do in the local area. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to review our property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Fabulous!

Posted May 7, 2016
My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights at The Mai Tai. Everything exceeded our expectations! Simply heaven!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your wonderful review and great pictures