Ratings based on 615 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Falling apart nightmare

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We arrived and were sent to a room on the second floor. The room had two queen size beds and pillows on only one bed. The adjoining room door would not lock and the bathroom door could not fully close. The man from the front desk acted like he did us a favor giving us the room when we had prebooked it online so he had nothing to so with it. He had us prop a chair against the broken lock door. He was not helpful at all. I would not recommend this place yo anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Terrible Experience

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Professionalism and service procedures.
8/21/17 I am very disappointed in my experience. My bf and I were traveling from Nashville to NY which we decided to stop in VA for the night because the drive to NY is way too many hours especially since there were major traffic, accidents etc on the road and everyone else going home from being away to watch the eclipse. I updated the hotel that we will arrive later after 12 am. I called a second time to update the hotel that we are still in traffic and will arrive after 2am. I was then told first come first serve. when I tried asking questions why is that the case because I already paid for my room I kept being told first come first serve. I tried asking for a valid reason because I already paid for my room the front desk gentleman hung up the phone on me. We decided to make our way to this hotel while waiting in line to be checked in the person in front of us was told his room was given away. As to no surprise our room was given away as well. This was at 2:30 in the morning on 8/22. We ended up driving for a couple of hours until we finally found a hotel with a free room. Not such a great experience especially being on the road from 2:30pm on 8/21. I certainly will not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I usually go there on business because its close to where I have to go. Ive never had a bad experience at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mobile, AL

Don't stay here more than one night

Posted Aug 28, 2017
I was travelling and needed a place to stay the night. I literally got the last room as three people that showed up behind me were turned away (two of them had reservations). The AC in the room did not work and the next morning it was cooler outside at 75 than it was in my room. The room was dated and the carpet was dirty. The breakfast buffet was a joke.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Totally acceptable

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Room was clean and staff were relatively friendly. Nice big dining hall for breakfast. Everything was totally fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The stay

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The beds were comfortable , the bathroom could use a good dose of Clorox and a new toilet seat that should have been replaced years ago. Breakfast I expected a little more, there was no meat and the do-it-yourself station for waffles was pretty messy. I should have taken a few pictures.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Very disappointed

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My husband and I both stayed in Howard Johnson's as children with our families so we thought we would try it. Very disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WNC

Reservation not honored

Posted Aug 20, 2017
We knew we'd be driving from D.C. to WNC with our toddler in the late evening and anticipated we'd be tired so we booked our 8/19 /17 reservation well in advance to have a good night's sleep along the route home. The details of the already-paid reservation read "guaranteed for late arrival," but we called the hotel at 9p.m. to remind them we'd be arriving well after midnight anyway. We arrived at 2:20a.m. ready to sleep until the 11a.m. checkout only to be told they had given away our room. The front desk clerk was saying the same thing to the man ahead of us who's reservation had also not be honored. Especially due to the eclipse no hotel from Daleville, VA to WNC had any availability at that hour and even the rest areas were over-packed with weary travelers. It was a catastrophe as we made our way home exhausted and confused as to why our room that was already paid for wasn't kept for us. Horrible end to our vacation. Even the refund doesn't quite take the experience of the last 10 hours of exhausted travel away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Finksburg MD

For the price, it's a bed to sleep in

Posted Aug 20, 2017
We booked a room that said it slept 5 people. It did not. We asked for a roll-away bed (for $10) but they didn't have any more, so I slept in a chair in bad need of repair and reupholstery. The sheets on the beds were clean. The carpet and everything else not so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Close to trail

Posted Jul 18, 2017
As a hiker, I loved that it is close to the Appalachain Trail (100 yds). Plenty restaurants in close proximity, resupply also close and a great trail shuttler (Homer and Therese Witcher). Great place to take a zero day. Breakfast was sub-par. No fruit, cereal bowls were slightly bigger than a juice glass. No yogurt. Just juice, 2 pastry choices, cereal without bowls and watered down scrammbled eggs. Rooms were fine. Defineately a hiker room.