Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice Room big rooms

Posted Jan 17, 2017
The hotel rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was just a pot of coffee and some Costco granola bars. Staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for evaluating your stay at Extended Stay America Arlington - Six Flags. We are glad to read how happy you were with your roomy accommodation and the friendliness of our associates. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So disappointing.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: See above.
Location: Close to our family.
We thought at the price the hotel would at least have the minimum standards. As an extended stay there are usually things like an extra blanket, a knife, maybe a coffee maker. None of these were available. There was no ice in the hotel anywhere and there was only 1 spoon. The refrigerator had dirt embedded in the creases of the handle, the toilet paper holder had not been cleaned (not sure when). The carpet smelled. The "bedspread" such as it was was so cheap it wouldn't stay on the bed and since it was the only means of keeping warm, we had a very uncomfortable sleep. The signage was difficult to find (one had to look for the signage and since the elevator was not visible on the main floor and was around the corner, one had to find it before dragging luggage around. The breakfast was suppose to be "grab and go" which included one empty pot of coffee and another that had been sitting for sometime, muffins that should have probably been retired several weeks earlier. When we went to check out, there was a handwritten sign that read "call this number for assistance". The phone to make the call had an "out of order sign" on it. Since we had paid through Expedia we went ahead and left. We realize it was a holiday, but this was like staying in a third world location. Although the hotel had issues, the two staff we encountered were friendly and helpful, in spite of working over a holiday. However, needless to say, we will not be staying at this hotel ever again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Your comments are very important to us. I am saddened to hear that your first impression of our hotel was not a great one and we want everyone to enjoy their stay with us. I am, however, pleased to hear that our staff had a positive impression. Your comments will be shared among our staff in order to help us improve in all areas you identified. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider giving us another try in the future. General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from el paso

Not clean!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Rooms are not clean daily, table and restroom were dirty. Also, I needed towels and I had to go downstairs to get them my self cause there was only one person at front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you staying with us and providing a review of your experience. After reading your feedback about housekeeping not visiting your suite, it appears we may have missed an important communication during your check-in. To respect the privacy of our guests staying for long periods of time, our housekeeping service is conducted on a weekly basis, although we are always happy to provide housekeeping at your request for a minimal fee. And fresh linens and towels along with any toiletries are always available at the front desk. We are grateful for the feedback you provided and we hope you will stay with us again soon.  Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No complaints at all.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Good location & price for what we were there for. All good here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review! We are so glad you had a flawless experience with us and that our location and pricing were just wat you were looking for. Thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to your next stay at Extended Stay America - Arlington - Six Flags. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The TV was broken and shower drain was clogged. We called 3 times for assistance and no one came---highly disappointed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest evaluation of your stay. I am deeply sorry our staff was not as responsive as they should have been in working to address your specific concerns. It is always our goal to follow up immediately and to resolve everything to your total satisfaction. Your comments show we have room for improvement, and I assure you we will be more diligent going forward. I hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from weslaco, TX

Close to great attractions

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Great experience definitely will be booking jn the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at Extended Stay America - Arlington - Six Flags. We are delighted to know you had a comfortable stay with us and that our location was perfect for your needs. We appreciate you being our guest and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointing stay

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Location: Great location that's why they don't have much to offer! You staty b/c it is literally right next to AT& T Stadium and Six Flags over Texas.
Hotel was a huge disappointment. No room service during your stay. If you wanted clean towels, you should have brought your own. We had a suite, the AC in one room didn't work at all, resulting in my family having to move to another room. (free of charge) The Continental Breakfast was "Grab & Go" which amounted to coffee and pre-packaged oatmeal. Will not stay there again even if it is very close to everything in Arlington.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Sharon for your feedback. We apologize for your disappointment with the in-suite amenities. Since our suites are designed for guests staying multiple nights desiring home-like living, these guests often bring their own bath amenities such as hairdryers and toiletries. These items are available and complimentary at the front desk at any time. Kitchenware for your suite is also available and kept at the front desk to ensure cleanliness, and our team gladly delivers these items to your suite. Your feedback is appreciated, and we will be sure our front desk communicates this more clearly going forward. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon.  Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Location: It's close to six flags and cowboys stadium. Easy drive to those places
It wasn't the best hotel in the area. It was priced pretty high for the condition of the hotel. It wasn't extremely clean and the hotel itself is old (which contributed to the lack of cleanness). The coffee was good and the staff was nice! The breakfast is packaged muffins and granola bars. The hotel served it's purpose, and I would book again as a last resort! I found it odd that a person was selling Cowboys merchandise in the lobby area (the person was a little creepy).
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. We are glad that you liked our courteous associates, convenient location and the breakfast we serve. We also appreciate your observations for our property and regret any inconvenience caused while you were here. Thank you once again, we look forward to serving you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel staff was very nice and welcoming.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location to our venue was good, only a long walk or a short uber ride from all that we needed.
Cons: The beds are pretty firm and uncomfortable. That and there is no trash can or bags in the room. Rather than leave it in the room for the housekeeper, we had to walk it out. That was fine, but inconvenient.
Location: Close to AT&T Stadium, six flags and many bars and restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting Extended Stay America - Arlington - Six Flags for your visit and for sharing your comments. We are delighted to read that your visit was pleasant and our location was perfect for your needs. It’s also pleasing to know you enjoyed the hospitality of our associates. Thanks for being our guest, and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Pay the xtra money and stay somewhere else. Dirty!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Lets start off by say this.. For the bucks you get what you get.. 2 beds, sofa bed and kitchen with fridge. Close to six flags and stadiums. that the only good thing here. Now on to the nitty gritty.!!!! We arrived around noon... Walked inside to see if we could check in early.... First thing we noticed walking in was how filthy and nasty the windows and glass doors were... The second odor was that of smoke and pets... The third odor was that of armpit.... This was a nasty first impression;;; Definitely under staffed and no one looked as if they took pride in working at the hotel... The staff was horrible... GO spend the extra money elsewhere.... Stay somewhere else... I can go on and on.. Bottom line if your black they will check you in early.. If your Latino you will be waiting forever and they will ignore you... This place is a joke and nasty... People stay here only because of its location.... and is their only last option to stay near the parks and stadium...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Heather, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues you experienced and that you did not have a positive first impression. We hope to have you back as our guest so we can impress in all ways. Sincerely, General Manager