Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from richardson

Better avoid stay here

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Awful smell coming out of room, carpet is really poor quality unchanged for decades.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Krishna- Thank you for your recent stay at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Richardson, Texas. We are very sorry about the inconvenience. However, please be assured we replaced the carpet in the room you were in as well as few others that needed. Rest of our carpets are few years old and in good shape. We placed odor removers where appropriate. Please give us another chance. Sincerely, Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GOOD location

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Never had a problem with this property. Always reliable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest- Thank you for staying with the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Richardson, Texas and for posting this review. It was a pleasure serving you and look forward to do the same when you arrive next time. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hotel was ok.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Parking.
Cons: Update room and also allow late check outs.
Stayed there overnight for business. Asked for late check out and was told no. Rooms are large, but kind of old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest- It was a pleasure to have been of service to you. And, yes, we take our guest comments very seriously and constantly change product to your suggestions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away!!!

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Phone and some lights didn't work. Was moved to another room, it had bugs. I checked into another hotel. Wouldn't go back even if I was given a free room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Michael- I am very sorry your stay was unsatisfactory. We called our professional exterminator and had it checked thoroughly. We routinely get professional service and they do a good job. We changed non-working lights. Hope you give us another chance. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to UTD

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Clean. Location
Cons: Stable Internet support
Location: Convenient location, next to HW 75, close to UTD.
Clean hotel. OK reception desk. Unstable WIFI connection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Guest- Thank you for your recent stay and for providing your feedback. We greatly appreciate it and please know we upgraded the WiFi connection.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Don't remove your shoes - Pass up this hotel!

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Upon arrival into the non-smoking room, I could tell a heavy smoker had been in the room. The curtains smelled bad, this room was being used on a regular basis as a smoking room. I had removed my shoes and stuck to something on the carpet. Left shoes on the rest of the time. The bathroom toilet was so dirty, I placed hand towels on it in order to use it. The bath towels were dirty, Good thing I travel with extra towels and sheets. The walls were dirty who knows what was on them. The vent for the a/c rattled so much that sleep was not an option.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Trish- Thank you for our recent stay at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Richardson, TX. I apologize you have had issues but please know smoking rooms are only in one of our buildings and they are designated and never rented as non-smoking. We normally check our rooms each day prior to placing in service. I have forwarded your feedback to the appropriate staff for review. Please be assured this will not happen again. Sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Texas

Dirty, Dangerous, Bad

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Cons: Literally everything.
Location: Dangerous and sketchy.
Two men were loitering outside the building and watched me closely as I unpacked my car, and had their eyes on me the whole time I walked up to my room. My key didn't work and so I had to walk back past them....at 11 o clock at night, by yourself, there is NO good reason they should have been hanging out there and it was scary. Later a cop came and removed them. Finally got a working key, and my room was a smoking room, but they tried to tell me it was non smoking. So gross. Dirty floor, stuff in the fridge, a bare lightbulb, dresser was missing a drawer (seriously)....it was pretty bad. Next morning I needed to iron my shirt, and there was an ironing board but no iron! Then realized there was no phone to call the front desk with. So I called on my cell phone and the guy informed me that he couldn't leave the desk, but housekeeping could bring me one after 8 o clock....I had to leave at 6:30 so that was unacceptable. I was told there was nothing they could do. This room was nasty and I didn't feel safe here. The customer service was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Emma- I apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. I was surprised by the room mix up...we normally do better service than this. It was a booked up month due to storms in the area. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Jebel, CO

Decent Room but Nothing Special

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: The location was convenient and the room was clean and large.
Cons: Management needs to pay attention to detail, from the condition of the breakfast room to the disruptive behavior of guests.
The room was spacious and in good shape. Unfortunately, the hotel seems to cater to long term guests who spend a lot of time outside making noise all night long. The biggest disappointments, however, were the breakfast and the management. The breakfast selection was pretty slim to start with and they didn't even keep that stocked. One morning all four cereal dispensers were empty and the waffle dispenser was out of order. Frequently there were no utensils or glasses. When I brought this to the attention of the desk clerk she asked me to find the kitchen attendant and tell her about the problem. I don't think guests should be expected to manage the breakfast room, but apparently hotel management doesn't do this either because the next morning the situation was unchanged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mike- We respectfully acknowledge your suggestions and made some immediate changes. Brought in a full-time manager who is now taking care of things in a timely manner. I apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Room was nice. Lobby was a mess. Staff was just ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2015 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest- Thank you for your stay at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Richardson, TX. It was please to be of service to you. Our property just changed ownership and they are seriously upgrading the product so your feedback is well-taken. Glad our staff were able to help you. Seen you next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Guest Relations Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't believe what is advertised

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Never seen a smaller pool. Says indoor/outdoor. Only an outdoor puddle. Looks good in pictures but more like a ragged apartment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest- We apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory to you. Hope you will give us another chance to be of service to you. Sincerely,