Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Garland, Texas

Nice looking, fairly new, but poorly maintained.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Good location for me, and nice looking on the outside. Good electrical outlets and a decent TV.
Cons: The decor was from a 60s cartoon and just did not work. The building maintenance was really sub-par.
Location: Good shopping: Walmart, Target, Firewheel Mall, etc. A lot of restaurants, and a theater. Firewheel Golf course. Garland special event center.
This hotel is around the corner from my house, so I stayed here a few days while my floors were being refinished. The hotel is only a few years old and looks nice, but I was pretty disappointed. At the front desk checking in the girl was clearly new and had to ask her manager for help several times, so a simple checkin ended up taking about 15 minutes. I noticed the tile was loose getting into the elevator, and the floor indicator was burned out and someone had etched their initials into the plastic. When I got off the elevator, I noticed the vending room had recently been painted, so the masking tape was still all over the door, etc., and there were no vending machines. My room was a handicapped room, painted in an awful shade of puke green; the tile was sticky; and there were rust stains in the shower from where the handicapped bars had been added with non-stainless screws. The room was painfully warm even though the thermostat was turned way down. After complaining several times a maintenance guy finally showed up to check out the air conditioning, and ended up having to replace the unit. The new one worked, but did not connect to the thermostat and made a terrible racket that kept me up much of the night. There was free Internet, but it was completely unusable in the evenings. I did not try the restaurant or bar. When I checked out three days later the vending area was still in exactly the same state as when I checked in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Bret U, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you very much for you sharing your experience while a guest at the Holiday Inn Garland for three days. We want you to know how much we appreciate your feedback. We would like to apologize to you for the delay in check in as we have several new hires working the desk to improve our service levels. I am sure the next time you come to the hotel you will have a much more improved check in experience. We want you to know that we are in the process of replacing the tile in the elevators and we are sure you will like it when you come back. We have vending machines on every other floor and the vending area that you saw actually is in the process of becoming a storage room. We apologize for any confusion this has caused you. We were glad to see that the maintenance staff replaced your air conditioner but want to deeply apologize for the inconvenience from this and the noise that the unit made. Please know that you room issues have been turned in and corrective action has been done to each of them....thank you! We look forward to seeing you again soon if/when you have future house renovations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cspead

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: clean rooms and well stocked didn't really have to ask for anything great appearance upon arrival
Location: there are stores very close to hotel and also a mall nearby very convenient
Jeffery is an awesome person he made the stay worth while the rooms were very clean neat and the staff very friendly I will visit again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Bret U, Hotel Management
Dear cspead, Thank you for the 5 star rating regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Garland. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We will make sure to let Jeffrey know that you appreciated the attention he gave you. Also, we appreciate the kind words of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.
2 out of 5
by David from ATX

Holiday Inn George Bush in Garland - eh...

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
While my bed was very comfortable, the pillows were not. Plus, the old style AC turned on/off all night, and I never like that. Noisy! Also, the common areas of the hotel were hot, and that wasn't good. The breakfast was very limited but good enough. Horrible color scheme inside the hotel made me ill... I guess the price was fare but I would not return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and please know how deeply sorry we are that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been reviewed by the team and have been resolved. We hope that you will give us another try when travel brings you back to the Garland area.
5 out of 5
by heila from San benito

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
could use continental breakfast for the price and chrome for computer use
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear heila, Thank you for giving the hotel a 5 Star review! We are so grateful that you let us know how your experience was while at the Holiday Inn Garland. The Holiday Inn Garland is a full service hotel which includes a full service restaurant. This hotel is not like Holiday Inn Express hotels that offer a complimentary continental breakfast. Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by Terri

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Terri, Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Garland. We appreciate your feedback and were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
by Jerry from Alabama

Disappointed

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
The air conditioner did not work correctly. My schedule did not give me the opportunity to discuss with management but they should know the condition of their equipment. I was totally disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jerry, Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Please know that your concerns have been reported and corrected. We hope that you will give us another try when travel brings you back to the Garland area so that you will have a better experience.
5 out of 5
by Clara

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Clara, Thank you for the 5 Star review! We were very pleased to learn that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Amjad, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent survey of the Holiday Inn Garland. We appreciate the 5-Star rating that you gave us. We are glad that you stayed with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pros and Cons

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: - Nice location - Nice spacious rooms - Very spacious breakfast area - Great rates
Cons: - Unfriendly demeanor of front desk staff , Gym machines not working and discourteous and indifferent response from front desk staff
Location: office trip
Pros: - Nice location - Nice spacious rooms - Very spacious breakfast area - Great rates Cons: - Unfriendly demeanor of front desk staff - Gym machines not working and discourteous and indifferent response from front desk staff - No complimentary breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2016 by Bret, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the survey and we want you to know that we appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. We want you to know that we take our customer service very seriously and want to apologize to you for not meeting your expectations. The front office team are very personable and we are sorry that they did not show that to you. We wanted to let you know that the gym equipment has been fixed and all work out equipment is now operational. We wanted to let you know that this is a Holiday Inn and operates with a full service restaurant. Our Holiday Inn Express offers the standard complimentary breakfast in the lobby. We hope you did not get the 2 different properties confused. Again, thank you for the survey and we hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn Garland!
3 out of 5
by Virginia from shreveport

Okay stay.

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Overall wasn't bad; people very nice. Certain areas of the walls were a little beat up. the paint had come off and the sheetrock was exposed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Amjad, Hotel Management
Dear Virginia, Thank you for submitting a survey regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to see that our staff was nice as we strive for great customer service. Thank you for letting us know about the condition of your room and we want you to know that it was reported and fixed. We look forward to having you as a guest again when travel brings you back to the Garland area.