Ratings based on 2,676 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Great view of the city. Very nice hotel. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Good location for downtown sightseeing

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Good location for walking to downtown spots including Reuniom Tower, museums, Pioneer Plaza, etc. Also, several restaurants close by to the hotel. Hotel does offer a shuttle to close attractions and restaurants such as the House of Blues.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cle

Great service in a cool hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Historic hotel with cool modern decor. Helpful staff. Good location downtown near restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

The service is really bad.

Posted May 30, 2016
They recommend us to eat in the restaurant on the second floor. Food was terrible and the service was really bad
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted May 13, 2016
Everything was great, location and atmosphere was great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2016
Staff was extremely nice, and fast with meeting needs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2016
Great perks with snacks and comfortable environment.
3 out of 5
by diana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Michael from Atlanta

Won't Be Back...

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
I've probably stayed at the Magnolia a dozen times over the past few years, but i won't be back after my experience this week. I arrived early, and was told that my room was ready and available, but that I would have to pay a $50.00 "early check-in fee" to have access. I certainly understand paying for late check-out, but I don't see any way that checking in early creates an incremental expense for the hotel. Worst of all, the desk clerk was unable to give any explanation of the fee except to tell me that it wasn't her policy so she shouldn't be held accountable. If you are going to implement an opportunistic fee, you should at least arm your team with a story...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Holiday Inn in disguise....

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: The lounge area was nice, with great nook seating areas etc. to curl up with a cocktail in the evening but it was a daycare the night we were there.
Cons: If the rate was lowered by 25% it would be priced appropriately.
Location: We had a great dinner at CBD Provisions in the adjacent Joule hotel.
We booked a king room online with Expedia months ahead. Upon arrival there was a line for check-in (two agents actively working, another handling what seemed like endless calls coming in). Everyone ahead of me appeared to either (1) not have reservations or (2) have issues with their current room situation i.e. booked a king and got a queen. (It made me dream of an "express check-in" for those of us who plan ahead...) At check-in we were told the room we booked with Expedia was not available so we had been 'upgraded at no cost' to a queen suite. We say ok because it's obvious the hotel is in over their head after overhearing everyone's issues ahead of me. The queen suite was a bit outdated and the bathroom was very small with poor lighting. There was a full kitchen in the suite if that's something one would need while staying in downtown Dallas. Very aged appliances and basic but it was there. The complimentary happy hour, evening cookies/coffee and breakfast were a reason we booked this hotel. It was comparable in price to say The W nearby but included these 'extras' plus the parking fee was advertised as less. It was definitely not worth the price we paid once we experienced the extras. The happy hour is very limited i.e bud light and the evening cookies/coffee and breakfast were chaotic. The large group of 12 year olds running and screaming in the 'lounge' area the evening we were there contributed to my comparison of the hotel to a Holiday Inn.