Ratings based on 3,699 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, Alabama

Convenient hotel with excellent staff

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The newly renovated rooms put you in the lap of luxury in downtown Dallas. The pool area and fire pit are great relaxing outdoor spaces. The only area that stands to be improved are the options and hours for in room dining-- but I hear that is coming when the renovation to the restaurant and lounge is completed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wink, TX

Great place to stay when you're downtown.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
If you're not on a tight budget, by all means this is the place to stay. Very nice, historic, centralized, and pleasant hotel. Although going through some construction during our visit, we took advantage of the town car services offered, bellman suggested a delicious nearby breakfast cafe and sent for a car to take us too and from. Great staff, beautiful rooms. My only complaint would be the valet/parking fees and process - but these are to be expected at any place throughout the downtown area. Overall - great experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, but under construction so limitations

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Exceptional staff and great location in downtown Dallas.
Due to hotel construction, their usual great valet service was changed to limited street service, it also limited room service, front desk was always busy, and no bar or restaurant available. I asked for a quiet room, but was near their elevators that we could hear as if a lot of wind close by.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

UNUSABLE ROOM

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: It looked like a nice hotel. It certainly seemed to have character, but they have no idea what customer service actually is.
Cons: They should move the exercise room to a floor where no one is trying to sleep below it.
Location: Coffee in the hotel was substandard, and everything nearby was closed. Avoid downtown on the weekends.
Room 634, and probably many rooms close to it, are directly under the exercise room. Loud banging on the floor began at 6:30 am Sunday morning and continued throughout the day making it impossible to sleep. I sleep easily anywhere in a horizontal position, and I could not sleep because of the loud and sudden banging.The management seemed to think that a free breakfast and free parking (which was already half for me as a VIP user at Expedia) was adequate compensation. I would never stay here again and I've been to Dallas six times in the last six months. I would advise others to not stay here as well unless the hotel can guarantee you will not be on the 6th floor. I stayed at the Omni a few blocks away two weeks earlier, and it was superior in every respect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The newly renovated rooms are modern and nice. I only have good things to say about my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Woodlands, Texas

Beautiful hotel and outstanding staff

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Enormous room, great location, very helpful and attentive staff
The hotel staff went out of their way to assist.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as good as it can be

Posted Feb 7, 2017
On balance the experience was made good by the staff of the hotel. They were very helpful and quick about it. The facility is under construction which detracted from our stay whenever we entered or left the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable with nice amenities. For the price I would probably shop around next time a little more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

A tremendous hotel- but wait for May 2017

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: This is a wonderful old-school hotel; comfortable and elegant and the refurbishment makes it even nicer. Love the staff.....
Cons: They're working as fast as they can to finish the upgrades so I can't complain.
Location: The Arts District is a quick Uber ride away, as is the West End.
I love the Adolphus. The location is an easy Uber from anywhere in Dallas you care to visit. The staff are all smiling and friendly professionals. The refurbished rooms are sparkling, modern and elegant; we loved our suite which matched the expectations you would have for this level of hotel. In general, the Adolphus is a relaxed old-school hotel where you instantly feel comfortable and gently pampered by the staff. Right now, though a few a realities intrude into the experience. The refurbishment isn't finished yet and some things can be a bit frustrating. The escalators from ground level to Lobby level still (after a year if I remember?) don't work, and we literally had to get help from staff to get from that level down to the desk to check out. The thing I love most about staying at the Adolphus is The French Room Restaurant, and it is closed for refurbishment until roughly the end of May 2017, according to Hotel staff. Check in takes place in what's essentially a (nicely furnished) cloak room while the grand lobby is being finished. Be sure to have a nice tip ready in your pocket when you finish checking in and stare at the 30? steps from ground level up into the hotel wondering how you'll get your bags to your room. The porter will automatically whisk theme from your hand and take them to your room at that point, but you'll still be perplexed for a moment (yes, there is an elevator if you can't make the steps, but you'll never find it without asking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Beautiful restored old world elegance!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Central downtown Dallas. Can walk to restaurants and shopping!
Girls weekend with my daughters and granddaughter ! Beautiful restored 1912 hotel! Large rooms with most comfortable beds! Beautiful lobby with 2 massive fireplaces! Wonderful staff! Would recommend to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place but under Reno.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Fabulous property. Very unfortunate that it's under Reno. I'm sure it will be great one day, but it certainly spoils the experience. Room was newly renovated and the hallways were brand new. Absolutely fabulous. Very sad that the French Room was closed for renos. Our check in staff did a great job of taking care of us while we waited for our room to be ready. Valet parking is $40, so be prepared for that.