Ratings based on 2,093 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice old hotel but under major construction

Posted Jan 22, 2018
The hotel was clean and quint but under major construction and it was messy and very loud Despite claiming the workers don't start until 10AM I was awoken at 7 AM with loud banging and noises
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester. UK

Very good location

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: The staff, bar, food and view from our room (front facing).
Cons: Currently (Jan 18) hotel is having a reception area refurb causing some noise and dust (in that area).
Location: Great location.
Short walk from this hotel into the main city centre; right behind the Royal Palace and Dam Square. This is an old hotel that was the original Heineken Brewery with lots of original features, great bar, coffee shop and food/restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thornhill, ON

Steps away from dam square

Posted Jan 16, 2018
This was my third stay at this hotel. I like to stay here due to its perfect location which is extremely central: across the New Church and next to Magna Plaza. Pros: Good wifi & clean rooms. Extremely helpful staff. Cons: Walls a little bit thinner. Tip: Try steak at Hulscher's
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Die Port van Cleve - Highly recommended

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Room, staff, bar & restaurant, location - excellent. Tram & buses right out front but good walking opportunities. A short block from Dam Square; hotel is central to city attractions. Great value & experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, ohio

Great Location.

Posted Nov 23, 2017
A bit overpriced (like many other Amsterdam hotels) but excellent location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice location

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Wotif
This is my second time and the location is fantastic. The rooms were good and bathroom spacious. I will return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for all aspects of city

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Very good hotel staff very helpful would recommend
5 out of 5
by andy

Excellent stay

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful break at a first class hotel and welcoming staff
2 out of 5
by Clifton

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and very good breakfast. Friends payed much less for the same nights for a nicer room....stuffy room with no opening windows...top of windows were 4 feet off the floor....definitely not 4 star....
5 out of 5
by Mohamed

Awesome Experience

Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Hotels
We recently stayed at this property on our trip to Amsterdam. Excellent Stay! The hotel is centrally located and staff is very friendly and helpful. I will highly recommend this hotel. Tram and major attractions are close by.