Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom had a horrible smell.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Location: The pub next door was good.
My room did not have a window and the bathroom had a horrific smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great for a quick stay

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Needed a room for just one night that was within walking distance to the train station, had air conditioning, an elevator, breakfast and a low price point. This was it!! Not fancy by any means...but had what we needed and the breakfast was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, California

Very good location

Posted Aug 13, 2017
The place was about 7min walk from the central train station. Close to red light district and about 15min walk from dam square. Theres free breakfast at the restaurant right beside it. This is the second hotel we stayed at that is centrally located and this one was much better than the other. Although this one was a little more expensive but justifiably so. The beds were comfortable, flat screen TV, coffee maker, private bathroom, work table, wifi, AC, cant beat the location, and they actually have an elevator, where as the other hotel which was about $40 cheaper, there was only a bed, very small bathroom, electric fan, no AC, no elevator which was so inconvenient being that our room was on the 5th floor.. so yeah, the $40 upgrade for this place was well worth it. Would definitely stay here next time we hit up Amsterdam.
2 out of 5
by Mariam

Make sure, not to get a room in the basement.

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel had a central location and great breakfast. The room was in the basement with very poor ventilation and loud plumbing. First time ever, slept in a hotel without windows - very uncomfortable and spooky.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good location but cramped.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: I will say that the good thing was the breakfast at Molly Malones next door that was included in the price of the hotel.
Cons: The rooms
Location: It was close to the train station, the canal cruises and easy to get to the Museums and Vondelpark by tram. No car necessary.
It looked better online than in person. The staff was friendly but the room left much to be desired. We reserved a triple room and it seems that an extra bed was squeezed into a double room that was small to begin with. The curtain rod on the window was loose, there was only one toilet paper roll for three people and we never got the extra roll we asked for. The room was not properly cleaned nor were the garbage cans emptied. There was not a single drawer to put anything away in as there was no furniture in the room, except for the beds and two small side tables with no drawers and a shelf on the wall that I suppose was a "desk".
5 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver British Columbia Canada

Excellent Downtown Amsterdam Hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: convenient to all major Amsterdam attractions
Location: For being in the heart of active Amsterdam - the hotel was surprisingly quiet.
Hotel France is a gem - no frills - downtown Dutch hotel. Easy walking distance from the Amsterdam Centraal train station. And close to all major attractions. Molly's Pub - where we had our comp hotel breakfast - was outstanding & added to the unique travel experience.
5 out of 5
by ANDREW

FANTASTIC POSITION

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
HOTEL CLEAN, COMFY AND FRIENDLY, FANTASTIC POSITION
3 out of 5
by Liz

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay Away!!! Don't be fooled by the photos!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
This hotel looks fine in the pictures online, but in reality it's more like a cheap hostel once you're past the lobby. Our room was dirty, but worse it has no windows - just these weird fake windows that look into a fake closet type of thing or old elevator shaft that is lit up 24 hours a day with bright lights. With only a sheer curtain and the light from the weird shaft on all night, our room was so bright at night we couldn't sleep. Our other fake window had a proper curtain so we very nicely asked hotel management if maybe they could put a curtain on the bright window or move rooms and the man was so unbelievably rude and never did a thing about it. Lastly, someone had previously broken into the room so the wood around where the door locks was missing - I didn't feel unsafe but I'm sure many people would not like a room that isn't very secure, especially given there were no additional locks on the door. I feel like I got tricked by the nice photos they post - and I also feel that I am not very picky where I stay - but this place was a joke.