Ratings based on 3,842 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spfld, mo

Close to train station a big plus

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Amazing service, electric black-out curtains, and free food/drinks from minibar
Cons: Dangerously lip entering bathroom could cause fall. Inability to control temperature is a real problem for people who like cool rooms for sleeping.
Location: Great location
Overall excellent stay and very nice people. Check in was slow as they were apparently training a new person. What I really appreciated, however, was the ability to get in our room around 12:00 after an all night flight from U.S.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2017
The best describe this hotel is the great ubication they have!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Gorgeous hotel, very comfortable room

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable rooms, free minibar, lovely spa, stunning decor, friendly staff, excellent location
Cons: Would be nice if breakfast was included as it was rather pricey at 25 euros each. We weren't able to pick up wifi in our room (new part of hotel)
Location: Only a short walk from the central station and close enough to walk into town
Excellent stay in this hotel! Very striking, unusual building - make you you have a wander around while you're there, especially take note of the "map" windows and old paternoster lifts of a bygone era (sadly decommissioned, but interesting to view!). Beautiful room - very spacious, and the underfloor heating in the bathroom and free minibar were a lovely bonus. The spa is wonderful - I spent a whole evening there one night! The location is fantastic, very close to the main station with brilliant views across the canals. Close enough to walk to many of the main sights. Staff all very helpful and friendly. We would definitely come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location, building with interesting history

Posted Dec 12, 2017
A beautiful.old classical building from early 1900s. Staff are very friendly and helpful and bilingual in English. Meals are well done and we'll served and feature European-style foods,not hamburgers and fries. We got caught in a snowstorm that screwed everything up and they came thru with flying colors.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex, UK

Depends what you want

Posted Dec 12, 2017
We were there for a mixture of business and pleasure. It was not the Hotel's fault that the weather was so unpleasant. It is within a reasonable walking distance for the able bodied to the Central Station and Tram/Bus/Metro connections, as well as the centre such as Dam Square(we caught a tram when the rain/snow got too bad!). The main restaurant was only open for breakfast, so eating in meant using the bar. OK, but not what you expect from a 5* Hotel. There are lots of alternatives within a reasonable walking distance, although again we used the trams due to the weather. It is not a modern hotel, and in places it was very much faded glories. Would we use it again - probably not as there are other choices whichever price range you are after, and ones which are still nearer the centre and relevant facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Luxury hotel close to centre

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Fantastic hotel, with very attentive staff. Very clean and luxurious, bathroom and showers excellent and very comfy bed. Great location close to city centre and station, but also quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethel, CT

Great Location, Beautiful Building, Quirky

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: The staff while overwhelmed bent over backwards to accommodate our needs and truly made an effort to correct any issues that came up.
Cons: the heat was never turned on in our room until I complained, the rooms are really dark! the cubbies should be turned into closets as there are none!
Location: the location is perfect, a five minute walk to the central train station, red light district, restaurants the hop on hop off bus stops on the corner
We stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam for 6 nights in early December. The first thing that I would like to say is that you need to have a sense of humor to stay here. The building is quite old and was never meant to be a hotel so there are some issues that come up that just can't be helped. As all other reviews state the hotel is a maze and you can easily get lost and in getting lost you get to see the beauty and history of this lovely building. The first night we had dinner at the hotel in the bar area as we had a bit of jet lag. The food was delicious, at one point we asked for the rolls to be warmed, when we had finished dinner we asked about the heated rolls and why they never came and we were told that they were making us fresh rolls. We were shocked, the fresh rolls came out during coffee and they were perfect! We did not care for the breakfast buffet especially for the price, it was not impressive at all however at 10a.m. in the bar you can get the French breakfast with fresh eggs and juice for 15euro which was delicious. Our favorite thing at the hotel was the fresh mint tea which was perfect after a long day of sightseeing. The bar area has a very comfortable vibe and you can just hang out there. The hotel has a very small lobby so the bar in some ways doubles as a place to gather. With such an old building things go wrong or just don't work, this is where your sense of humor comes in, some things just can't be fixed. I would stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
building not appropriate for a hotel you get easily lost in korridors which look ugly rooms are much better than the rest but the hotel overall is old and of bad taste the staff it is not really welcoming and you might regretyourchoice ofthe hotel starting from the reception area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Fine. Good standing, convenient location, what you expect from that level of hotel, nothing above, nothing below.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel near most things

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Good staff , nice facilities ,some things expensive but expect that with a five star hotel.
Cons: Maybe check in , but can't think of anything more
Location: Near town centre , train station , near maritime museum , most things not that far as Amsterdam quite a compact city .
Good hotel with good facilities , but have had upgraded rooms , so cannot comment on standard room