Ratings based on 4,223 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel,

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: The design
Cons: nothing
Location: Close to the train station and down town Amsterdam
Art Deco design, easy check-in very close to the city centre, train station etc, but still quiet. friendly staff and very, very comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AnnArbor, Michigan

Historic building with all the right touches

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Large room and windows overlooking canal.
Cons: Hard to say....I guess include breakfast.
Location: Perfect access with 5 minute walk to central train station. You can walk or take the tram anywhere.
Lovely room that captures the history of this building but wth all the modern comforts. Great high ceilings and full Windows. Comfortable bed and linens. Very clean and nice touch of coffee machine and complementary mini bar. A very nice touch. Also has a small pool, exercise room, sauna and hot tub. Great close location to central train station. Staff very welcoming. We highly recommend. A special thank you for making our 25 anniversary special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Bellman was outstanding...as was the concierge.
Cons: Dining options.
Beautiful room and good location. Common areas and dining options were not optimal.No air conditioning in the hotel, so be aware!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great!!!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
when we went to this hotel they gave us a room with no view, we asked for upper view and they accepted our request . the view of our room was the canal and the city. we loved our room. the rooms are huge. the location is great. staff very friendly and the restaurant's food is great too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset UK

Lovely old style hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: it was something from a bygone age. When fully operating I am sure it would be fabulous
Cons: Advance warnings that refurbishment was being undertaken would have been much better.
Location: The location was perfect. It was a short walk to the train station and tram stops. Nearby were lovely places to eat and access to canal walks was easy
The hotel did not tell us in advance that it was undergoing refurbishment. Our first room was not very clean and below standard for the star rating. We specifically asked if the ground floor room they had allocated, would be noisy and were assured it would not. However, the traffic noise was audible all night and just outside our window was a bus stop. My husband was determined to change rooms and eventually we were moved to another room the next day. The dining room was closed except for a buffet breakfast and for large groups. The selection in the bar was poor. My husband asked that the head and tail be removed from his fish and when it came back to the table, the "chef" had tried to fillet it and it looked like cat food. I would like to think that, if we ever went back to the Amrath it would be wonderful, refurbishment having been completed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

We stay here again and again!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Hotel is in a great location - easy to get to our favourite restaurants and bars. The staff are always helpful. Rooms are a good size. Have always found them to be clean and the power shower is fabulous! The free minibar has beer, water (still and sparkling), red and white wine, soft drinks and is replenished daily - always a bonus! We usually only stay for one night, however, this time we were in Amsterdam for 4 days, so we thought we would take the opportunity to try out the spa / wellness centre. What a lovely experience! The pool was empty - there were just the 2 of us and it is large enough to be able to swim a few lengths. We didn't try the sauna (have used those before), but we did try the steam room which was lovely and really helped the hangovers :) We also treated ourselves to a Chakra massage (at the same time). André and Ian were fantastic! They asked whether we had any particular areas we wanted them to work on, I have an RSI injury in my elbow, which André gave some specific attention to and it really has helped. The pain I had has been much less since the treatment - thank you André! Ian worked on my boyfriend's shoulders and back as he spends a lot of time driving and we both floated out of the centre, wishing our 65 minutes had gone on a bit longer! We would definitely recommend spoiling yourself and booking in for one of those!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

The building is very old And lacks modern facilit

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Lift is very old and the bar fridge did not work The staff took too long to fix issues
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Confusing ratings.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the central rail station and a short walk into the old city
Cons: Service; AC; pricing
Location: The hotel is on a main street opposite the NEMO exhibit and a short walk from the main railway station and the sites in the Old City,
I would recommend this hotel only because of its being located in a convenient section of the city close to the central rail station. Otherwise, it's pricey for the services that are offered, especially the cocktail lounge and the 25 euro ($30) pp buffet breakfast, where service was almost non-existent. We got a much better all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast just a few blocks away at another hotel. The ventilation system is controlled centrally; the room controls are just for show, and the room became uncomfortable for lack of air circulation more than once. The lighting in the bathroom is poor for shaving, and the bathtub/shower combo are difficult to enter and get out of. Many of the rooms have windows that open up into air shafts and face other rooms' windows. The room given to another person in my party had a construction office within reach of the window; so much for opening windows and drapes. The entrance to the building and the public restrooms are not handicapped accessible, due to its landmark status (it's a converted shipping office building).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very lovely quirky hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Excellent location. Close to Central station and many restaurants and sights are walkable. Lovely hotel and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Watch your credit card!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
They put a hold on my card for a $125 Euro per night, plus the entire Expedia reservation that was for 2 people and then the total bill for the room as well. It takes a week to get the hold off of the card. They never disclosed they were doing this. I had over 3 times the charges held on my card worth of holds. They basically told me to suck it up. Never again. No other hotel did this and I was in 4 countries this last trip. Housekeeping is nonexistent. First time in my life that the dirty pillow cases were left on the floor, towels removed but no replaced, none of the soaps etc were replaced. They actually sat the empty ones from the shower on the bathroom vanity. The location is ok, but you are better off staying on the other side of the train station unless you are there for the red light district.