Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Spartanburg, SC

Very Close to red light.

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: The breakfast was reasonable.
Cons: I paid city tax.
Location: Close to Central Station. 15 minutes by walk.
I arrived at Amsterdam central station by Thalys at 9:00pm. I took a taxi. Taxi driver was not familiar to the way. He made detour. I got off the taxi and walked 5 minutes to the hotel.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Location fantastic

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Hotel basic room's are a good size nice and clean hotel breakfast was nice location fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belfast

Great location

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Very friendly hotel in a great spot I've stayed in the hotel before an will stay again I was speaking to the owner big Hank ! A gentleman would recommend it highly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the main things, red light cofeer shops e

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Perfect place to stay.nice clean rooms, what I expected.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Freddy

convenient location but very basic

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Very basic hotel/hostel in the red light district. Don't book this place expecting anything fancy. It was a place to sleep and the location is very convenient to everything in the city. It is very loud at night until about 4am.
3 out of 5
by Soham

Most basic, okay for 1 night stay

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
1 night stay. Clean room with washbasin inside. Room was quiet as it was on the back end of the building. One pillow cover was completely worn out. Metro station 5 mins walk. Breakfast very very basic, and almosy exhausted in 30 minutes time. Strangely, the hotel rounds up bills in a unique was in multiples of 2.5 euro. i.e. if your bill is 10.6 euro, you have to pay 12.5 euro. They didn't event give me correct receipt with the full amount charged.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Surprising Hotel in the Worst Part of Town

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The quality of the room. The ease of access to the rest of the city. The price.
Cons: Making sure the employees aren't smoking inside the lobby.
Location: The actual street it is on is terrible and should be avoided. A few blocks away there are many tour companies to tour the city or countryside.
So we had no idea what we were getting in to. We wanted a hotel that was in walking distance to the train station and bus tour that we were taking and we wanted it to be affordable. This hotel matched both but we had no idea what the location was like. Well, yikes! We knew Amsterdam was pretty crazy, but we didn't realize that we picked a hotel on the WORST street in town. There were literally prostitutes standing or sitting provocatively in almost every store window on this street and every single shop along the road is selling sex in one form or another. For this reason alone, we would not have chosen to stay here, especially with our 2 young children. However, I must be fair to the hotel itself. After walking down the street, we were rather concerned about the quality of a hotel on a street like that. The lobby wasn't terribly reassuring as it seemed a little dirty and smelled of smoke. The main negative I will give about the hotel itself is that despite a no smoking sign on the door, I observed the front desk employees smoking in the lobby. We got to our room and we were shocked. The quality of the room itself was outstanding! Very clean and much larger than we expected. It was a wonderful relief. I guess the cooking in the morning cleared out the smell of smoke so the lobby was pleasant for the continental breakfast and we discovered other families had also booked the hotel. By the afternoon, the lobby reeked again. Also of note, the stairs are extremely steep.
3 out of 5
by FOO from Malaysia

Stay at Hotel 83

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
General the stay is fine, room kinda quiet and not noisy as other people comments. Only the matter not suitable with families with a lot of luggages as the staircase its difficult to climb up. Good location.